We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

This is a purpose built B&B about 15 mins from the Valley. The building is stunning and beautifully decorated. It caters for about 6 people so is not crowded. The owner is extremely knowledgable about the park and will ensure you get the best from your stay. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the balcony watching the sunset on our last night. The breakfast will certainly set you up for the day! The only downside is that anyone with mobility difficulties may have a problem with the stairs to reach the guest floor.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank tannetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    18
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
97
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Montgomeryville, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

We were so happy with this bed and breakfast, and we would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a special place to stay while visting Yosemite National Park. The innkeepers, Bob and Karen, were extremely warm and welcoming. They helped us to customize a wonderful experience in the park that was suited to our desires and physical fitness levels. They have a passion for the park and the outdoors as demonstrated by their stories, their video collection, and their expansive travel book collection. Our room and bathroom were clean, quiet, and simple with a lovely view of the trees. The living room was homey and the balcony was the perfect place to relax after a long day of hiking. Karen made a hearty, yet healthy breafast and catered to all dietary requests. Add to that, the coffee was great! If we get to Yosemite again, we will most certainly stay at this B & B. In the mean time we encourage others to experience the special place!

  • Liked — innkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing stands out
  • Tips/Secrets — Note that multiple flights of steps must be climbed to reach the rooms so be prepared!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dfay18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed for two great nights at the High Sierra. Rooms were clean, tastefuly decorated and had good privacy. The sunset from the porch is not to be missed.

Since we had never been to Yosemite before, it wasn't until we got there that we realized how fortunate we were to be staying at a B&B instead of in the valley. The lodging choices there are camping, roach motel, or exteremely overpriced hotel (The Ahwahnee). While we would recommend a nice dinner at the Ahwahnee, renting a room for 400$ a night it just wouldn't have been worth it.

We found our B&B to be almost perfect, the only bad part was the 15-20 minute drive we had to make to get just about anywhere else. Still, that long drive meant peaceful tranquility from the masses, so not necessarily that bad.

We would definitely stay at the High Sierra again if we went back to Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JB_Chi-town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2006

How relieved we were after driving through (the very busy) Yosemite village to find the Yosemite High Sierra tucked away in the most serene and beautiful little part of the park.

Bob and Karen were just fantastic hosts and made our trip to Yosemite one of the highlights of our honeymoon. The accommodation was great, the hospitality was a home from home and who better to guide you through the extensive choice of hikes and things to see but the people who are lucky enough to live in this beautiful place.

We stayed an extra day and would love to re-visit Yosemite some day. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Thanks for the tip from Bob to watch the Country Music Awards... we loved it! (not ropey at all!)

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and great hosts
  • Disliked — hiking up lots of stairs after hiking all day!
  • Tips/Secrets — chat to Bob & Karen about where to go/what hikes to take
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Summer006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

I had a good experience staying here during my visit to Yosemite. Karen and Bob are very friendly. The room was nice and there is a great room with soda, tea, and more. The breakfast was fruit and a pancake, it was good but...... it upset my stomach both days and it took a week to recover and it is still trying to fully recover. The breakfasts are not cooked in the kitchen in the great room, you aren't allowed to cook with that one or use the microwave. There are always good conversations during breakfast with the other guests. You have to bring your own food unless you want to eat in the valley, which is about a 30 minute drive away. If you are there on Saturday, try the Wawona Hotel BBQ, it is very good. I might stay here again. I am not sure.

  • Liked — Away from the valley
  • Disliked — The breakfasts
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't eat the breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kd2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2006

We count ourselves very fortunate to have found Yosemite West High Sierra B&B. Bob and Karen and their wonderful family were so very accommodating to our own family of six, helping to making our trip to Yosemite our most memorable vacation ever.

The B&B itself is very welcoming. The beds and bedrooms were comfortable (we stayed in all three!), and the baths were spotless. Morning coffee on the deck was so peaceful, and breakfast each day was hearty and delicious! We took advantage of that time with Bob and Karen to learn more about all there is to do and see in the park. They helped us map out our hikes, bikes, and travels, which was especially helpful for first-time visitors. The daypacks in each of the rooms were very handy.

Returning to the relaxing great room (with books, videos, maps--and Oreos!) was so great for winding down at the end of the day. Sunsets on the deck were spectacular.

We cannot recommend (and did not see) a better place to stay in Yosemite. Its proximity to Sequoia Grove, Wawona, Glacier Point, Yosemite Valley, Bridalveil Fall, and more just can't be beat. We truly enjoyed our (much too short!) stay at Yosemite West, and we will surely return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed here and were very pleased. Karen was very helpful with providing tips and hiking destinations. The accomodations were clean, spacious and comfortable. The view was breathtaking. We loved that the place was away from the valley and the breakfast was an added treat. While we were displeased with our inability to use a microwave/reheat food, the option to use a provided fridge/freezer space was helpful. My husband and I plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
17.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
7.4 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
14.5 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
12.9 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yosemite West High Sierra Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7460 Henness Ridge Rd, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Yosemite West High Sierra b&b
Yosemite West High Sierra Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing