We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,138)
Filter reviews
4,138 results
Traveler rating
1,160
1,632
829
324
193
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
1,632
829
324
193
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtthe mountain room restauranthemlock buildingyosemite valleyceiling fansmall refrigeratorfood hallfamily roomgift shopshuttle buscoffee makerglacier pointcan't beat the locationtwo double bedsdining optionsamazing locationcurry village
Filter
Updating list...
2,743 - 2,748 of 4,138 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here and my wife had a different opinion. Having just driven from the Venetian at LV this was a complete 360. The most important thing to remember is that this is not pretending to be a 5 star hotel. It is a lodging area to enable you to go walking/biking/hiking in the valley area, without a 45min drive. So as far as value goes it depends on what is important to you. To put it into perspective its a solid large tent but with running water, electricity and beds. If you expect more than this you will be disappointed. I think when people claim the place is dirty they mean tired. The carpet will clearly show signs of mud stains because not everyone takes their boots off when they enter the lodges. We actually asked about the rooms and were informed that they company operating the lodges have successfully gained approval from the Parks commission (or similar org) to update over the next few years. There is free parking, cafe style restaurant, standard restaurant, gift shop and sports bar.

Room Tip: I understand they are all the same
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingeBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I completely agree with what most people say about the Lodge--the accommodation is dark, drab , very tired and more like standards in the 1960s.
It is very expensive for what it is but does have the one big advantage of location .

What made us laugh was that on check in we asked whether we had a renovated room and were told that this wasnt available for our 1st night but we could change to one for our 2nd and 3rd nights.
This we did and our second room was almost exactly the same as the unrenovated room --in fact apart from the fact the toilet door shut properly in the new room and the taps were easier to turn there was absolutely no difference and in fact it was worse as the carpet was very stained possibly with hiking boot dirt.

It was so much the same it seemed funny !

Having said this both rooms at the Lodge was generally clean and the big advantage of it was its location--we would not have wanted to have stayed outside the park even in better accommodation if that meant a 45 minute drive in.
Re the food outlets we had breakfast at the food court which was ok food and ate 2 nights in the bar which similarly was ok but had a steak dinner in the restaurant which was excellent .
As many people have said the Lodge is pretty average for what is charged but we didnt want to camp or pay top dollar in the hotel so this is the only option and its central location is excellent. Just dont expect much and you wont be disappointed but it could and should be so much better.
.

Room Tip: not sure there are any "good" rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JENNIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The room was just bare minimum basic, very worn and outdated and kinda depressing. For $200+ USD/night, you are purely paying for the location. There was a mini fridge but no microwave. Parking was free. No complementary breakfast.

Room Tip: Just stayed outside the park.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a quick, 24 hour visit to Yosemite. The location is incredible - at the base of the falls. I went in March, so there was plenty of snow visible and the view from my balcony was absolutely picturesque.

The accommodation is just renovated barracks and the rooms are nothing to write home about. Just a bed, desk, CRT TV and a basic bathroom - all a little aged - but I guess you don't go to Yosemite to sit in your hotel room, so it didn't bother me all that much. The room was reasonably comfortable and clean, just well overpriced for what it was. Also, it can be hard to get a car park close to the entry to your accommodation block, and if you're on the first floor, you'll have to cart your luggage up the stairs.

The staff were very friendly, and there's a large food court/shared dining room, which again is fairly basic and overpriced, but the atmosphere was great and it had a really fun, relaxed, "vacation" atmosphere about it.

Overall an enjoyable stay, but more because of the location than the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Elderberry room 4229, which is on the second floor at the end of the building which was nice as you we had a private balcony. It's the furthest from the food court and the shuttle but that's OK as it means it's a bit quieter. This place is a 1950's hikers lodge not a spa, so it's outdated and very basic and the walks are thin but it's clean and the beds are comfortable. But you are in the heart of Yosemite and that's what you are paying for, and it's worth it. We walked to lower Yosemite falls early one morning and never saw another person, wow! We bought fruit, yogurt and juice at the village store and ate breakfast at our room and just enjoyed the view. Lunch was sandwiches on the trail that you can make or buy in the village or at the food court. By dinner we were to tired so just ate in the food court, the have nice soup and salads. I would definitely stay here again because being in the village is great and you don't have to drive as you can take the shuttle everywhere, and there's lots of programs in the morning and evening that you would miss if you stay outside the village.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews