We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience in Yosemite valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I'm not sure about prices at other hotels in Yosemite, but location is everything and all charge way above what you would pay outside. But I'm ok with that, and with lying in bed looking at that fantastic view. Service at check-in was efficient, despite the mid-evening rush. The lodge buildings appear well-used and could be better. Room was fine. Not modern nor clinically clean. But we had no issues.We arrived at night and had no idea of the wonders around us. But in the morning we were greeted by that view when we looked out. The heating was adequate, showers were terrific, towels and linen did their job. Our room had a private balcony and that would be great in the summer. That was in the Hemlock building, upstairs. We had a meal in the bar - the only place to get food after 9 pm. Really good, service friendly. We also had lunch in the food court. Good. I should mention all guests get free hot drink coupons for the cafeteria. I won't talk too much about about the park - just go!!

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs Hemlock facing the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eudele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 3,942 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Yosemite is offering great rates. Badger is not open and the valley is not full of people. We had a very slow and relaxing time in the valley. There were times on the trails you thought you had the whole valley to ourselfs. Lines were short for food and shopping.

Lodge rooms are being remodeled. The one we stayed in now has a flat screen TV, small refrigerator, and limited WiFi in the room. Room was clean with new bathroom fixtures, new carpets and a comfortable bed.

Walls are still very thin and noise from your neighbors carry right through to your room, so get out and enjoy the outdoors.

Room Tip: Great views from upstairs end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldwoodcarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I'll qualify up front that I am an outdoors person but not an avid hiker or nature enthusiast. A day trip would've been excellent and enough for us. Accommodation was nice but a fireplace in the cabin would have been a nice touch. Food options in the area very very limited! This probably detracted from the experience to be honest. Greasy or pre packaged food at the foodcourt. More fresh & natural options would better suit the environment! Restaurant for dinner was better and food ok but not a stand out. Hike up to Columbus Rock tough but well worth it, incredible outlook. This was the highlight. We had hoped to ski here as were offered the badger ski pass on booking the tour. However on arrival discovered California was in a drought. Still haven't received a refund for this from viator. All in all I think we were disappointed by our expectations to ski, limited food options & losing a day in San Fran. I would definitely recommend a trip to yosemite for a day (big day) but not overnight in the winter if you're not a big hiker or climber! But if you like relaxing, it's very peaceful

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0ve2travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the lodge and had a very nice stay. The room and bathroom are well laid out and spacious. Restaurant is nice but is not open for breakfast however the Food Court is. Both are close walking distance from the main lobby. The staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to be of assistance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Staying here saved us time from driving in and out of Yosemite. We stayed in the family room with the bunk bed. The rooms are not cheap considering its clean but looks old on the inside. But being able to stay in the park means that you can wake up early and walk straight to the Yosemite Falls and have it all to yourselves (before the crowd comes along). It was a wonderful experience just to sit on the rocks and see, hear and feel the calmness of the area - what an experience! The place is pretty full in summer, so parking will be difficult at the lodge, but its ok for a night or 2. There is a nice cafeteria in the hotel as well, so that solves the food problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

As it would cost us $580 per night at Ahwahnee, we decided to book a night at Yosemite Lodge instead ($250 booked online) . Front desk staff is efficient but not friendly, welcoming. or cheerful. We were quite disappointed with the Birch room as it was dark with dim lightings. The room is big though and the heater did work. Coupons were given for free tea, coffee and hot water at the food Court.
The Food Court seems to serve the same type of food for both lunch and dinner, for example, the two kinds of soup are the same both lunch and dinner.

We ate the buffet breakfast at Ahwahnee ( $25 each) as we wanted to see the grand dining hall. Service at Ahwahnee is good and friendly.
Enjoyed taking the free shuttle around the village to have a good orientation of this place. Some drivers are very informative and told us jokes along the way. They certainly add value to their jobs. We did the Mist trail to the Vernal Footbridge. It is quite an uphill walk. Everyone should be able to do the trail to the lower Yosemite fall near to Yosemite Lodge.

Room Tip: if you do not like dark room, then do not stay in Birch building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim025Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in December during Christmas along with my wife. Note that weather during this period is extremely cold. My experience turned out to be bad because heaters inside the room were not working and some of the windows were broken leading the cold waves inside the room.

However the staff was quick to repair the damage next morning. The advantage of this is that it is quite near to the falls.

Room Tip: Make sure the heating is good in winters in the room choosen. Also, prefer the ground floor since yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhur_ahuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,688 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
561 reviews
10 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $272 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Otel, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing