We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location is perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location is perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Staying inside the park is a must. It takes nearly an hour to to commute in from the surrounding areas. The Yosemite Lodge is a standard National Park hotel, functional not fancy.
Our lodge was across from the registration building. We had a room on the second floor. Heat rising made it a little warmer, there is no air conditioning. With the balcony window open, the room was comfortable sleeping. Our balcony was heavily treed adding privacy. From the front door, we could enjoy a view of the falls.
Enjoying valley is easy from this great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basadventuretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    1,389
    715
    289
    164
See reviews for
1,297
1,478
92
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night, after a week of hiking the incredibly gorgeous High Sierra. We knew in advance it would be crowded and overpriced, but also realized how badly we would want/need a shower and bed after a 16-mile hike that day. Along with other reviewers, I agree the term "remodeled room" is a glorification for a new headboard and bath fixtures. The rooms do not have air conditioning, but oscillating fans kept us relatively comfortable on a hot summer night. The hotel's huge bonus is their heated olympic-sized pool -- what a surprise in this aging complex! Yosemite Lodge at the Falls is a sprawling collection of buildings, serving thousands of people per day during the summer. It suffers from age, overuse and under repair on a National Park budget. You will pay handsomely to stay in a mediocre room. If you are planning to visit Yosemite Valley only, be sure to explore other options unless you feel the need to stay close to the falls. The hotel (and the valley in general) does a decent job of serving the masses every day on a scale similar to that of Disneyland, so if you don't mind feeling like you are part of the herd, it works. Personally, I would like to see this complex disappear, to be replaced by something more environmentally friendly and respectful of its location. Yosemite is one of the natural highlights of our nation -- don't miss it, but please tread lightly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in July 2013. Location is amazing. Rooms are sufficient. Restaurant is not that great. But who cares when your environment is the Yosemite national park. This was the highlight of our trip. A must!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We usually camp so the whole lodge experience was new to us. It was great to have a bathroom in our room. However, the room was old and had ants. The park is so beautiful so it made up for the room which I think was overpriced given the condition. Maybe we will stay in camp curry next time which is a third less and more like the camping experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Others have commented on the “remodelled” rooms. We were initially pleased to be given a remodelled room in the Maple block with a balcony. As the room was on the ground floor, the “balcony” amounted to a bit of concrete next to the main footpath from the car park, so no privacy, and no view. The re-modelling seemed to involve painting the walls in a dull rusty colour, perhaps in an attempt to re-capture the look of years of nicotine staining on old motel walls; and fitting the lights with almost opaque shades of a similar colour. The result was a room which felt like a dungeon.

The final straw was when we found that we had to un-plug one of the meagre light fittings to plug the TV in.

We asked to change rooms and were moved to an un-remodelled room in the Alder block which was on the upper floor. This was light, airy, had a private balcony at the rear overlooking woodland; and a view of Yosemite Falls to die for from the front. Wonderful! So: think twice before you ask for a remodelled room.

Pity no aircon, or tea/coffee-making facilities in the room, so basically a pretty average motel room but in an incredible location.

By the time we reached Yosemite, we were into our 4th week touring California, so had experienced a lot of hotels, motels, restaurants, etc. We had, until then, encountered, almost everywhere, the usual friendly, helpful, “have a nice day” front-desk staff. Yosemite Lodge proved to be the exception, with a couple of the front-desk ladies apparently coming from the “have a miserable day” school of customer relations.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor in Alder block for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lone-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We actually planned only to be in Yosemite for less than a day. We arrived from Reno at about 10:30 a.m. well before check in. We left at 6 a.m. the next day.

Here's what happened in between with an advisory

1. We called and called and called and got a cancellation at the Lodge about 2 weeks before we left Houston.

2. We drove in from the Reno side which means that we saw the mountain views on the way. (Or, at least, my wife saw most of them because I was driving)

3. When we arrived, we knew we would NOT be able to check in; however, we got an approved parking sticker; left our luggage in the trunk; and immediately started tours.

4. Because we had seen the higher views on the way; we focused on the valley tours. Our first one started at about 11:00.

5. Federal Park Rangers are extraordinary folks. Anything they do is high quality.

6. The views looking up from the valley were as mind-boggling as the views at the higher ranges on the drive in.

7. Our first tour was completed about 1. We still could not check in. We did another tour of the Valley; hiked a trail; ate lunch at the food court; toured one of the park museums; and checked in at about 5:30.

8. We did not have a lot of time. We made the absolute most of it. From mirror lake to everything else, inspirational is the only word that comes close to being adequate.

9. Sure, we could have spent more time, but the experience was extraordinary.

10. As for the Lodge, the food that afternoon and night was the most reasonable priced food we ate on our entire vacation; the bears didn't invade our car or our room; we left alive; and the bed - although it was good would have been good if it had been a bed of rocks because we were so tired.

Stay there if you can. If you haven't reserved in time; keep calling for a cancellation. We got luck. Maybe you will too.

Room Tip: The Lodge ain't heaven, but Yosemite damned sure is and that makes the Lodge on the edge of Heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghscott2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls in Yosemite & what a disappointment! The hotel is old & dated, circa 1970s. It is dark & dingy and worse of all, there is NO air conditioning! Unfortunately we were not aware of this until we arrived there during a heat wave!

Overall the staff was friendly & helpful, however I would recommend saving & staying at the Ahwahnee instead. It might be worth paying $500 a night just for AC!

On the plus side, the Lodge was right in the park & our room faced Yosemite Falls. However, we were not guaranteed parking spots even though we were staying at the hotel!

Food was generally overpriced & lackluster, but convenient. It helped that we brought bottled water & snacks with us.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ahwahnee!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing