We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Lodge Cafeteria

Lake Lodge Cafeteria
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

During our visit to Yellowstone, we happened on the Lake Lodge Cafeteria at dinner time. It is what it is, a cafeteria. However, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the views of the lake from the large windows were quite nice, and the food was really quite good. I enjoyed the turkey dinner with all the fixings and was pleasantly surprised at just how good it was. The prices were reasonable too, considering where you are.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    168
    142
    64
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Warmed over cafeteria from the 70's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Not many other choices for dining in the area so be happy with what you get. Very salty food and outdated food choices. Extremely slow lines. Wouldn't recommend, but again what else are you going to eat?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank berricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Lake Lodge Cafeteria had prime rib or turkey plates available. Also, a large selection of salads, and drinks. And, the food was also great for the kids.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We at at the lake lodge after my son caught a lake trout on the lake. The guide cleaned it for us and told us if we brought it here, they would cook it. The chef came out and spoke with us to find out how we'd like it cooked. He made a large platter with the fish and salad. It also came with 2 sides all for $6.50 ($10.50 at dinner). I had the open faced turkey sandwich and my husband had a chicken pot pie. We shared a brownie. The price was a little high for the non fish entrees, but the views from the restaurant were wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank linochat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Georgen im Attergau, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What will you expect?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you do not have a lot of expectations it is OK. The pricing is moderate, the food quaity is just OK. You still have to use some disposables, but it is better than in most other simillar places. Water is free, but you have to figure out, how to fill a glas. Portions are small but for small hunger OK.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas1968_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Lodge Cafeteria also viewed

 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lake Lodge Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing