We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovated room in very good taste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Back to Yosemite Lodge for our annual visit, we were delighted with the renovations done to our room. New furniture was in good taste and moving the refridgerator to the closet and substituting a flat screen TV (unused by us) made for much more space in the room. We liked the curtains, carpets, bathroom sink and bathroom floor. All was clean and service was much better than usual (though telephone was broken). The park was beautiful and almost empty. We had more autumn color than in years though still are concerned about global warming. We had an excellent dinner (with not great service) in the Mountain Room, a wonderful breakfast in the Ahwahnee and adequate pizza twice in our room from the cafeteria. We think the change makes the Lodge above average and combined with the spectacular beauty and peace of Yosemite, a wonderful place to stay (the Ahwahnee is now about $500 a night). We try to catch the low season rates which begin in November.

Room Tip: We prefer quiet rooms far from the central area of the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,555 - 2,561 of 3,945 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here this past week. Great location for valley hiking and sight seeing. Our room was looking quite worn out. Carpets need replacing, beds were uncomfortable, blankets had tears, chair wasn't worth sitting in, bathroom grout wasn't clean and found a cockroach in the bathroom. When there is little competition I guess you can let the place go and stil get $200 a night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooseTrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

While Yosemite itself is quite beautiful and Yosemite Lodge is a great location to explore the valley, the room itself was depressing and dirty, offered absolutely no privacy and I felt offended to have paid the prices they demand just to be in the park. The older rooms, which we stayed in, had a broken shower and there were dead bugs on the walls. The staff was pleasant in their apologies and diligently looked for a better room but given that Yosemite draws constant crowds, the hotel was packed. I think it's a shame that the management continues to charge big money for substandard rooms and does not feel the need to upgrade their ammenitites because the public keeps coming. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Book ahead and ask for a newer cabin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAZYSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was amazing! We got a room that showed a view of the falls and you could hear the falls at night! And since we we there in the Spring when the snows were melting it was a fast and full flow! The room was very nice....I was put off by the price of the dining room entrees! OMG! But if you are willing to pay about $500.00 a night for the room they think you have money to eat like a Queen too? Not! But thankfully there are several sandwich shops nearby to grab something quick and reasonably priced! Great trip and great photo ops! Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Take your time when checking in and talking to the service person helping you! They know the good r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeialohaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you can get a renovated room at the Lodge, you will most likely be fine. Getting that room, however, is not guaranteed, and the unrenovated rooms are very bad. The name is somewhat of a misnomer, as there is no lodge building, just a series of two story motel units scattered around the area. Seeing the previous reviews here, we made reservations months in advance and asked specifically for a renovated room. When we arrived, we were told all the renovated rooms were given to tour groups and were instead assigned to a drab, unrenovated room with a broken security lock, no heat and dirt in the bathroom. We checked out the next day, were given a refund and tried a nice and comfortable hotel outside the park for half the price. The Park is beautiful, but can be easily seen by staying outside the Park and driving in for the day. Never again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

OK, this is a pretty standard place. No frills in the rooms, but who stays in? TV pretty limited to family type channels & room Wifi iffy. But the location is the best for in-valley lodging. We had accessible room that was well set up and easy to maneuver the mobility scooter. Don't give up if told no accessible rooms available by reservations. Check website often as room availability changes and call to change rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a diagram of the buildings and request views of falls or room near river. Be prepared for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

July trip with the kid and his friend. Just wonderful place, as you might imagine. Half Dome in early morning light is not to be missed.

The Lodge is a good and reasonable place to stay BUT THE ROOM QUALITY VARIES WILDLY! Be careful. Ask questions. If you can, don't just take the room they propose to assign you. the rooms are all in separate long, two story buildings. Some have been recently refurbished, some are quite old and look it. The ones we stayed in this last time were brand new, just off the approach road with parking lot on one side and lotsa trees on the other. Two Story, but only 4 or five units. Get one of the upper floor units. High ceilings, impressive beds and bathroom, nice patio, and, unlike any other units...TV (the Olympics were on). None of the Lodge units have air...and it DOES get hot in the valley. But these new rooms were very pleasant, roomy and airy.

By the way...if you are there in summer, the Lodge swimming pool is gigantic. The cafeteria is always open and good food.

The large formal dining room in the same Lodge complex was just beautiful with wonderful food. It's easy to miss it...we did..the last three times we were there...it's full nice restaurant prices, but worth it...with very high ceiling and tall glass windows on the trees. Worth the price. Of course, if you are going to spend money for a nice dinner, and limit that to one dinner...the Ahwanee Dining Room is not to be missed.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank AKarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,692 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
10 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $270 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Orbitz so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing