We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Government shutdown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived Monday afternoon, the government shut down at midnight. We were allowed to stay through Thursday afternoon if we had wished, but the park service had all of the "attractions" barricaded, so if we did stay, we would basically be confined to the valley floor unless we wanted to crash the barriers like they did in Washington at the Veteran's Memorial and since we weren't in a protesting mood, we made a Plan B and headed for San Francisco.

When we arrived at the lodge at 4 PM and asked for an early check-in, we were told the room was not ready. I knew better than this and since I knew what building we were going to be in, I did a little recon and discovered that house-keeping had already finished in that building. It's outrageous that check-in is that late in the afternoon anyway but why not release the rooms when they are ready?

The room was tiny and all of the electrical outlets were in disrepair. Plugs were falling out the outlets on their own accord the outlets were so worn. Out room was 3903 and it was the 2nd closest room out of the entire lodge to the central area with the foos and front desk, literally 10 yards but this was the luck of the draw.

Room Tip: You do not get to choose a room other than the number of beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfkiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,286 - 2,292 of 3,965 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent four nights here in two different rooms. The rooms are comfortable and rustic. The second stay, the room was noticeably a bit tired, so I wonder if they have been refurbishing. Both had nice views from the small balcony, but to be honest we spent very little time in the room. The location is ideal for exploring the park and the valley. Loads of wildlife to see and brilliant walks. The pool was a welcome extra in the late afternoon.

The food hall is like a school canteen and pretty expensive. The restaurant charges more for pretty much the same food. Try the pizza's at Curry Village and, for a treat, the restaurant at the Ahwanee Hotel is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

For our first time in the park and staying only a few days, we wanted to be close to the points of
interest so we opted for a hotel inside the park. You definitely pay a premium to be close to the
amenities offered but it made sense for us as camping was not an option.

Our room was spacious and well located, very close to the dining, shops, and hotel office. The
rooms are not air conditioned. Although we were there at the end of August, our room was quite
hot and the ceiling fan and table fan did not cool off the room. The window screen had been
duct-taped to the frame and had come loose, so we were reluctant to leave the window open.
Also, the in-room safe was not usable as the key had been lost and not replaced. The main office
has a limited number of lock-boxes available, but none when we were there.

The food court cafeteria offered a variety of dishes, somewhat over-priced, but we paid for the
convenience of not having to go far to get breakfast. We found that the food stations needed
more staff to keep things moving more quickly. Also, the tables, napkin holders and condiments
on the tables were in serious need of a thorough cleaning, things were somewhat grubby and
sticky.

We took the 8-hour Grand Tour of the valley and various highlights in the park and our tour included lunch at the Wawona Hotel. Everything was extremely well organized and worth the
cost.

Location was excellent, hotel personnel were friendly, helpful and pleasant, our room was clean.
Parking was good, wi fi service was fairly good. Would recommend, but be aware you are
paying for convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcothibault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Unfortunately we could only stay one night here. But otherwise we could have comfortably stayed a week,
Rustic rooms but that is expected within a national park. It's clean. It's safe.
No air conditioning but not a problem at all as there were screens on windows and fans.
The pool looked fun. But the swimming hours were restrictive.
The lodge restaurant was divine. The food 5 star and the staff were very patient with our children, supplying crayons and paper.
The gift shop had everything we needed.
And within close drive to a gp when my son needed eye drops.
I would love to return to this place again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our room was fairly basic but what do you expect? It was clean and tidy and to be honest we spent hardly any time in there anyway, it was only for sleeping in. We had deer walking past our room in the mornings and lots of squirrels of course but the main attraction is that you are surrounded by the most magnificent scenary, perfect. One thing that did annoy was the slow service at the desk when checking out, one or two more staff please!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich4efc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The national park hoteliers have the advantage of convenience. If you are staying at one run by XTerra, that's fine; unfortunately, Yosemite has a different provider. Our room was what you might get in a fleabag on the highway. The dispensers didn't work, the room had no heat, and what was a nice patio area had cigarette butts all over it. I guess we didn't get the newly renovated room building that other reviewers did! Having stayed in park lodging at all three in Yellowstone, Grand Teton, and Glacier, we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated buildings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great place to stay exploring Yosemite Valley. Key word here is Valley. The falls are in Yosemite Valley about an hour from parks entrance. For example if you stay at Tenaya Lodge you are at least an hour fifteen from the valley. Stay at Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. You are across the street from Yosemite Falls the large ones. Rustic but with a lodge room you have a patio or balcony. They also have a great dining room for dinner $$$$. They also have a fireside lounge with full bar and bar food. A bit rustic but location location

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rackman0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,719 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,229 reviews
10 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,128 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $356 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing