We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Good Value If You Plan Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite Valley Lodge
9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Good Value If You Plan Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We actually planned only to be in Yosemite for less than a day. We arrived from Reno at about 10:30 a.m. well before check in. We left at 6 a.m. the next day.

Here's what happened in between with an advisory

1. We called and called and called and got a cancellation at the Lodge about 2 weeks before we left Houston.

2. We drove in from the Reno side which means that we saw the mountain views on the way. (Or, at least, my wife saw most of them because I was driving)

3. When we arrived, we knew we would NOT be able to check in; however, we got an approved parking sticker; left our luggage in the trunk; and immediately started tours.

4. Because we had seen the higher views on the way; we focused on the valley tours. Our first one started at about 11:00.

5. Federal Park Rangers are extraordinary folks. Anything they do is high quality.

6. The views looking up from the valley were as mind-boggling as the views at the higher ranges on the drive in.

7. Our first tour was completed about 1. We still could not check in. We did another tour of the Valley; hiked a trail; ate lunch at the food court; toured one of the park museums; and checked in at about 5:30.

8. We did not have a lot of time. We made the absolute most of it. From mirror lake to everything else, inspirational is the only word that comes close to being adequate.

9. Sure, we could have spent more time, but the experience was extraordinary.

10. As for the Lodge, the food that afternoon and night was the most reasonable priced food we ate on our entire vacation; the bears didn't invade our car or our room; we left alive; and the bed - although it was good would have been good if it had been a bed of rocks because we were so tired.

Stay there if you can. If you haven't reserved in time; keep calling for a cancellation. We got luck. Maybe you will too.

Room Tip: The Lodge ain't heaven, but Yosemite damned sure is and that makes the Lodge on the edge of Heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghscott2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    1,285
    660
    277
    160
See reviews for
1,213
1,372
89
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls in Yosemite & what a disappointment! The hotel is old & dated, circa 1970s. It is dark & dingy and worse of all, there is NO air conditioning! Unfortunately we were not aware of this until we arrived there during a heat wave!

Overall the staff was friendly & helpful, however I would recommend saving & staying at the Ahwahnee instead. It might be worth paying $500 a night just for AC!

On the plus side, the Lodge was right in the park & our room faced Yosemite Falls. However, we were not guaranteed parking spots even though we were staying at the hotel!

Food was generally overpriced & lackluster, but convenient. It helped that we brought bottled water & snacks with us.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ahwahnee!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

4 Stars for room + 1 extra for Location
I have stayed in different room types at the Lodge the last 18 years, so I came knowing what to expect. You can look at 2 sides of the coin and I prefer to look at the upside. For one thing - how much time do you really need to stay in your room when you are surrounded by one of the most glorious natural scenery in the world? For us, our time here is limited and we try to spend as much time outside as possible. BTW - I've never known Yosemite Lodge to advertise itself as anything close to luxury-styled accommodation. So, but for the lack of A/C (it cools down late each night anyway), and private balcony (tradeoff for extra in-room square-footage) we were VERY happy with our room.

This was the first time we stayed in a "Family Room," not to be confused with the "Family Bunk Room." Maximum capacity in a Family Room is 6, and the room appears to be one of the renovated/green rooms. What I can really commend the planners of this room class is how well-thought out the design is. The room is spaciously (did I mention Spacious?) L-shaped, with the main sleeping area (comfortable beds) at one end, and a living-room at the other (with sofa-bed, mini fridge, and a TV for those who need it). There are 6 (yes - 6) individual closets so that each member of the family can have their own "private" storage space. There is a large Dining/Gathering table with 4 chairs, so plenty of seating area.

The bathroom was the best aspect of the room design. First of all, the sink, shower (no tub), and water closet were separated so that multiple activities may take place simultaneously. Both Shower and water closet have doors, and the shower has a bench and hook to lay/hang clothes and towels. The sink is doubled on a long vanity surface and accompanied by a large walled mirror.

The trade-off on the Family Room? No balcony (but I'll take the added living space and go outside as needed), the Cedar Bldg overlooks the pool, and on our stay - the water activities started early and got rowdy quickly.

We found the food court to be quite satisfactory in terms of selection and quality. The breakfast pancakes were excellent and the Chicken Cesar Salad at dinner an excellent deal. Lodge guests are issued coupons for complimentary coffees.

Room Tip: There are not many Family Rooms available at the lodge, so I would recommend reserving as early as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OperaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Yosemite Lodge At The Falls for our annual family vacation. We planned this trip and reserved the room a year ago, as friends told us this hotel sells out one year out! True enough, we were lucky to book 4 consecutive nights and planned the rest of our vacation in Ca based on these dates.

Needless to say, we were surprised & shocked once we arrived at our room. Unbeknownst to us this hotel has NO air conditioning, and of course we arrived during a heat wave! The facility and rooms are circa 1970s. Dark, dingy, rather dirty rooms and bath. After paying over $250 per night for a standard room, to say we were disappointed is an understatement.

The only plus is the location, as it is in Yosemite Park & our room faced Yosemite Falls. The Mountain View restaurant was pleasant, however the Yosemite Lodge Food Court left a lot to be desired! Be sure to bring snacks and bottled water with you.

If you can afford to stay at The Ahwanhee Hotel, do so! It is worth $500 per night compared to the disappointment with The Yosemite Lodge at the Falls!

Room Tip: Stay at he Ahwanhee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sako1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I so appreciate our National Park system - making the wonders of nature available and affordable to all. The setting of this lodge by the falls and the proximity to everything else the park has to offer, cannot be beaten. The front desk and wait staff were wonderful. We ate in the lounge two nights in a row. It was quiet, relaxing, and we loved the chili and corn bread. Our room had just the basics. There was no air conditioning, and the bathroom had not been updated in years. There was no counter space, so it was a little crowded for the 3 of us. Don't expect luxury here, but that is not why you stay here - you stay here for the scenery and to be close to nature! We are truly blessed for our National Parks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We read a ton of reviews leading up to a 4th of July weekend trip to the park, and were prepared for poor rooms and bad service. I'm happy to say, we had an excellent stay and despite the mid-summer heat and holiday crowds, our experience was very good.
So yes, the location is spectacular. No matter which room you have, as you walk the parking lot, to the facilities, etc; you constantly get glimpses or full on vistas of the falls that are breathtaking.
I think the most critical thing is to get a refurbished room. I'm not clear on the exact terminology (are green room, refurbished rooms, and renovated rooms all the same thing?), but we were in a renovated room. We tried to check in early, waited an hour for a room we could get into, and were given a 2nd floor room in the Aspen building. The room itself was large, a nice patio for coffee or wine with a tiny view of the falls through the trees, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom big and more than satisfactory. Products just okay - dispensers for soap, shampoo, shower gel. Even though there were YMCA groups in the adjacent rooms, we never heard our neighbors at night. The Aspen building is off a large parking lot which was packed every afternoon, and seemed a good location because it was a few minute walk one way to the Lodge office, pool, and other facilities, or a few minutes walk the other way to the shuttle or the start of the hike up to the falls.
I dealt with a number of the people at the front desk and all but perhaps one were extremely helpful and smiling.
We had drinks and dinner at the Mountain Room which we really enjoyed, breakfast in the food court which was decent. During this peak season there was some delays in getting the tables cleared. We jumped in the pool one hot afternoon. They provide the towels and we really appreciated the chance to cool off. We watched a couple evening presentations in the theater, and were very happy. We also jumped on the shuttle to go visit the Ahwahnee one evening and other times to get to trail heads like Vernal Falls.
It was HOT particular the first day. Our room had a ceiling fan and another table fan that ran all night. That first night was stuffy, things cooled down a bit after; but in midsummer be ready for no air conditioning.
Otherwise, a really comfortable home base to explore the park from. Thank you Yosemite Lodge!

Room Tip: If at all possible in my opinion, most important thing is to get a refurbished room. Second would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastaleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were lucky to get 4 nights on short notice during the busy summer season thanks to last minute cancellations. The check in process was not exactly smooth. We had to consolidate 2 reservations into one so that we wouldn't have to change rooms. The clerk we got could not figure it out so we stood there for a half an hour waiting for someone to help her do it. We finally got our keys and headed up to the room on the second floor. We lugged our stuff up the stairs and settled in. Only to get a knock on the door from another family who had the keys to the same room. They had the room next door too so we packed up our stuff, called the front desk and went down for keys to another room. In another building, on the second floor. So once again, we lugged our stuff up the stairs to our room.

Room- surprisingly clean considering the amount of dirt hikers trek in. The double beds were quite small for 2 people in each. But comfortable mattresses. No AC and it was HOT while we were there. Hard to fall asleep but it cooled off throughout the night.

Food- the cafeteria was okay. Breakfast got very crowded. Do not come to the park for the food because you will be very disappointed. If you like pizza, this is the place for you. Pizza is served everywhere in the park!

Service- lacking in all areas. It seemed like the staff at the front desk of the lodge and the restaurant were not really trained. They didn't seem to know what to do and always had to ask for a manager to help them. The food service people seemed very overwhelmed in the morning breakfast rush.

The Park-spectacular. Especially the hike to Vernal Falls, Glacier Point, and Mariposa Grove. All 3 not to be missed.

Unfortunately, there is not really an alternative to this hotel if you want the amazing location. Just keep your expectations for service very low and you should be fine.

Enjoy the park!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,188 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
1.5 mi away
Half Dome Village
Half Dome Village
#3 of 26 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing