We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rate might just change” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The rate might just change”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked the hotel online and the full payment was taken. However upon check-out we were told to pay a few dollars more. (not much money but seems odd) So i was asking the reason for it, was told ohh sometimes its more sometimes its less. (What?! -- but why?! -- was it other tax we were not aware of or something else?) Anyway, we ended up pay the extra in cash as i did not want my card to be charged again as i did not want to attract another lot of international transaction fee.
Other than that incident, our stay was pretty good. Yosemite was absolutely beautiful, and this lodge was in a great location, walking distance to lots tracks, had a restaurant and a cafe with descent food. The room was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Nomad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    1,389
    715
    289
    164
See reviews for
1,297
1,478
92
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Lodge many times. It's not fancy, but comfortable, reasonably priced, and with friendly service. We come in Winter. Like an earlier poster said, we prefer the Azalea building, but haven't always gotten it. It is the most conveniently located and updated. Second floor rooms are best. Birch has thin walls but is also close to the lobby and restaurants. The Mountain Room restaurant is good and reasonably priced. Service can be slow, and it's annoying that they don't take reservations for parties of fewer than 8. Why? The food court is fine for breakfast, but I don't like the atmosphere. Bright lights and noisy families. The Mountain Lounge is cozy for a snack and drinks. I love the free coffee. I love the free bus to Badger Pass in winter. Mostly, I love the location and the quietude of Yosemite in Winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. Travelled with very dear friends. The Lodge is situated at the base of two waterfalls. Gorgeous views of El Captain peak (even on a rainy cloudy day!) The room was spacious, with high ceilings and big window and little balcony. Room a bit worn and in need of a bit of re-model. King bed quite good. Cafeteria type food court restaurant across the way. Decent food/reasonable prices. Four Free coupons for coffee, teas or cocoa given to each couple at check in. Excellent strong coffee (Peet's). We walked to the very nice Historic Ahwanee Lodge- too pricy for us to stay at. But we were able to have happy hour beers/wine in the lounge in front of the massive fireplace and had an excellent Sunday Brunch in their magnificent restaurant- $25 + p.p. but well worth it.. amazing food and choices and the waiter did not rush us. Did not need lunch that day. Because of the rain, my friend and I booked massages in our rooms with a professional masseuse who has been travelling to the Lodge for years- came with their own massage table- very professional and very well worth it. We split an hour and a half massage. The guys hiked in the rain.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Room was fine- location was the biggest plus. Being in the park made it easier to explore and do our own thing.

Unfortunately the level of Hotel service was dependant on who was at the front desk. Some were great, others not so. That said we'd still come back & stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bantona2098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed there for two nights in early December. We asked for a renovated room and was given one. It is spacious and cosy. No problem with the parking as we stayed in the Dogwood building. Though it is a busy place, it has all the convenience like food, shuttle bus stop and within walking distance to the fall. At night, there are talks held at the lodge. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3yj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room we had was updated, clean, with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom with a great shower. We even got to see wild life just outside our door. The staff was friendly and very helpful. If you stay here, remember to look up. Be amazed by all the beauty that surrounds you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodKarmaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bywong, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our room was clean, modern and tastefully furnished with vey comfortable bed, mod cons including flat screen tv, nice bathroom/vanity area and good heating. Free shuttle bus runs from the lodge and it is short easy walk to Yosemite Village and oh so close to the Yosemite Falls. Location really can overcome lots of negatives but this place, in terms of accommodation didn't have any negs to overcome. There was a small mix up with our room allocation as a result of a computer outage earlier in the day and a manual check-in that wasn't recorded properly but it was fixed quickly and new room allocated in 5 mins. We were there in Winter so had no problems with queues. The food court was ok for a good feed after a day out hiking and doesn't pretend to be any more than that. Didn't try the restaurant as wanted to get out to the ice rink so no time for a lingering meal. We were expecting very basic accommodation given what we paid and how close it is to all of the sights. We were VERY pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Try for a room in Tamarak or Dogwood. They are away from the madding crowd and very quiet. Especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing