We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A variety of thermal activity”
Review of Lower Geyser Basin

Lower Geyser Basin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,098 reviews
566 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“A variety of thermal activity”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A good place to stop to experience a variety of thermal activity from Great Fountain Geyser that is continually spurting water into the air to the Mud Pots that are contantly bubbling away. Perhaps not as picturesque as some of the other basins but a wonderful place nonetheless. The boardwalk takes around 20-30 minutes including picture stops.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    42
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“steady geyser and great paint pots”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Fountain Geyser goes and goes and goes and goes. You don't have to wait an hour to see some action.
And there's a beautiful blue-green pool to admire, followed by two sets of bubbling mud pots - the kind that will have blooping bubbles regardless of when your camera clicks. Great short walk with lots of the Yellowstone experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Beauty is everywhere in Yellowstone and Lower Geyser Basin is no different. A place to see.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ERJLG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice detour”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Its good to see both upper and lower basins.The water flows really up close and can be scary.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank fluggast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seeing the fountain paint pots & active geysers was such an interesting experience.”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Although we had less than 24 hours to visit Yellowstone we were so glad that we did. We know that we were only able to hit a couple highlights in the massive park, but we were so glad to see the things we did. The fountain paint pots had such gorgeous colors and so unlike anything we've ever seen before!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Geyser Basin also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lower Geyser Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing