We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
35
6
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclouds restday hikingchaletyosemitevalleyhalfparkdomecalifornia
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 44 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Sage cabin on a recent trip to Yosemite. The cabin is located in Foresta - a very quick drive to the valley attractions. The cabin was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Everything that we needed was there, including pots, pans, salt/seasonings, towels and basic toiletries including shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The outdoor Jacuzzi was wonderful - it was situated in the backyard amongst a field of Lupine flowers. It's the perfect way to relax after climbing Half Dome!

I was a little hesitant about paying for the cabin in full before we arrived, but everything worked out just as it stated it would. No need to worry.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FRIENDinPA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

What an absolute delight! We consider ourselves fortunate to have experienced the beauty and magnificence of Yosemite in such a gorgeous accommodation. Set in the quiet surroundings of West Yosemite, a 25 minute drive from the bustle of Yosemite village, the property is a typical duplex style house of which the upper floor is the rental. It is a bit of climb up 34 steps to the front door from the car parking and then there are 10 more steps inside to the accommodation, but it is worth it.
The open plan reception/kitchen/dining area is spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. The bedrooms are a good size, each with its own en-suite – the master en-suite is very spacious – with comfortable queen beds in each.
There is loads of storage, but you may need to bring spare clothes hangers, there are only a few in the wardrobes.
It is somewhat remote but not too difficult to find if you follow the excellent directions Barbara provides but, if self-catering, you will need to shop before you get into the Park itself as there are very limited options once you get there – there are grocery stores in Wawona and Yosemite village but they can be pricey.
Be aware that there is no air-conditioning to the property but, even though it was quite hot when we were there in June the nights were cool enough to sleep comfortably.
There is a lovely small sun terrace leading from the living area – though we didn’t see the hummingbirds that previous guests had mentioned – shame!
We enjoyed every minute here. It is a great base for the park both to get out and about as well as to relax and enjoy the whole experience of Yosemite.

Room Tip: book early
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wal4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Firstly I would recommend additionally searching Tripadvisor under Hilltop Cabins as I think this is also the name of these group of cabins.
We stayed in Lupin cabin, part of Hilltop Cabins (4yosemite.com) for 3 nights of the end of May 2011. I could not recommend this cabin more - it was so perfect and serene, we loved it so much and didn't want to leave. A perfect base for discovering Yosemite and inside the park boundary. Privately owned by Sue, it is clean and nicely maintained, the cabin suits 2 perfectly but there is also a small cute loft area and I believe the sofa can be turned into a bed. The kitchen facilities are good, the bed is large and comfy, the views and windows are great - stargazing on the patio is a must at night. The hot tub is a lovely way to unwind after a day walking in Yosemite. There is a BBQ should you wish to use it. There was also a selection of the latest magazines (climbing, Time etc), a DVD player and some DVDs, board games and wifi. There is no television but this is to be expected in Yosemite - and who needs it anyway! Well done Sue - long may Hilltop Cabins continue in this very special part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelhols11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Dear Doe & Chris,
We very much enjoyed having your lovely, clean home to return to each day after hiking the trails in Yosemite. So much nicer than a hotel room. Your home is warm and inviting. Just like the two of you.

Our experience was a great one from the very beginning. You two were came across so warm and friendly on the phone. You made us feel welcome long before we arrived.

You seem to have thought of everything. The books and magazines you left for your guests to read were great, gave us a better idea of Yosemite and info we didn't have. We also enjoyed your husband's pictures (he is a great photographer). We learned about the "T" markings (found this in one of your books). It was very helpful in finding many of the trails. Also which trails to hike if you want to get away from the crowd. Like Lake Elizabeth, Lake May, and Lake Gaylor. Each with a beauty of their own.

Since we ate all our meals at your place it was thoughtful and considerate that you left some spices, condiments, etc. So thoughtful. Thank You.

Doe it was nice to meet you. You are as pretty as you are nice. We enjoyed our little visit with you.

We will be sure to spread the word to our friends and acquaintance's about what a score your place is.

Thanks again,
Bob & Irene Palmer
Kissimmee, Florida

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Reamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place had goods and bads. It is in the park, is between 30 - 40 minute drive from the Yosemite village (road has been under construction which can make the drive longer - obviously not owners fault). It is in a subdivision. There is housing construction going on in the subdivision. I think the driveway was my worse nightmare trying to back a full size van out past the other cars parked in the driveway. It is the upstairs of the owners home (not a good option for handicap accessiblity), owner was not home, but a list of who to call if problems is on the frig. Suite Sunshine is decorated cutely, the kitchen was fully stocked with utensils - wasn't missing much if anything and all was in good condition. Has dish washer, nice frig/freezer. Gas grill worked wonderfully. However, you must remove all of your trash when you leave, so you need to pack the garbage up in your vehicle and haul it out. Realizing you are in a park, you do expect some bugs and for the most part, place was bug free, however whoever cleans needs to dust out the cobwebs in the light fixtures and windows.

Payment was 50% down with a generous refund policy if you cancelled more than 30 days before planned stay. They do not take any credit cards, and prefer a check (I rarely travel with a checkbook on vacation).

Would recommend this to others and would probably stay there again should the occassion arise to be in Yosemite again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itchingtotravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews