We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Adequate. Staff Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have stayed at Yosemite Lodge several times. We have requested and stayed in the same building each time- I think it is the Acacia. The rooms were redone fairly recently, but still not fancy by any means. I believe they are deluxe rooms, so can't comment on the classic/regular rooms. The bathroom is basic, and as an other person said, the towels are rough. There are 2 queen beds in our room. There is a small refrigerator and FREE internet. We don't go there in the summer, so don't know how cool the room is.
The front desk people are great, and Philip remembers us. Staff in the cafeteria are helpful and the food decent. We also eat in the Mountain Room, which has good food, and pop over for lunch at the Ahwahnee for lunch in the Bar.
You really don't pay more for the location, as we have stayed at hotels outside the park which are just as pricey. You are in a National Park, and this hotel is comparable. Better than Old Faithful in Yellowstone, Mesa Verde Far View Lodge, and Grand Canyon Maswik Lodge. Prices are lower in the winter.

Room Tip: Acacia building is handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,792 - 2,798 of 3,928 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have stayed in 6-8 very similar places in various national parks. This, by far, is the most expensive - probably 2x the average price elsewhere. In short, it is what you would expect in a park: average facilities and run down rooms. That's fine if it is priced appropriately. No one stays in their room very long in a national park. It is beyond me to understand why yosemite lodge believes they are something special, worthy of a premium cost.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Although in a spectacular location next to the falls, the rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade. The bathroom is old and there was a hole in the shower. The towels were very old, small and rough. One of the window slats on the door was broken and we were woken in the middle of the night with the sound of a wild animal trying to get in, probably a raccoon but may have even been a bear, my husband had quite the shock. We were on honeymoon yet we were given 2 separate beds, we wish we had stayed at the Ahwahnee but the travel agent recommended this place. OK if you are looking for budget accommodation although the price is not quite so budget but expected better

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Would not recommend. Horrible value for your money. There were holes in the curtains and the bedding. The rooms were also extremely cold. The only positive is the location.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Place2rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were quite happy with our room at the Yosemite Lodge. Before arriving, I don't think I realized that this is not a single lodge, but many. The buildings are low, unobtrusive, and those with balconies and patios (the lodge rooms as they are called), have rooms that face either the parking lot, or nature. All rooms are not equal. I've read that some reviewers have been disappointed with their view. We did not know the difference, but when we arrived (early morning of the day of our stay), the helpful person at the desk suggest a room with a view. We did not mind the one flight up to the room. But, when requesting a room make sure you know you'll be asked to remove all items from your car (of bear interest), so carrying the bags up might be an issue for some. However, I believe they asked if we needed assistance.

The room was excellent, if not really old fashioned. I appreciated that the place was not junked up with too many things, and the furnishings were sturdy and practical. There was a nice alcove with the sink and ironing board, closet area and general dressing room, separated from the bedroom and view out. It was nicely designed, but as others have said, might benefit from a few newer things, like the sink. But, everything was perfectly adequate: the beds good, the shower superior. Given that it is a nice place to stay in the park, in a proper motel-type room with so many conveniences, this is a great deal. It's difficult to get a reservation, and we were lucky that a cancellation allowed us to stay one night. Nice place, and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYCMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My parents and I stayed at the Lodge in Yosemite this past Christmas (Dec. 22-25th, 2011) and we loved it! We got a handicap room since my mom has a really hard time getting around, and it was extremely large, with very comfortable beds and a really nice handicap shower that was sooo easy for my parents to use! (great relief!).

We had a nice view and even saw some squirrels outside our window!

Highly recommend the Lodge when staying in Yosemite!! We have stayed many times and have had GREAT experiences each and every time!

Room Tip: Rooms by the main registration building are fun to stay in because they are close to the Food Court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracidhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Reception were very slow, rooms were like being at school camp and had dead Mosquitos splattered all over the season which must have been there a while since we were there in December. Food was ok. Location is outstanding. Probably wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillipddawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,682 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
555 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $270 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing