We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful. Check in was fast and efficient. We called ahead and requested a specific room and they were able to accommodate us. The lodge is definitely dated but the location is perfect. Staying in the valley was the best decision we made for this 4 day trip to Yosemite. The fact that the food court does not open until 6:30 a.m. was very disappointing. We are early risers and need our coffee at the very least!

Room Tip: Our room was in the Willow building - 4323. Had the water been flowing from Yosemite Falls, the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    1,480
    755
    301
    172
See reviews for
1,386
1,570
97
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Room was clean, cozy, and had all the basics you need. Cafeteria food was edible but not good. Starving stomachs after a long hike will still be thankful for the food. Everything is disneyland prices, overpriced food and lodging prices but what do you expect? No competition here. Front desk was wonderful, staff all were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our rooms were right on the creek. It was wonderful to hear the sound if the water from our room. The staff were very courteous and eager to assist our needs. The rooms each had whirlpool tubs in the bathroom. We ate in the restaurant and found the fool reasonable and good. All in all I longed to stay longer

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopper114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The lodge was located in the perfect location. Every morning we woke up to deer outside our room. We were pleasantly suprised that right in back of us was a gorgeous lake just minutes walking from us hidden in the trees. The room is what you would expect from a lodge in the national parks, simple but convient. We had a great time and would recommend it. Yes it had no AC but a big fan that we used in the room was provided. Parking was the only issue, they should not allow big busses to use the parking area around the lodge, they should have spaces available, we occasionally had to park on the weekend very far away in order to find a place. The pool was also a pleasant suprise and nice to go to at the end of a day filled with hiking.

Room Tip: Request to be facing the woods vs the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mar915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Loaction is great. Dining options are varied and are ok.

The room that we stayed in was disappointing The general condition of the room and corridors were really shabby. For the price they charge something needs to be done.

There are plenty of easy triails from the lodge.

I think we would look elsewhere ifwevisit Yosemite again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alshepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our second stay at Yosemite Lodge. The first stay, two years ago, our room was rather shabby and not very clean. This time things couldn't be more different.

Our current room is really very nice. The main thing is, it's very clean. I checked for any trouble spots, and everything is great. The furniture appears to be relatively new, the walls freshly painted, and the floors are clean. The bathroom and sink are older, and look outdated, but they work just fine. We have a big window and a balcony, and our window is sparkling clean.

A large number of separate buildings of various types comprise Yosemite Lodge. My impression is that these buildings are probably undergoing constant maintenance, and you may be at the mercy of the maintenance cycle when it comes to the condition of your room. (Currently the parking lot is being repaved.) We're on the second floor of Maple and it's been wonderful. Some noise because we're close to the shuttle stop, but not enough to be a problem.

One thing that's changed is that there's no in-room coffee maker anymore. When you check in you get a ticket for free coffee at the food court for each day of your stay. The food court coffee is strong, and the food court itself is very close to our room, so that's working fine for us. (Did I mention that I'm writing this from our balcony with the sunset reflecting off Half Dome?)

There's a small refrigerator which is good and cold, and no microwave. The tap water tastes good here. The staff are friendly and efficient.

Obviously I can only speak for the room I'm actually occupying, but it's great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesertDogwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Yosemite over recent years and on the last three occasions have stayed at Yosemite Lodge. You obviously have a few choices in Yosemite, from camping to the expensive luxury of The Ahwahnee. You will find Yosemite Lodge somewhere in between.
We are hikers so are in Yosemite for the location and the stunning scenery and wonderful hiking trails. We do however like a shower at the end of the day and a comfortable bed. That is where Yosemite Lodge comes in. Check in is usually after 5pm and is advertised as such, however we were checked in at 4:30pm by very pleasant staff. Our room on this occasion was in Hemlock block, ground floor and there are a number of these blocks named after plants and trees. They are old but appear to be designed to be as unobtrusive as possible in amongst the trees. It is obviously difficult to keep things looking natural with the many thousands of visitors that pass through. We had a king bed which was comfortable, the room was very clean and like many others, tired. Considering the number of visitors and the abuse the rooms undoubtedly take, they hold up pretty well. The shower was large and very good. A separate sink and closet storage area needed a revamp, particularly needing a new mirror. We had a small patio area with table and two chairs, nicely secluded. Sitting quietly you can expect to see some wildlife. We have seen squirrels, deer, raccoons and this time a bobcat.
We tend to take some food in with us, there is a refrigerator in the room but do eat in the Food Court in the evening. This can only be described as fast food but with a nice selection. Some will say that the food is overpriced, and I guess to some degree you could say the same about the accommodation. However, you have to remember where you are staying, in the middle of some of the most beautiful scenery you will ever experience and it does take some doing to get items we take for granted everyday to such a remote place.
One extra thing to mention for guests who cannot do without or for whom it is necessary to keep up with technology, free WiFi is available in room for guests and it is fast and works well.
If you look at the accommodation for what it is, somewhere to shower and sleep after a hard days hike you will probably end up coming back time after time because the setting is awesome.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,579 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
417 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing