We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Get a room that's been renovated.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clarksville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Get a room that's been renovated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to get a room a week before our arrival. They have a 7 day cancelation policy which means that if you want a room start looking a week or more ahead and you might get one. We stayed in the Maple building right across from the Food Court. Nice location. The Food Court is very expensive but you're paying for the convenience. The room had two beds which looked like small full-size beds. They allowed us to use our air up mattress for our third child. The rooms had been renovated. Very nicely decorated and very clean. The electrical system was questionable. I wouldn't try to charge any sensitive electronics. The chargers were hot to the touch after a few minutes of being plugged in. Great location in Yosemite. Just be prepared for the expense.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lodeiapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    1,389
    715
    289
    164
See reviews for
1,297
1,478
92
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rooms are dark, shabby, outdated, with filthy carpets - and a complete rip-off. How in the world can they charge $200+ a night for this? Because it's the only game in town (unless you want to spend a fortune at the Ahwahnee down the road). This place is horrendous. Don't believe the photos on the web site. If there are rooms that look like that, there must be only one or two, because we walked by many rooms where the doors were open (it was over 90 degrees outside and rooms don't have AC) that were as dreadful as ours. Another stunner: you can't check in until 5pm. Yes, you read that right. Guest check OUT is at 11am, but this place is so short-staffed that they can't get rooms clean until 5pm. So, unless you want to hang out at the visitor center down the road or drive around the loop for hours, don't plan on getting there before cocktail hour. You'll need a stiff drink when you see the room, so maybe that's a good strategy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coriolanus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower 48
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Imagine the perfect national park lodge: rustic luxury, attentive staff, wonderful amenities. Then imagine you were arrested there and taken to a minimum security prison. That's Yosemite Lodge.

Everything in our room was filthy or falling apart or both. If the weather is hot, you will be hotter. When I complained about the room phone not working, the desk clerk said, "Oh, you're in one of the rooms that features a non-working phone." George Orwell meet Franz Kafka.

The location is wonderful, but the management clearly uses that fact to exploit their customers rather than serve them. My advice: Give up a little convenience in return for a decent place to stay.

PS: Apparently some rooms are renovated, and may be better than ours, but the attitude problem pervades the establishment.

Room Tip: Insist on a renovated room. Better yet, run!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tangible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked a lodge room and were assigned to the Elderberry building which is close to the road and very close to the trail to Yosemite Falls. All of the motel rooms are "lodge" rooms except for those in the Cedar building which are "standard". (Standard rooms do not have patios or balconies.) Some rooms in our building had views of the Yosemite Falls. We were in room 4208 and could not see them from our downstairs patio. I noticed that many rooms in the Willow building had great views. Our average-sized room had been refurbished and was quite clean with pleasant decor. We had two double beds, a table with two chairs, a flat-screened tv, and plenty of storage space. Rooms come with hairdryers, but no coffee pot. We could not hear our neighbors through the walls, but could hear them if they were on their patios or balconies. Because Elderberry is close to a main street, we could hear the traffic from morning to mid-evening.

The front desk staff members were friendly and efficient. Our room was ready at 4:00 p.m. The receptionist honored our request for a ground floor room, and she tried her best to assign us a room with a pretty view.

The Food Court/cafeteria was ok. There was a variety of selections and the staff seemed to all try their best at pleasing the guests. Food was mediocre. 6:00 p.m. seemed to be the most popular time for dinner. Lines were long, and table clearing was challenging for the bussing staff. Breakfast and lunch times were not as busy.

The store is located in back of the lobby. We liked the Village Store down the road, which was bigger and had more fresh food selections. We did not eat at the Mountain Room Restaurant, but it did look nice. There were also a few other restaurants close by.

The shuttle stops right in front of the lobby and cafeteria area. The shuttle is very convenient and easy.

If location and views are important to you, study the Lodge map found on the web site. Many room windows face the parking lot. Elderberry, Cottonwood, Azalea, and Tamarack are very close to the road, but some of the rooms have good views. Alder, Maple, Hemlock, and Juniper have private views, but some of the rooms have no views, because the brush is so thick and had not been cut back when I was there. Laurel is close to the tour bus parking.

Overall, we liked staying in the Elderberry building at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. The location of the Lodge is great, and the room we had was clean, roomy, and pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to get a "lodge" room that has been refurbished. Study the Lodge map found on the web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lodge this is not! These buildings are extremely old, filthy, broken and a rip off. The positive feedback from customers emphasizes the location. Sure, these buildings are on prime real estate - close by and convenient but aside from boasting the location, there is nothing more to offer the traveler. Rooms do not have A/C. We were given a room on the 2nd floor (two story buildings) and the temperature in the room was over 90 degrees when we checked in. I asked how to turn on the A/C and was told 'you pull the fan out of the closet and plug it in'. We were eventually able to move to a 1st floor room which helped a small bit on temperature. Floors filthy, broken sink, tub, carpet is awful. I would not let me kids take their shoes off and after showers would not let them leave the tub w/o putting shoes back on. Sheets, towels look 20 years old. Many bugs throughout - spiders, ants and others. Kids were bit by spiders while sleeping. For close to $200 a night, the park system should be ashamed to take advantage of the traveler this way.

Room Tip: I hear there are some refurbished rooms, but I never saw them, don't know if they have them and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPaton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yosemite lodge-

Pros-

-You get a GREAT location
-View of Yosemite falls
-Close to bike paths so access to entire park
-Close access to shuttle buses
-Close to hiking trails.
-Clean
-Maid service every day- although one day we didn't get clean towels
-Micro-mini refrigertor- smallest type.
-Upper level rooms have a step out balcony
with a table and two chairs
-Soft toilet paper
-Not as expensive as the Ahwahnee.
-A few steps from the Mountain view restaurant & shopping & to the pool & the bar & deli restaurant.
-Not a tent.
-Rusting looking.
-Daily coffee cards for cafeteria close by.
-Bike racks. Really consider bringing a bike. Beautiful bike trails abound.

Cons-
-No air conditioning, but there was an overhead fan and room fan.
-No dresser drawers
-No bar soap
-No in room coffee maker- We brought a water heater appliance & instant coffee.
-Harsh keelnex-similar feel to bark
-Expensive 5 star price for 3 star accomodations.
-Limited TV channel options
-Rustic looking
-Mosquitoes, but what are you going to do about that? Bring bug spray.
-Not many hangers, but who cares if your clothes are wrinkled when you are hiking.
- Have to book a room a year in advance.
-The lack of air-conditioning was tough when it was over 100 degrees this first week of June.

Overall, you can't beat the location & the experience of majestic Yosemite steps away from your room.

Room Tip: Pick something upstairs in that case you get a balcony with a bit extra living space for morning cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieM1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

No need to write more about it, don't stay in this hotel, although location is good, you will catch a diease. Every where is filthy, broken, smelly. I'm a world traveler and I never stay a hotel like this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Okatan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing