We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good!”

Wylie's Canteen at Lake Lodge
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Newly remodeled and open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Offers a selection of burgers including beef from local rancheres, farm-raised bison, Red Bird Chicken, Wild Alaskan Salmon, and Beyond Meat. Choose from an assortment of sides including our hand-cut fried and Brocolli Tempura. At dinner enjoy our Housemade Fried Chicken or a Lobster Roll. Assorted salads available at lunch or dinner! Before or after dinner, take some time to reflect on the day in front of one of the two fireplaces in the Lake Lodge, or in a rocking chair on the large porch. Cap it off with a specialty drink from the convenient Lodge Lobby Bar located just outside Wiley’s Canteen entrance!
Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

I expected only cafeteria food and was pleased. I had turkey with stuffing and mashed potatoes with green beans and found everything to my satisfaction!

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank jesseo582
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 646 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2016

They can do better. The food here was awful. I don't have words to describe just how terrible the food was here. DO NOT EAT HERE. The staff is lovely but the food is beyond awful. Oh, and did I say, it ain't cheap either.

We stayed at the cabins behind Lake Lodge. Great experience. Do yourselves a favor, before you come to Yellowstone, stop at a grocery store. Buy a cooler and bring food. You can purchase ice in the store down by the lake. I also got a small charcoal grill. We ate steaks, lamb chops, hot dogs..., grilled veggies, wonderful food. We also ensured we brought breakfast fixings (yogurt, fruit, cereal/milk). There is no cooking in the cabins. But you can use your own grill outside of the cabins. DO NOT eat at the Lake Lodge Cafeteria. Shameful.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank DebbieO582
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016

We had a buffalo burger and it was delicious, also the drinks were very good. The just had the opening the day we went and it was so crowded but we still had good service and I have to tell you for a restaurant in the middle of Yellowstone Park, that was not expensive at all!

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Gbt1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2015

We decided to try breakfast here to give our wallets a break from the Lake Yellowstone Hotel breakfast buffet. It's a very short drive for basic breakfast for at a good price. The breakfast burritos were real good and there a line formed at the counter for that one item on the the two occasions we ate there. If you have children, this is where you should dine for breakfast.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Travelvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2015

Nice lake view, bison meatball OK, warm cafeteria. Definitly not an exceptionnal experience, but if you want to dine inside, good choice (better than the Grant Village Lake House!)

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arvilima
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wylie's Canteen at Lake Lodge also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Wylie's Canteen at Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.