We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location - Average accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic Location - Average accommodation”
Reviewed March 16, 2005

The location is what you pay for with this hotel not the accommodation. It was clean and basic ... hot water was a bit of a problem... the temperature was difficult to control and the hot water ran out quickly. The rooms were average, rather small and old.

We ate at the Food court and the food was ordinary.... but unless we wanted to pay restaurant prices there was really no where else.

It appears that the whole Loge is in the process of redevelopment which will be great as long as the price remains affordable.

Enjoy Yosemite.. the reason for going there.. and make the best of the acommodation.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    1,495
    763
    307
    173
See reviews for
1,410
1,588
97
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2005

Having read reviews here before visiting Yosemite Lodge I expected a less than wonderful room ... but I was pleasantly surprised! Arriving very late at night, we drove into Yosemite around midnight. The people at the front desk were gracious and took time to give us information about the facility and, of course, Yosemite. We checked into the room and feel asleep immediately after the long drive. The room was a bit larger than I expected and although certainly not 4-star accomodations, comfortable and very clean. You can't imagine our awe the next morning when we opened the curtains that ran the length of the room to see Yosemite Falls immediately in front of our room!!! It was so dark the night before, we had no idea. Two steps outside the door and we were looking at El Capitan, Glacier Point, Half Dome and some of the most breathtaking sights I've ever seen. I cannot say enough about the location. It was sooo much more than I expected. And the staff was wonderful. We did not encounter a single person at the Lodge that was less than 100% courteous, helpful and pleasant. I'll always remember sipping hot chocolate and watching the deer strolling by our window. It was an altogether fantastic experience and I will return to Yosemite Lodge again!!!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
35 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2005

The location of the Lodge does not get any better. Immediately adjacent to Yosemite Falls in the heart of one of the most beautiful places in the world. The facilities have everything you need including a store, cafeteria, restaurant and bar. This is important in Yosemite as there is not much else around for miles exept for nature (which is why we go, right!).

The rooms themselves are mediocre, thin walls, kind of run down and slow housekeeping...but we don't go to Yosemite to spend much time in the room. They are in for some major renovations over the next couple years so this will change. Be prepared for lots of traffic and buses around the lodge.

All in all. a pleasant stay, good value for the dollar, and would stay there again, as I have in the past.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank slowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 28, 2005

The lodge is pretty nice - some buildings and rooms are better than others. We had a great room, with a great view. It is well worth the price. The problem with our stay this year was that housekeeping was terribly inept, every day, in spite of our numerous complaints. We've stayed at the Lodge before, and the housekeeping was decent, but this experience was.. just vulgar. The first day they made the beds, but did not vaccuum the floor or clean the bathroom or sink. It was the worst maid service I've ever had at a hotel. We complained, and they promised that the next day, the manager would oversee the room cleaning. They did an acceptable job that time. But the very next night, they didn't bother to vaccuum again. We called, and complained, so they came and vaccuumed late in the evening. Each remaining day we were there, except for Christmas day, they failed to vaccuum the room.. and we complained. You would think one complaint - max 2 - would solve the problem, but they failed to correct themselves. It was very inconvenient to have them visit twice each day just so we could have a moderately clean room. We had 3 young kids in the room, so you might imagine how it needed to be vaccuumed. Finally, one of the children vomited in the bed and we tried to clean it up the best we could, but the sheets were stained and dirty. Guess what? We couldn't even believe it when we came back into the room after a long day of hiking and sledding, and discovered they hadn't even changed the sheets. I wonder if the sheets were ever changed at all - or if they just made the beds. I was truly amazed. I've stayed at Motel 6 and had far better maid service than this. This was not maid service, but gross laziness.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2005

We are frequent Yosemite visitors--about two or three times a year, and have tried multiple variations on accommodations, but usually end up at the Lodge due to cost. (We did splurge on an Ahwahnee cottage last year, and it was fabulous but ridiculously expensive.) We just returned from a quick one-nighter at the Lodge.

We were pleased to see that at least our room had undergone a remodel, having gotten used to shlumpy beds, tissue-thin walls, and deteriorating bathrooms. The furniture was updated, the bed was somewhat firm, and the bath had a new bath-surround and linoleum. I did note with concern the presence of a TV cabinet (the TVs are a new addition and were not yet working).

Of course, the park itself never disappoints. Since we'd arrived during snow season, the white stuff was all around.

We had a great dinner in the Awhahnee bar--simple bar food but excellently prepared, and in a beautiful, cozy setting with a piano player.

The downside occurred at about midnight, when we awoke to the sounds of the snowplow in the parking area moving accumulated snow around. It wasn't the plow so much as its backup beeper, which repeated loudly every few seconds as the plow moved around. It was really maddening.

After about an hour of this, I called the front desk. No one else had called to complain, amazingly, and the receptionist said there was nothing she could do--the roads need to be plowed.
I explained that it hadn't snowed for hours, and that the plow appeared to be simply pushing around existing snow in the parking lot, and asked if it was really necessary that this be done in the middle of the night?

She transferred me to a manager who said pretty much the same thing.
I said I understood about the need to plow snowy roads--but why not tackle the task of cleaning up the parking lot a little earlier in the evening? He didn't reply at all. The snow pushing and backup beeping continued until 3 a.m.!

Our building was not even adjacent to the lot---there were two other buildings between us, which gives you some idea of the poor soundproofing. On other visits, we've spent entire evenings forced to listen to the conversations of others---usually people simply speaking in normal tones.

So, to echo the comments of a few others: customer service isn't what it could be, and lodge rooms could still use some work when it comes to soundproofing. Not sure why the TVs have been installed. Finally, if you visit in winter and it's snowing, beware the backup beeper!

Helpful?
20 Thank debdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2005

Like others I was a little concerned before arriving here - I chose this place because I wanted to stay in the park but was worried because of reviews on this site that it would be not very nice.

So we got a very pleasant surprise indeed - the rooms here are basic but clean and big, and the location and views are out of this world. And instead of driving for an hour, you step outside your door and see amazing views, and the Yosemite falls.

The food court was pretty basic, but the Mountain View restaurant did superb food and wine.

This is a great location and the rooms are fine - if you can't afford the Awahnee this is definitely the place to stay

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LucyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2004

Having read the reviews I was a little concerned about my booking. However we were pleasantly surprised. The staff and organisation were excellent and the room was of entirely adequate size, clean and comfortable. Whilst it was not cheap the location is beautiful and justifies the price. To drive into the park each day from cheaper accommodation outside would have been a false economy. The restaurant was good and did not suffer in comparison with the Ahwahnee's where we ate one night. We will return to Yosemite and would certainly stay at the lodge again.

Helpful?
10 Thank Mike Swindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,605 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
458 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Otel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing