We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“In need of renovating”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The room was just bare minimum basic, very worn and outdated and kinda depressing. For $200+ USD/night, you are purely paying for the location. There was a mini fridge but no microwave. Parking was free. No complementary breakfast.

Room Tip: Just stayed outside the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    1,494
    762
    307
    173
See reviews for
1,409
1,587
97
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a quick, 24 hour visit to Yosemite. The location is incredible - at the base of the falls. I went in March, so there was plenty of snow visible and the view from my balcony was absolutely picturesque.

The accommodation is just renovated barracks and the rooms are nothing to write home about. Just a bed, desk, CRT TV and a basic bathroom - all a little aged - but I guess you don't go to Yosemite to sit in your hotel room, so it didn't bother me all that much. The room was reasonably comfortable and clean, just well overpriced for what it was. Also, it can be hard to get a car park close to the entry to your accommodation block, and if you're on the first floor, you'll have to cart your luggage up the stairs.

The staff were very friendly, and there's a large food court/shared dining room, which again is fairly basic and overpriced, but the atmosphere was great and it had a really fun, relaxed, "vacation" atmosphere about it.

Overall an enjoyable stay, but more because of the location than the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Elderberry room 4229, which is on the second floor at the end of the building which was nice as you we had a private balcony. It's the furthest from the food court and the shuttle but that's OK as it means it's a bit quieter. This place is a 1950's hikers lodge not a spa, so it's outdated and very basic and the walks are thin but it's clean and the beds are comfortable. But you are in the heart of Yosemite and that's what you are paying for, and it's worth it. We walked to lower Yosemite falls early one morning and never saw another person, wow! We bought fruit, yogurt and juice at the village store and ate breakfast at our room and just enjoyed the view. Lunch was sandwiches on the trail that you can make or buy in the village or at the food court. By dinner we were to tired so just ate in the food court, the have nice soup and salads. I would definitely stay here again because being in the village is great and you don't have to drive as you can take the shuttle everywhere, and there's lots of programs in the morning and evening that you would miss if you stay outside the village.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I hate to say it but this place is a dump and a disgrace. The first room had a smell that should not have been there and we did not discover the cause until I took off my shoes and went to the fan to turn it off. My white socks suddenly were soaking wet and BLACK. There was a leak that had soaked the carpet at least three feet out from the wall. The cleaning staff should have found this problem but apparently ignored it. The rest of the carpet was filthy and the room was just dirty. The sink was permanently dirty from not having been cleaned properly for years and the room was just in bad shape. To the credit of the staff they moved us the next morning to another room that had been upgraded the prior year and they were really proud of it. When we opened the door there was a basketball sized stain on the carpet and the rest was not really clean. The room was in better shape than the first but was not worth the $220 we paid per night.

The annoying part is this is Nation Park Service property and, as such, belongs to me. The Park Service management and the operator should be fired for letting the property deteriorate to such a condition. This is a gateway property to millions of foreign visitors to the United States each year and this place is not the impression we want to leave them with. Congress should investigate the Park Service for it poor stewardship of this property.

Do yourself a big favor and stay outside the park on the West side. You will save money and get a much better value for your money.

Room Tip: Get a room outside of Yosemite Park on the West side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownBarnPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Paying for a great location and parking. Nothing more. Gross room, moldy bathroom. I didn't want to touch anything. One night only for the location and convenience. They should be ashamed to charge what they do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurapok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It is the lowest priced non-camping lodging in Yosemite Valley. $200+ a night doesn't buy what it used to. The check-in process was painfully slow with a long line even at 11:00pm. The room was dated, basic, old, take your pick. At least it was reasonably sized with room for all our gear. The heat was barely adequate. The food options are over-priced and under-tasty, exactly what you would expect.

However, at the end of the day sleeping in Yosemite Valley made up for all these problems, and we would stay here again. You can camp, you can pay a lot more for the comfort of the Ahwahnee, you can pay less by staying 60+ minutes away, or you can stay here and wonder why the National Park Service can't get its act together and provide better options.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This lodge is very dated, and the rooms need a major overhaul. It was clean, but very dated and very basic for a national park lodge. The bed lacked comfort, and the facilities overall were not up to date.
The little giftshop/convenience counter was not well-stocked, and the overall facility was certainly in need of major repairs. It is not really worth the price charged, and cannot recommend staying there again. Quite frankly, it is almost like camping out.
Its location, however, is ideal, and the setting is beautiful. If someone upgraded this lodge and its service facilities, I think it would make a person's trip there even more impressive than the natural wonders to be admired. However, this place is undesirable.
If going to the falls or taking in the sights of Yosemite, I would recommend a day trip and staying in a hotel outside the park boundaries.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend this facility, get a hotel outside the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,605 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
458 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TravelUp, Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing