We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought it was fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 28, 2005

When you go to Yosemite, and you don't want to camp, you have a few choices. If you stay inside the park, you can stay at the historic Ahwahnee Hotel for big bucks (with air conditioning) or at the Yosemite Lodge (without AC), or you can stay outside the park at a nice hotel/motel, but with a 30 minute drive on windey mountian roads to get to the Village. This year, we chose the Lodge. We found no musty smells or bugs or other critters, but during the blistering heat wave of July '05, it was HOT in the room! The room was large and had an adequate bathroom, beds were fine, and we had a small balcony. The staff at the front desk could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Although it cooled off at night, when the daytime temps were around 100, there was a lot of cooling off needed to make the room comfortable for sleeping. This was really our only complaint. If we had gone at a cooler time of year, or if the temps had been more normal, we would have been satisfied. The Lodge is actually a collection of individual buildings with several rooms in each. Some are tucked away in the woods and some are near the parking lot. Some have views of Yosemite Falls. We did find that hot water was scarce on Sat. and Sunday mornings. We didn't mind the Food Court. It had a large variety of offerings and plenty of room. And it was cool inside! If you go to a National Park, just remember that you can't expect to stay at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cmd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,463 - 3,469 of 3,928 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2005

Booked for two nights and only stayed for one on 7/21/05. Booking here was a huge mistake and pretty much ruined what should have been a fun time for our family. The temperature was over 100 and the room was hotter inside than outdoors and there was no air conditioning. The room looked old and worn and there were several cobwebs inside our room. Our room looked nothing like the rooms pictured on the site and so there must be some remodeled and we got stuck with a bad room. There were no screens on the doors, so to air out the heat we had to endure pests coming in. The room felt like it was well over 120 degrees inside and we were bitten all over our bodies within minutes of arriving. We have a seven-year-old son and he wanted to go home immediately because we were so uncomfortable and attacked by so many bugs. The room was in desperate need of repair. The shower needed re-grouting and had mold and mildew stains. The carpet was stained and coming up at the seams. The sink faucet looked like it had not been cleaned ever and had extreme moldy buildup. We weren’t even able to use the pool to cool off because it was closed for the day. We were very disappointed and feel ripped off. It is not fair that some rooms are remodeled and others are not. You don’t have a choice in the room they put you in and it’s a crapshoot at what you get. Unfortunately, we were not treated nice and were put in a bug infested, run down, dirty room for close to two hundred a night.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank coleymoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2005

Pro's:
1. You are at the heart of the park.
2. Very decent and tasteful rooms with good decor.
3. Balconies of some of the rooms are overlooked by the Yosemite Falls - fantastic! We were lucky.

Con's:
1. A little bit towards the expensive side.
2. Finding a parking is very difficult. Visitors, park tourists and guests share the same parking spaces which is a little unfair.
3. Some of the rooms are far away from the parking lot. If you have a lot of luggage, it is extremely painful to carry your luggage to the rooms. We were unlucky.
4. Very crowded. Feels more like a busy city than a park.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Vivekbrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stayed at Yosemite Lodge, the Azalea Building in a room on the 2nd floor. We just returned on the 15th so we were there during the heat wave. Had a great time, no complaints. Did short spectacular hikes, floated down the river, took the 2 hour valley tour and the Starry night program. I am willing to share more details if posted on the forum. My forum name is nature woman. Thank-you to all the people on the forum who shared info before our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank naturewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Temecula, California
114
Reviewed July 9, 2005

13 of my family members just stayed at the Yosemite Lodge. Not one of us had a complaint about anything. The accomodations were fine. The rooms were clean, housekeeping was very efficient, the staff were all friendly, the two restaurants had nice food, the grounds were nicely kept as to give you the feel of being in the surrounding forest, and the price was worth being able to stay in comfort instead of camping like we had in the past. No worries about bears.
Do bring mosquito spray for your skin and in your room. They are all over the park now.

Stayed: July 2005
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2005

We were booked here for two nights but checked out after the first night. Our room was in the Cottonwood building (Yosemite Lodge is a motel with multiple buildings) and it was infested with mosquitoes and other bugs. Although we spent hours killing off as many mosquitoes etc. as we could find (and we are talking at least 100 bugs) we could hardly sleep because we were being bitten the whole night. Granted there had been flooding in Yosemite and there were lots of mosquitoes outside but the rooms shouldn't be infested. Even sleeping under the covers didn't help because I was being bitten by other bugs that I couldn't see. On top of this our room was very musty-smelling, not very clean and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The desk clerks when we checked in were very rude and indifferent. Clearly the management doesn't spend any money in keeping this place up and just takes advantage of the nice location to charge as much as they can for poor quality rooms. We checked out as soon as we could the next morning. The desk clerk didn't seem very concerned that we were unhappy. Staying here totally ruined our trip and I would never stay here again. The rooms here aren't that cheap (around $179 per night). Look around as I'm sure you can find much cleaner and nicer lodging somewhere else in or near the park.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Stephani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Salt Lake City, UT
120
Reviewed June 12, 2005

Like all but one of the hotels in Yosemite valley, the Yosemite Lodge is almost derelict and way overdue for modernisation. The rooms have no air conditioning and are full of mosquitoes - we spent most of the night trying to get rid of them so we didn't get bitten to death. You need to get up early - the Lodge has a 1950's hot water system and if you get up much past 7am, there's no hot water. The room we had had a musty smell to it with peeling wallpaper and rotting wood in the door and around the window frames. The flyscreen looked like it had last seen attention sometime in the 80's.

The food is very average and extremely overpriced. For example a breakfast for two cost us nearly $20. The employees in the cafeteria are not the most polite people you'll come across, and only once out of the four times we ate in there did they get our order right.
They do have a more formal restaurant but you have to queue. The guides tell you that you can make reservations, but you can't.

On the plus side, like other reviewers have said, the location is amazing, right next to the main Yosemite Falls. The Lodge has bicycle rental for $7.50 and hour, or $24 a day which is well worth doing and there's a free shuttle stop outside the reception. They have an Olympic sized swimming pool too which is good for a refreshing dip.

Our room was $128 a night, but in reality the Lodge isn't worth much over $50 a night. Honestly next time we're going to rent an RV and park up somewhere - it will be cheaper and we'll be able to have our own food.

One last note : gas / petrol. There are no gas stations inside the park valley. There's one at Crane Flats, inside the west gate, where gas in the summer of 2005 was $3.90 a gallon. Just outside the park on SR140 is another gas station at $4.50 a gallon. Fill up before you get to the park!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,682 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
555 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $270 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing