We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice alternative to a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Vacation Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite Vacation Homes
Save
You added Yosemite Vacation Homes to your Saves list
Sussex, WI
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place had goods and bads. It is in the park, is between 30 - 40 minute drive from the Yosemite village (road has been under construction which can make the drive longer - obviously not owners fault). It is in a subdivision. There is housing construction going on in the subdivision. I think the driveway was my worse nightmare trying to back a full size van out past the other cars parked in the driveway. It is the upstairs of the owners home (not a good option for handicap accessiblity), owner was not home, but a list of who to call if problems is on the frig. Suite Sunshine is decorated cutely, the kitchen was fully stocked with utensils - wasn't missing much if anything and all was in good condition. Has dish washer, nice frig/freezer. Gas grill worked wonderfully. However, you must remove all of your trash when you leave, so you need to pack the garbage up in your vehicle and haul it out. Realizing you are in a park, you do expect some bugs and for the most part, place was bug free, however whoever cleans needs to dust out the cobwebs in the light fixtures and windows.

Payment was 50% down with a generous refund policy if you cancelled more than 30 days before planned stay. They do not take any credit cards, and prefer a check (I rarely travel with a checkbook on vacation).

Would recommend this to others and would probably stay there again should the occassion arise to be in Yosemite again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchingtotravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Charming, quaint, close to everything - - can even walk, quiet, absolutely enjoyable !
This was our second stay, so that pretty much tells you how much we like it !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

There appear to be few choices regarding staying in Yoemite ie limited accomodation within the valley -which apparently gets booked up early, or to stay outside of the park and travel in. So it was great to learn through Trip Advisor about rented accomodation within the park. We stayed in the duplex 'Suite Sunshine' which is located in West Yosemite which is a small community of private homes within pine woods. West Yosemite is a couple of miles from the turning to Glacier Point Road and about a 20 minute drive to Yosemite valley [which is a short journey given the immense size of Yosemite National Park].
Vacation Homes essentially advertises private homes for rental but note that there is no central office or contact - the contact is made directly with the owner so it is important that you keep a record of any correspondence between you and the owner and ensure contact leading up to your stay. Our owner was not set up to take any card payment so she had to set up a paypal account for our deposit and we paid the balance in traveller cheques. Suite Sunshine has two double bedrooms and a pull-out bed in the lounge. There are two bathrooms and kitchen. There appeared to be a laundry room/cupboard but it was padlocked but you may be able to have access to it if you ask the owner. There is also a small terrace with a big table and a BBQ. This is a lovely sun trap from lunch time . The owner is lovely and gave us some advice on which hikes to do first. There is a good library of guide books and maps which really helped our stay. Regarding shopping, it is wise to stock up on food and drink before you arrive since there is only limited provision in the park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

What a deligthful place to end a busy day touring. All the comforts of home. Doe and Chris go out of their way to make sure everything associated with your stay is taken care of in the best possible way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We have stayed at El Capitan View for the last two years while visiting Yosemite. The cabin is beautiful, very clean and located very conveniently to all Yosemite destinations.
The area is so peaceful it's a pleasure to return to after a day of sightseeing and hiking.
The cabin is stocked with everything you could possibly need, just bring your food and you're all set. The view of El Capitan from the back porch is amazing. Doe and Chris are wonderful hosts and have seen to your every need (games, books, binoculars, movies, kitchen items, etc). This is the only place we plan to stay for any visit to Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emptynest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We came here for our honey moon, the cottage is located in a nice town mariposa, CA. One thing you should know about this cottage is there is no central heat or air. There is wall units in every room. It was highs in the 60's and lows in the low 40's when we stayes so it was important to be able to use the heating.

Our first night I filled up the tub to take a hot bath after traveliing all day. The tub would NOT drain. I called owner, and she could not come out until the next day. Husband had to take his shower in backed up tub.

We noticed a few ants, and by the third day they were all over the food storage cupboard, counters and microwave. We had to clean out leaking bags of flour and sugar, that other people had left behind... we found some food that had expired in 2009! This seemed to help a little with the ants, but we still had to keep all our food in the fridge because they were all over the cabinets.

The next night, we lost all power as we were cooking dinner. We called the owner who told us to go buy candles. The whole town was blacked out and everything was closed. The people next door who are permanent residents gave us a candle and said the power goes out all the time and it is sometimes a day or more before it is restored. There was NO supply of candles or flashlights in the place! We spent the night without heat light or hot water, and it was terrible. We left the next morning and asked for a refund of the nights not stayed. No reply from owner so now dealing with the credit card company.

I would not reccomend staying here at ALL.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemiteClimber, Owner at Yosemite Vacation Homes, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
We are sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience and in all fairness you are not telling the whole story.

When you called that evening we offered to call a plumber who would come out to unclog the drain and you refused. We asked when the earliest was that we could get in the next day and you told us 10 am, we were there early at 9:30 am to see if we could help you out.

We are sorry about the ants. It is spring time and they do find their way in and we did not notice any after cleaning before you arrived.

The power outage was well out of our hands and was county wide affecting thousands of people and it did come back on later that night.

We were in constant contact with you after your stay about the refund and promptly refunded the $200 to your credit card. It does take several days to show up on your statement. We issued this refund even though we have a "No Refund" policy for conditions out or control.

We did everything in our power to try and make your stay enjoyable and will use this as a learning experience to help make our future guests stays even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

My husband and I needed to spend a few days in the town of Mariposa and decided that it would give us an opportunity to spend some time exploring the town while attending a weekend event. We decided to rent "Doe's Cottage" and not commute back to our home over an hour away (on mountain roads). The accommodation is a hidden Sierra treasure. The rental price is a bargain. The furnishings are charming and sweet. The sparkling kitchen has everything you need. The home was very clean and the bed was "snuggly" comfortable. The bedrooms are located on the opposite side away from the main street (more quiet!) I was concerned that the street would be too busy.................but traffic almost disappeared after 6pm. I mistakenly left my car interior light on and a neighbor walking by knocked on my door to let me know so that it wouldn't drain the car battery. She also wished me a nice weekend. Nice to feel that I was in a friendly neighborhood where the neighbors keep an eye on each other.
I enjoyed walking to the downtown area where there are good restaurants, coffee, local beer and wine tasting and a new bakery. The historic Mariposa County Courthouse and Museums were an added plus to my visit.
"Doe's Cottage" is great to stay at for any of the local events (Storytelling, Blues Festival...........) or you can drive to Yosemite National Park...............only 45 minutes away to it's entrance at Arch Rock.
It was wonderful to re discover the town of Mariposa.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forestafalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
13.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,407 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
4.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,309 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
8.0 mi away
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacati...
#5 of 25 in Yosemite National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Vacation Homes

Property: Yosemite Vacation Homes
Address: Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unique vacation homes and cabins that are located inside the entrance gates of Yosemite National Park.With long lines common now almost every day from April to October at the entrance gates you can beat the crowds by staying inside Yosemite Park! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Vacation Homes Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing