We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel(Yosemite National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Big Trees Lodge(Yosemite National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tioga Pass Resort(Lee Vining)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,001)
Filter reviews
4,001 results
Traveler rating
1,124
1,573
806
313
185
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,124
1,573
806
313
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtthe mountain room restauranthemlock buildingyosemite valleyceiling fansmall refrigeratorfood hallfamily roomgift shopshuttle busbike rentalscoffee makerglacier pointcan't beat the locationtwo double bedsdining optionsamazing location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,115 - 2,120 of 4,001 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I know you go to Yosemite for the stunning location but really if the Grand Canyon can provide decent accommodation why can't Yosemite. It was cold during our stay & the balcony door was duct taped closed although there was still a gale blowing through it. The heating system could hardly keep the room tepid let alone warm. We had booked a family room (king + 2 singles) a year in advance but the day after our arrival they commenced work on upgrading these so we ended up in a family bunk room. We were not told this until I called reception & queried the bunk beds in our allocated room. There was no apology for the downgrade nor any compensation just brusque staff. There is no way to have a warm drink in your room unless you go to the cafeteria (they call it something grander but it isn't) & bring it back. Food choices in any of the restaurants were limited although the cafeteria offers the best value of all of them but isn't exactly atmospheric. Location is jolly good & there was plenty of parking but it was off season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EggyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

very nice!xchv:IOhvcdhOhvO:hvh:klvhSIOdsdiovhs;vhx:Ochv:IOcxvh:xcklvhohSdiovhsiovhhvXHCvoiShdvhosivosivhusodivisdiovhsdiovhsdvhsoidvhsiodvhsodvhsoidhvsdovhisodvishdovishdvoshdviohsdhvosdhvsdovihsdviohsiovhsoihvosihv

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My 8 almost 8 year old grandson and I has the best time at Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. The location is perfect, it's right in the center of everything. Tours meet there. We walked to the falls several time as there was some really cool rock climbing to explore. We went rafting on the Merced River. WE also went horse back riding to Mirror lake. AND took a valley tour in the full moon. We did a night prowl which is hiking in the dark, no lights, fun! I loved the beauty of Yosemite, it is my favorite National Park.

Room Tip: Make sure to book your room one year in advance very early in the day.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horsecrazygir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The advantage of staying at Yosemite Lodge at the Falls is its a mere 5- minute drive to the parking lot for the trail head to the Half Dome Hike. Its best to begin this epic hike at dawn, so sleeping at the Lodge made this was a very convenient location for our 6:00am start. The next day we rode the free Yosemite shuttle bus to the start of the hike to Upper Yosemite Falls and see the other sights in the valley. The shuttle bus stops in front of the lobby.

Our family was very grateful to get 3 nights lodging on short notice. We booked the Family room less than 2 weeks before our arrival in Yosemite. It IS possible to get a room on short notice during busy season if you are willing to play "musical reservations." On the first attempt, I called the reservations number about 7:00am and put a deposit on the ONE available night. The next day I called again, and booked another night. The third morning, I scored again, for the third night.

Our room was on the 2nd floor in the Hemlock Building which is 3-minute brisk walk from the reception building. The telephones in our building did not work. This was a slight inconvenience when we wanted information and needed to walk to the lobby. The receptionist said they were aware of the problem because squirrels or a raccoon had chewed the wires to the Hemlock building.
The Hemlock building has a very weak wi-fi signal so we could not get wi-fi in our room. The management is aware of this, as the receptionist suggested our sons sit in the hallway at the end of our building.

The rooms have a very generous closet space which we appreciated for storing our hiking backpacks and other equipment. The bar fridge was essential to refrigerate all our hiking essentials.

The rooms do not have air-conditioning, there is a ceiling fan over the queen bed plus a table-size fan.
The Family room means the second bed is a double size, with a single bunk above. Our young adult sons, appreciated NOT sharing a mattress, which means not getting an elbow in the nose, as happened in the past.

The ceiling fan was barely adequate for the mild evening temperatures of this first week of June. We made the mistake of leaving leaving our (2nd floor) balcony door open during the first night to allow more air circulation. At 4:00am our 22 year old son awoke to hear a raccoon - inside our room - ripping open the wrappers on our protein bars which we had prepared for our Half Dome hike in the morning. He chased the raccoon out the balcony which was strewn with about 10 half-chewed Vega bars. This was our dumb mistake because there was a warning notice on the desk that raccoons had entered guest rooms. We didn't think we would be targeted.

After the Half-Dome hike we greatly appreciated the luxury of hot showers and great beds with comfortable mattresses. The next 2 nights we kept the balcony door firmly locked and set the ceiling fan to a higher speed. We highly recommend staying here, right in the Yosemite valley, and taking quiet evening walks after the day crowds are gone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the meadow rather than the parking lot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have stayed in National Parks before and was pleasantly surprised that the room was so large with a nice size TV. We stayed in Azalea. The lodge consists of two story buildings that contain around 8 rooms on each side. The buildings are all given a different name and are sprinkled behind and to the side of the main lobby with lots of trees between each building. All the buildings are very close to the restaurants, gift shop, bar, nature center and parking lot. There's a shuttle stop right across from the hotel. It's an easy walk to Yosemite Falls which are awesome. Nice size bath and vanity area. Ample storage for clothes. Balcony outside of our room. One word of caution: no air conditioning - but usually not needed as the nights get comfortably cool. They do provide not only a ceiling fan but also a rollaway tower-like fan. The first day we checked in the temp was around 95 so the room was very stuffy. Every day after that was fine. Very quiet at night. I would recommend this as a good value for the location. There are also tours you can sign up for in the lobby of the hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor. You won't hear anyone above you. And as far back from the parking area as possible. The road continues around behind the lodge rooms but it's not an issue as it quiets down very much at night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiker0957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews