We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had two adjoining rooms in the newly renovated Birch Building. They were huge! My only comment has the are dark and could do with a centre of the room light. Bathroom and powerful shower were fabulous. Would return in a heartbeat! Well done to Mandy and her team at checkin.

Room Tip: We thought birch was a great building. Flat on ground so no upstairs noise to deAl with. And newly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mssell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    1,490
    760
    304
    173
See reviews for
1,404
1,582
97
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yosemite Lodge is a value during the Fall and Winter months. The Lodge's rooms are very spacious and up-to-date. Second floor rooms have decks that allow you to have a great vantage point to possibly see wildlife early in the morning, before the crack of dawn. Later in the day you will be able to see the evening stars.

The Food Court, restaurant and lounge are within the facility. The food is a little pricey and okay. Mini fridges is all rooms. A grocery store and laundry on site.

Park your car and enjoy the free shuttle that stops by every 20 minutes to take you to attractions around the Valley. If you have a few hours, either take the Yosemite Valley bus tour (2 hours) from the Lodge.

Great way to have a relaxing trip and enjoy Nature's beauty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mlt_scorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Yes, the Lodge is expensive. But the location was so perfect, the room surprisingly clean, and the bed so very comfortable, that I would stay here again! The staff was also very helpful and polite. And you can't beat the setting!

Room Tip: Book far in advance. But if you don't, do not give up. We got in with a last minute cancellati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiawah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My sister and I spent 3 nights in early November in the newly renovated room 4404 in the Cottonwood building at the Lodge at the Falls. The receptionist at the front desk went out of way to provide a renovated room since we were not initially assigned to one. Actually she said it was partially renovated. Cottonwood is a one story building with probably 8 or 10 rooms . It is somewhat close to the street but there was no problem with noise. I liked the location since it was close to the central dining and reception area and close to the exit out of the lodging complex. The room was very large, 2 queen sized comfortable beds , table and chairs, fridge, good shower flat screen TV- well it was exactly what we needed ! I wouldn't stay anywhere else because of the location, location location AND the amenities of the room. check out my pics ! We can't wait to return in the spring to check out the waterfalls

Room Tip: Fall is a wonderful time to visit - the foliage was amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZ_amiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

One look at our room showed that it was an older decor, but it was clean and spacious (for two people). Since this was our first time in the park, we didn't know what to expect. The matress needs to be replaced, but other than that, no complaints. We visited in October, with sunset about 7:30, so we spent more time in the room than we would have in summer. The front desk people were very patient and helpful, even with long lines of bus tourists. In the food court some of the staff treated us like a part on an assembly line, but most of them were friendly and courteous. Overall, our experience at the Lodge gets a B+ and we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitstop88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was in need of a major make over, the rooms are very dark, the decor is extremely dated and the beds too soft. I visited Yosemite 20 years ago and the hotel appears as if it has not had any investment in that time. On the positive side it was clean and warm (the nights were a little chilli). Catering facilities were mixed, the main canteen at the hotel was average to poor; the bar food was very good as was the service. The other hotel staff attitudes are mixed from polite and helpful to surly and rude; the later being demonstrated by staff at the visitors information desk. Considering the price was representative of a four or five star hotel, but in reality it is only a two or three star, the value was very poor.

The national park itself is beautiful, with various trails some suitable to to the novice ranging to some that will challenge the more experienced hiker. If your in to rock climbing you will be spoilt for choice. Due to the time of year we were able to visit there was not a lot of water about, with the some of the streams and the falls being dry,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Back to Yosemite Lodge for our annual visit, we were delighted with the renovations done to our room. New furniture was in good taste and moving the refridgerator to the closet and substituting a flat screen TV (unused by us) made for much more space in the room. We liked the curtains, carpets, bathroom sink and bathroom floor. All was clean and service was much better than usual (though telephone was broken). The park was beautiful and almost empty. We had more autumn color than in years though still are concerned about global warming. We had an excellent dinner (with not great service) in the Mountain Room, a wonderful breakfast in the Ahwahnee and adequate pizza twice in our room from the cafeteria. We think the change makes the Lodge above average and combined with the spectacular beauty and peace of Yosemite, a wonderful place to stay (the Ahwahnee is now about $500 a night). We try to catch the low season rates which begin in November.

Room Tip: We prefer quiet rooms far from the central area of the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,600 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
450 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing