We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice alternative” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Lodge Cafeteria

Lake Lodge Cafeteria
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

One evening when we couldn't get into the main dining room we tried the cafeteria. The food was good and reasonably priced, and the environment was rustic and well maintained. One problem to keep in mind - if you have a lactose intolerance or require gluten-free food you will have a very limited selection.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    168
    142
    64
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Holy empty wallet Batman”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We went to the Lake Lodge Cafeteria for breakfast on our last day in Yellowstone. The breakfast was decent. I had a frittata that was pretty tasty and my kids liked the french toast. However, I could have eaten at the Ritz Carlton dining room for the price we paid for a couple entrees, two milks, two coffees, some oatmeal and three fruit cups. It was over F-I-F-T-Y dollars. I know they have a captive audience in the park but that just seemed like gouging. If you stay bring your own cereal and a cooler with milk. I thought my husband's eyes were going to pop out of his head when we slid our plastic trays up to the check out. The "cafeteria" isn't a catchy retro name. It's actually a cafeteria - just like the ones in your children's school. Not worth it!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good option with plenty of choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We chose to eat here - although even as residents at the Hotel we might have had to anyway because of the ridiculous reservations policy -- and liked the choice, quality and atmosphere. Good value too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris201454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
281 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Decent daily selections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

They do vary the menu each day so that you can try a few different things. They keep some standards on the menu too if you find something you like. Comfortable seating and you can't beat the view from the dining hall!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great option for travelers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Good food, no lines, pleasant atmosphere, locally prepared food. Don't let the idea of "cafeteria" scare you off. It just means that you don't have to have reservations or wait for service. We ate breakfast every day here, and it was great. The prime rib dinner is also excellent. How lucky to have a place to eat that isn't over crowded nor requires reservations. The Lake Lodge is a special place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank akuaSaintPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Lodge Cafeteria also viewed

 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lake Lodge Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing