We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Faithful Lodge frontier cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Since we knew we would not spend a lot of time in the cabin, we opted for a frontier cabin with bathroom. The cabin had one double and one single bed and very little room to move around. If three people stayed in this room, there would be no room for luggage. Expected rustic and that is what it was. The turnoff was that we spent the first hour killing spiders and the rest of the night wondering how many we hadn't seen. Luckily, we were not bitten during the night. If we were going to spend more than one night here, we would have asked to be moved. We spend the next two nights in a cabin at Canyon lodge. Much roomier. No bugs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellie973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 484 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I travel on a limited budget, and did not book early enough to get a cabin with a bathroom; however, the cabin was comfortable, and since I was not going to be there very much, I didn't mind using the bathroom down the road. The cabin had two double beds,, the one I slept in was very comfortable. It cost $69.00 per night with a small utility fee added. There was a sink with soap, shampoo, and body lotion. I was a mere few hundred feet, or meters for those of you using metric, away from the main lodge with a cafeteria with excellent food. The Lodge Cafeteria has the only view of Old Faithful in the Park, so it was fun to have something to eat and watch the eruption. The trails to the Upper Geyser Basin are easily accessable also. Internet service is available, for a price, at the Snow Lodge which is a short walk away. The traffic patterns at Old Faithfull are a bit confusing, There is also a bit of a sulphur smell all the time, but not that unpleasant - after all, you are staying on top of an active volcano. The staff at Old Faithful Lodge could not have been nicer, or more helpful, and I would recommend staying there for anyone traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuntieM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in a Frontier cabin with a bathroom, Small but all we needed. 90% of the stay was sight seeing not spending time in a room. Loved the location right beside old faithful, Plus right next to General Store, and visitor center.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The duplex cabins are all grouped close together. Mine was furnished with a double bed and a very small desk. There was a fan and a built-in heater. In no way do the cabins encourage you to linger, but they were clean with some rustic charm. The benefit to staying here is the geyser basin is literally at your doorstep. The main lodge building is very attractive with a great porch with rocking chairs for viewing Old Faithful. There is also a good cafeteria. I thought the food here was better than the food at the Dining Room of the Old Faithful Inn. The front desk was also very informative and helpful about park activities and local trails.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in a Frontier Old Faithful Lodge Cabin for the third time this Summer, this time for 9 nights. We have found these cabins to be excellent value for money and their location so close to Old Faithful Geyser and Upper Geyser Basin outweighs the fact that the accommodation is a bit basic. The Frontier cabins have a tiny bathroom with the sink in the main cabin and the shower was very good. The cabins are not large with very little storage space, but they are perfectly adequate as a place to sleep which is all you really need. The Old Faithful Lodge and the Inn itself are so close you can spend your time there when not exploring the park. The cabins are in blocks of 2 or 4 and the walls are thin so noisy neighbours can be a problem but we did not have too many problems.
The bed was quite comfortable although small and the heating unit kept the room at a good temperature in the very cold days at the start of our stay. We didn't appreciate until our longer stay this year that there is no real housekeeping service in the cabins. Towels will be changed on request and linen every 4 days but the room didn't appear to be cleaned at all during our stay and the bed was straightened but not properly made up. We felt that this level of service should have been made clear but that was our only real quibble with the cabins.
If you like spacious rooms and coffee makers etc this is probably not for you but if you just want a cheap place to sleep in a superb location this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosiepDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in a cabin with bathroom in July 2012, 2 adults. I couldn't believe how close the cabins were to Old Faithful - what a terrific location. We could visit Old Faithful and the Upper Geyser Basin without needing to get into the car both at dawn and dusk - and we even joined other families heading to OF to watch it go up in the dark. Small, with a double bed, cabinet and bathroom, the cabin was everything we needed for a convenient stay. It was clean and no air con, but there are windows with nets on so you can open them easily. We saw a bison only a few hundred foot down the hill so do look before you race out of your cabin in the morning!
Other info: parked next to the cabin. Ice opposite. Visited Old Faithful Lodge itself to admire the lounge area, the coffee bar and then have huckleberry ice cream on the chairs on the porch to watch OF (again!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhols11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had researched the cabins in Yellowstone before reserving a room (as everyone should) and I was very pleased with my choice. We were closer to Old Faithful than I expected, which also meant that we were close to Old Faithful Inn, Snow Lodge, General Store, etc. Just a great location! The room was small but very clean and comfortable. We had a cabin with a bathroom and we had a problem with the stool one morning. We reported it and it was repaired very quickly.
Because the location was so good, we ate at a different place almost every meal the two days we were at Old Faithful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyedyeslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
21.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,161 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,025 reviews
14.3 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
716 reviews
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
784 reviews
19.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Lodge Cabins

Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Faithful Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Faithful Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing