We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake View Lodge(Lee Vining)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
June Lake Villager(June Lake)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
June Lake Motel(June Lake)(Great Value!)
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Bear Cottages(Yosemite National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,024)
Filter reviews
4,024 results
Traveler rating
1,130
1,581
811
315
187
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,130
1,581
811
315
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtthe mountain room restauranthemlock buildingyosemite valleyceiling fansmall refrigeratorfood hallfamily roomgift shopshuttle busbike rentalscoffee makerglacier pointcan't beat the locationtwo double bedsdining optionsamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
2,560 - 2,565 of 4,024 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed in the lodge many times since it's the best location in the park, close to all the trailheads, dining etc. We paid $225 a night (in March) for what is essenyially a mid-level motel room (the only update was a docking station for an iPhone or iPod) but the at night we could hear the roar of Yosemite Falls (we stayed in the Tamarack building) and who can beat that? The room has a little fridge and free wi-fi, both greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Tamarack and Cottonwood are close to the Falls but further from the dining (a 3 minute walk). Cedar is closer to the dining. Hemlock is close to a beautiful meadow and the Merced river.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been to Yosemite many time before but this was our first time staying inside the park. Staying at the lodge made our visit special even after having visited Yosemite many times. We stayed in the Cottonwood building with a view of the falls thanks to the helpful girl at the front desk who cheerfully accomodated our request of a room with a view. The room was rustic cabin decor and the first impression was of it being a little dark and dingy. These rooms have been through lots of use but overall everything was clean and comfortable. The room had a mini refrigerator , hair dryer, iron and ironing board and a small table fan. It didn't have a coffee maker but they gave us 6 coupons for coffee/tea that could be used at the food court. Its important to remember that these are not luxury accomodations and we are paying the premium for the location which is very well worth it. Having stayed at better hotels at the west and south entrances, I might still prefer the Lodge for the experience of waking up in Yosemite without having to camp or spending for Ahwahnee. The staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of dining options and a gift/grocery store for all one can need. Overall great place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked staying in the Cottonwood building. Our room had a view of the falls.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suntash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Step out of your room and lift your eyes to Yosemite Falls. Stunning! Right in the middle of the Park with Shuttle Bus stop at Lobby. Everything you need on property. Staff at desk very helpful. Shop loaded with every essential you might be lacking. Excellent food at restaurant and the more casual grill. Concierge to help you plan your activities.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfsojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed in all the lodges in park and Yosemite lodge is my favorite. This is not a 4- 5 star hotel but is very well kept up and the rooms are nice sized and well appointed . The up side is location location location. Located directly across from Yosemite falls. Has the best dining options. Bring or rent bike for getting around valley and you can park your car and easily get anywhere in valley. They do have free buses that access all areas in valley that picks up right in front of lodge. You are here to see park not stay in a luxury resort and this is the best option, unless you want to drive in and out of the park everyday. Pay the extra $ and stay where you can enjoy the valley all day and night.

Room Tip: There are many buildings most with 2 floors a couple a singe story. All have balcony or porch. Some have better views of fall or valley, so might want to ask for view. If you make res though web site it is a good idea to call front desk prior to arrival and ask for view room, since web booking and front desk are not same entity.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R_N_S123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We didn't think much of the room; the location of course can't be beat. I think that for the price we would expect a much better room. Why they are unable to remodel every 50 years or so is beyond me. My wife complained and apologized about roughing it, I told her it was OK; I couldn’t sleep because of the thin blankets. So are we babies? Perhaps.
You can walk out the door and look out where you would expect blue skies and see a shear granite face. We noticed how much we look down, when there is so much to see looking up. The falls are a short walk away and they are awesome. So the room, I think was inspired by “Camp Granada” circa 1965. The decor is knotty pine, not so nice upholstery, thin stained carpet, two double beds, but really only room for one. There is a small refrigerator, a vintage cathode ray TV, a closet with two sliding doors, no, make that one. And the bath room, everything sits on the toilet tank. Get the picture?

We arrived late. Let me say driving in the park in the rain at night is not much fun. It is really dark. When we arrived I noticed many people walking around had flashlights. We ate at the café, the choices were a grilled to order hamburger with four people in line ahead or the chili. The chili was good. Breakfast there is OK, I would have preferred an egg McMuffin, but roughing it petite bourgeoisie style doesn’t permit that. The crowd looks like they sunk a couple of months wages at REI, well, except for some of our Japanese friends who wore pants with flowers. We walked to the base of the falls; it is another eight hours of steep uphill climbing to the top of the falls. Didn’t do that. Yosemite is spectacular and we appreciated being able to stay right there. We ate at the steakhouse, the place is very nice, and the food was above average, we ordered a bottle of wine, steak and trout.

The next day we walked to the Ahwahnee. We hung out and wrote postcards in the multi-storied sun room. We marveled at the huge hearths, it was like a medieval castle, I could envision Errol Flynn swinging from the chandeliers. We asked the concierge about restaurant reservations, he said they were advised and we would need to wear shirts with collars. We went to the bar and had a Moscow Mule, very good. When I asked about the ginger ale our waiter informed us it was made from the very best Fever-tree ginger beer (not ale).

We had a great time but were glad to get back to civilization.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fenthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews