We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went here for a weekend for my cousin's wedding. The park itself was breath-taking and beautiful. We got the park after 5pm so we were able to check in right away. The lodge itself is huge. Had to walk from the lobby to our room with 3 big suitcases by myself as my parents had to go to the wedding rehearsal and it took me about 20 minutes. No mention of any luggage carts so don't know of they had any. Parking is also a challenge as at that time most of the people have already parked so had to find parking far and then walking back to the lodge was long but it was alright as I got caught up with the beauty of my surroundings. The room was minimal and outdated. I loved the fact that they were eco-friendly with their bath amenities. The lodge bar was fun, wish I remember the name of the bartender as he was great. They also had a film about the history of the park playing in the middle of the courtyard. The bus system was very helpful as I didn't want to have to move the car again and then go thru finding another parking space. The cafeteria had a lot of different offerings for food so always something for everyone.

The wedding at the park's chapel was quaint but beautiful. It fronted this gushing falls that was just majestic. The reception at the lodge's hall was adequate, food was okay but service was good but the ambiance was romantic for the wedding reception and there were a couple of deers that came very near the windows for us to get a lot of pictures of them.

All in all for the price I paid, the room was in need of a good refurbishing or a complete renovation but we enjoyed the park and being with nature that weekend. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CT0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    1,311
    674
    280
    161
See reviews for
1,248
1,392
90
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Junee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a place to wake up or see the sun set. To see the falls and hear them is so specail (especailly as we live in a drought prone area of the world.) We chose to stay there because it was memorial day weekend so thought it better to be in the park than outside since we had no transport of our own.
The room was OK but there is no coffee/tea making facilities in the room, but does have a fridge.
One thing we found frustrating was chech in was at 5 pm and check out had to be compeleted by 10am, so there was a bit of hanging around waiting for check in.
Would thouroughly recommed the Glacier Point Tour. The guide/driver was so knowledgeable and able to give a personal insight into the National Park.
The free transport around the park is terrific and well used. enables you to see and then walk around places you want to linger at.
Food court is satisfactory. Very busy at breakfast if you want to get away early.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tardis129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed in the lodge many times since it's the best location in the park, close to all the trailheads, dining etc. We paid $225 a night (in March) for what is essenyially a mid-level motel room (the only update was a docking station for an iPhone or iPod) but the at night we could hear the roar of Yosemite Falls (we stayed in the Tamarack building) and who can beat that? The room has a little fridge and free wi-fi, both greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Tamarack and Cottonwood are close to the Falls but further from the dining (a 3 minute walk). Cedar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been to Yosemite many time before but this was our first time staying inside the park. Staying at the lodge made our visit special even after having visited Yosemite many times. We stayed in the Cottonwood building with a view of the falls thanks to the helpful girl at the front desk who cheerfully accomodated our request of a room with a view. The room was rustic cabin decor and the first impression was of it being a little dark and dingy. These rooms have been through lots of use but overall everything was clean and comfortable. The room had a mini refrigerator , hair dryer, iron and ironing board and a small table fan. It didn't have a coffee maker but they gave us 6 coupons for coffee/tea that could be used at the food court. Its important to remember that these are not luxury accomodations and we are paying the premium for the location which is very well worth it. Having stayed at better hotels at the west and south entrances, I might still prefer the Lodge for the experience of waking up in Yosemite without having to camp or spending for Ahwahnee. The staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of dining options and a gift/grocery store for all one can need. Overall great place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked staying in the Cottonwood building. Our room had a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suntash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Step out of your room and lift your eyes to Yosemite Falls. Stunning! Right in the middle of the Park with Shuttle Bus stop at Lobby. Everything you need on property. Staff at desk very helpful. Shop loaded with every essential you might be lacking. Excellent food at restaurant and the more casual grill. Concierge to help you plan your activities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfsojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed in all the lodges in park and Yosemite lodge is my favorite. This is not a 4- 5 star hotel but is very well kept up and the rooms are nice sized and well appointed . The up side is location location location. Located directly across from Yosemite falls. Has the best dining options. Bring or rent bike for getting around valley and you can park your car and easily get anywhere in valley. They do have free buses that access all areas in valley that picks up right in front of lodge. You are here to see park not stay in a luxury resort and this is the best option, unless you want to drive in and out of the park everyday. Pay the extra $ and stay where you can enjoy the valley all day and night.

Room Tip: There are many buildings most with 2 floors a couple a singe story. All have balcony or porch. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_N_S123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We didn't think much of the room; the location of course can't be beat. I think that for the price we would expect a much better room. Why they are unable to remodel every 50 years or so is beyond me. My wife complained and apologized about roughing it, I told her it was OK; I couldn’t sleep because of the thin blankets. So are we babies? Perhaps.
You can walk out the door and look out where you would expect blue skies and see a shear granite face. We noticed how much we look down, when there is so much to see looking up. The falls are a short walk away and they are awesome. So the room, I think was inspired by “Camp Granada” circa 1965. The decor is knotty pine, not so nice upholstery, thin stained carpet, two double beds, but really only room for one. There is a small refrigerator, a vintage cathode ray TV, a closet with two sliding doors, no, make that one. And the bath room, everything sits on the toilet tank. Get the picture?

We arrived late. Let me say driving in the park in the rain at night is not much fun. It is really dark. When we arrived I noticed many people walking around had flashlights. We ate at the café, the choices were a grilled to order hamburger with four people in line ahead or the chili. The chili was good. Breakfast there is OK, I would have preferred an egg McMuffin, but roughing it petite bourgeoisie style doesn’t permit that. The crowd looks like they sunk a couple of months wages at REI, well, except for some of our Japanese friends who wore pants with flowers. We walked to the base of the falls; it is another eight hours of steep uphill climbing to the top of the falls. Didn’t do that. Yosemite is spectacular and we appreciated being able to stay right there. We ate at the steakhouse, the place is very nice, and the food was above average, we ordered a bottle of wine, steak and trout.

The next day we walked to the Ahwahnee. We hung out and wrote postcards in the multi-storied sun room. We marveled at the huge hearths, it was like a medieval castle, I could envision Errol Flynn swinging from the chandeliers. We asked the concierge about restaurant reservations, he said they were advised and we would need to wear shirts with collars. We went to the bar and had a Moscow Mule, very good. When I asked about the ginger ale our waiter informed us it was made from the very best Fever-tree ginger beer (not ale).

We had a great time but were glad to get back to civilization.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fenthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,297 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
1.5 mi away
Half Dome Village
Half Dome Village
#3 of 25 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing