We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMO best choice in the park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“IMO best choice in the park”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

You go to Yosemite National Park for the experience and scenery not for the accommodations or food. That said, Yosemite Lodge is the best location in Yosemite, lots of services, shuttle stop, tours, etc. not to mention the lovely view of Yosemite Falls. The rooms are basic but clean, fairly quiet, although people walking and talking in the hall echos quite loudly, doors slamming reverberates throughout. My only issue was the room temperature - it was so hot at night because we couldn't control the thermostat and it was set at 76! Maintenance came to check it, but didn't know how to set it either (it was programable) and suggested we just open the window. Since it is March, that worked. We ate 2 dinners at their restaurant - food was good, very good service, reasonably priced. We ate 1 breakfast in the food court - not good. Food was barely warm and cold by the time you get through the check-line which was very slow. The next morning we took the shuttle to the deli for breakfast, much better. We like a queen or king bed, but most are 2 doubles, imagine that is better for families.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    1,492
    761
    306
    173
See reviews for
1,408
1,584
97
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Connell, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Location is everything. This is inside the park and a short walk to the free shuttle service. We took advantage of a mid-winter sale on rooms at the Lodge and stayed 2 night in early March. The room was good, recently renovated, clean and well prepared. We had two double beds (doubles not queens) which were okay. Lighting was adequate. WiFi worked fine with no hassel. Room came with a mini-fridge and TV, neither one of which did we use.
All the staff we dealt with were polite and friendly, and helpful.
Bath had been remodeled since our last visit and was clean, and well equipped.
A small table in the corner was good, and as noted, we had everything we could have wanted in the room, including adequate reading lights.
The room opens onto a mini-patio which we did not use because of cold weather. It appears the employee parking is about ten feet off the patio, but we were not bothered by any noise from that.
The walls in the old lodge buildings are thin and you can hear the TV and the voices of the folks next door. Fortunately, they were pretty quiet.
The heating/AC unit worked, but we so noisy we reported it when we left. Sounded like the bearings were going.
Given that no one wants to spend the day inside a motel room in Yosemite National Park, the room was perfectly adequate. But it is really just a moderately equipped motel room, not really a lodge in the usual use of the word.
Reception service was friendly and efficient, except the single person working the desk could have used some help. The impression was that the management is saving money in the off season by cutting staff.
About half the shops/services were closed for the winter, but there were three options for meals, all within easy walking distance. If you wanted supplies, you had to get on the shuttle and ride into the Village for shopping.
The major advantage of the rooms at the lodge is that they are one of the best locations in the world, and of you can find a sale or discount, reasonably priced. Our room rate was $125 per night and that included breakfasts for both of us for two days, a savings of about $60. So it was a good deal.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are located within easy walking of everything you need. We had a downstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We made our booking 4 months ahead of our trip, without many choice for comfort with a reasonable price tag inside the park we opted for the Yosemite Lodge.
We arrived after 7pm from a long day on the road and were welcomed with a smile which was nice. However arriving that late, it seemed their system had not saved a room with king bed for us as expressly booked, confirmed and paid for 4 months ago. We were given the choice of a twin queen room not so great when we had indicated it was our honeymoon in the booking! After referring to the manager she indicated we could get a king bed in an accessibility room or go to the Ahwahnee which had great rates at that time, we were told. After such a long drive, the perspective of hitting the road again did not attract us. We decided to settle for the accessibility room.
Our building Cottonwood had views of the Falls which was beautiful. The room was also recently renovated and was quite nice however it was definitely not a king bed contrary to what we were told at the front desk! Exhausted after a long trip and after having spent 15 minutes at the lobby arguing over it, we decided to let it slide for the night and our stay.
The food was acceptable though the restaurants shut at 8pm except the bar which does not offer hot food!
Overall it was worth staying inside the park but hopefully the conclusion of the renovation will bring better service and lodging.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Blacknalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Wanted to take advantage of the mild February weather to explore YNP and stay in the park but the Lodge was initially sold out. Checked the website multiple times and finally was able to reserve a room for two nights. VERY recently renovated (refrigerator still had paperwork inside, hair dryer still in plastic) room - nice surprise. Our building, Alder, was conveniently right across from the lobby, restaurants and gift shop as well as the shuttle stop. Less than 10 minute walk to the falls. Parking was not a problem this time of year but all of the tour buses choked up the parking lot at times. Wifi worked well. It was expensive but worth it to wake up in the park and beat the crowds to the sights. Really enjoyable visit. A beautiful bobcat crossed right in front of us near our building. Only real disappointment was that many of the food options in the park were closed for the season.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lebarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have very mixed feelings, so I will list pros and cons. There are good pros, so stay with me to the end.

Cons:
The buildings are quite old and very dated. When we entered ours, the stairway to the upper level was quite dirty. We did not have a good first impression.
When we first walked in our room, we noticed that there were a few grubby areas, such as the heater shroud and bathroom door around the knob. The door to the patio had some sort of duct tape on it also. Our first thought was to ask for a different room, but we could already clearly hear voices from the adjoining room (no insulation). We were on the end, so thought we would stay there, as our booking was only for 2 nights. The problem with the end, however, was that our heater had trouble keeping up at night, so it was chilly. These were all things that should not be part of a $200 a night experience, no matter how good the location is.

Pros
The best part of this stay was the customer service. The folks at the front desk were amazing. We received a warm welcome and good service from them. this is important to us. In defense of the lodge, they do appear to be renovating parts of some buildings. This is certainly encouraging, as the location of this lodge is terrific. The Yarts bus, park shuttles and park tour buses all stop here. The Yosemite falls is a very short walking distance on a beautiful trail nearby. Our room was overall respectfully clean, the bed was okay and the tv quite new. If we were coming by public transit, we would probably stay again, but would ask to see our room first. My suggestion to management would be to not forget the older areas while renovating. Paying attention to details, especially common areas like halls and stairs will give a better first impression.

Room Tip: Avoid high season and ask for a renovated room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llamafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were pleased with our accommodations at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. Our room was in Elder berry and had been recently refurbished. The bed was a bit soft but and double size but we had 2 in the room. It was in very easy walking distance to the Lodge and food court. Our stay in late Feb. was well timed, cheaper room rates and we had sunny days and no snow. It gave us a chance to walk around the park as much as we wanted and enjoy the wondrous scenery. What a fit this Park is to visitors!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you want to stay in the valley in comfort, choices are limited. The rooms are expensive, with taxes we paid $250/night. The first night we were in a small room with one bed and the 2nd in a much larger room with two beds - same price. Actually, we had to pay more for the smaller room because we needed to rent a roll away bed. And, there was no real closet in the smaller room, just cubby holes and a small cubby you had to kneel down to access to hang clothes - kinda strange and no place to hang coats? Bring ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise. Noise echoed in from the hallway. Generally, the rooms were comfortable and pleasant. We stayed in the Maple buillding which was convenient. They tried to switch us to the Cottonwood for 2nd night but it was depressing and close to the road - a lot of traffic noise.

The Food Court was TERRIBLE. Few healthy choices, expensive, messy, poor layout, grouchy checkers. Bring a cooler with snacks, beverages, fruit, etc... There's a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,603 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
455 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, TravelUp, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing