We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Sage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Hilltop Cabins
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Foresta for 3 nights as part of our family's fortnight tour of California. It was perfect. The valley was staggering and Sage cabin was well-placed as a base and a great place to return to after a big day out. We most enjoyed climbing the Mist Trail. At the end of that superb day we came back, soaked in the hot tub and sat around the BBQ - in March. We all loved it and will go back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for a few days as our base in Yosemite after several days in San Francisco. It was a startling contrast to the hustle and bustle of the city and was so peaceful. I would make sure you get there the first time in the daylight however, as I think it would be hard to find in the dark. There is a full kitchen, nice comfy bed, and even a little porch and charcoal grill. You can see every star in the sky and hear only the crickets at night, no traffic. The only complaint I had was that there did not seem to be a lot of lighting at night and I wish I would have brought a little reading light to make reading easier before bed. TV is for DVD only, and internet access is slow but ok for checking emails, not for any downloading or sending pics or videos. Since the park is so spread out it was a centrally located as you get, and off the beaten path, and we were very happy with our choice to stay at hilltop cabins.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimcht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Most people have given good reviews of Sage and I would agree with all the positive comments, it is a lovely well kept cabin and great proximity to all the main sights. The fire had only just gone when we arrived, so it was sad to see all the blackened tree stumps, but also atmospheric and a reminder of how we have to take great care in the countryside. But I really wanted to add to the reviews that my husband and I had the most wonderful romantic evening lying in the hot tub drinking champagne and looking up at the dazzling Milky Way. You may think Sage is quite pricey, but no money can buy such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: preferred Sage to Lupin, a little more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our family had a great stay. The location is amazing - just 20 minutes to the valley floor but in a peaceful neighborhood of private homes. The cabin is not big but has all you need - comfy bed, large loft space for the kids and kitchen. Not a cheap stay but given where you are is worth it. Highly recommend. Only negative is loft ladder rails hurt adult feet and not enough paper towels. There are no shops/services nearby so be sure you have all you may need.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvs2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Really glad we stayed in Hilltop's Lupine Cabin rather than the way crowded valley. Hilltop cabins are 9 miles but at least 20 minutes from the valley. Foresta, where the cabins are located, is a very small collection of cabins and houses in the park. There are no other facilities in Foresta. The cabins are exceptionally nice by National Park standards; Extremely comfortable bed, full kitchen, air conditioning, great shower, quite clean and comfortable. There is no phone reception here or throughout most of the park. The tv is for DVDs only. Internet worked about half the time. For some reason the fire alarm went off periodically which Sue tried to fix right away for us. We grilled out 2 of the 4 nights we stayed which was nice. Did not use the hot tub. Our teenager enjoyed the loft for some privacy. Very quiet and peaceful under the stars at night. We love Yosemite and would definitely stay here again especially if traveling with more than a couple.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soontobeforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here last week for three nights. Let me say up front that the cabin was absolutely spotlessly clean! The bed was extrememly comfortable. We were lucky to have quiet neighbors who did not use the hot tub as we were in there every evening. The cabins are only about three feet apart. Sage is your best bet. Doesn't look out onto the burned-out forest. Very depressing to see that. Also I think SAGE is more private. The only con that could be easily rectified was that we ran out of dish soap and did not have enough towels. We had two towels each for three nights. One for the hot tub and one for the shower had to be used three times. I like clean towels and for the price we paid I would have expected two for each night. We had to call Sue for dish soap. Why not leave it under the sink. Who's going to walk away with dish soap? Come on! Be aware the internet is super slow and you will not get a phone signal at all. I am glad we stayed here. The Village is just jammed with people. This is a quiet respite.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank cruisingal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Some friends from Connecticut wanted to take a family trip to Yosemite. So we researched and found these cabins through Tripadvisor. They were everything we needed. Remote enough to feel like you were out in the wilderness, yet easily accessible. There were other cabins near but we felt it was very private. My friends had 2 children, 5 and 7. We rented both cabins. Each had a full kitchen and stocked with all the utensils and dishes you should need. There is a separate bedroom, a loft accessible by a ladder, and a pullout bed in the livingroom. We were minutes from the Yosemite Valley. The place was clean and up to date. My partner is not the camping kind so he insist on a private toilet, electricity, and a bed not a cot. We took advantage of the gas grill, one for each cabin. I love to grill so we grilled every day. We stayed there for 5 days and enjoyed our stay. I would definitely reserve these cabins again.

Room Tip: Both cabins are comfortable and identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAJFJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
8.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,902 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,656 reviews
13.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,188 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Hilltop Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Hilltop Cabins

Address: 1276 Dana Way, Foresta, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Family Lodging are located within the gates of Yosemite National Park in the tiny community of Foresta. It is hard to believe that such a quiet and peaceful place like this exists just fifteen minutes from the sometimes bustling Yosemite Valley.The cabins are very private. Even though the Sage and Lupin cabins are right next to each other they are oriented to maintain maximum privacy. Each cabin has 17-foot-tall wood beam ceilings with ceiling fans and lots of windows to take advantage of the beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. When you are at the cabins you can see the top of El Capitan, Yosemite's world famous 3000 ft tall granite cliff.Each cabin has a master bedroom with a comfy king-size bed and down comforter. They also have a full bath, full kitchen, and reading loft. Each cabin also has its own patio with a high quality Weber gas barbecue. Fantastic hiking and running trails with wildflowers, waterfalls, and wildlife can be accessed right from the cabins.The Sage and Lupin cabins are available for nightly rental and are have all the amenities: TV, telephone, DVD player, microwave, coffee grinder, and coffee maker. The cabins are heated in the winter by propane heaters that looks like a wood-burning stoves. Both cabins have air conditioning for your summer comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Foresta Hilltop Cabins Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing