We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wished we had stayed here!

This historic inn is massive and beautiful! Wish we could have see one of the hotel rooms. Loved... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
C W
,
Orange County, California
This is a must see

This historic lodge is a must see. It is built entirely from huge logs. The craftsmanship is... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
DrDadrwp
,
Modesto, CA
via mobile
Read all 923 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Yellowstone National Park
from $260.00
More Info
from $250.00
More Info
from $700.00
More Info
from $47.00
More Info
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveler rating
508
240
64
21
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
240
64
21
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room free tour west wing huge fireplace main lobby log structure amazing building old faithful private bath beautiful architecture beautiful hotel lobby area snow lodge gift shop general store viewing area geyser basin
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 836 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This historic inn is massive and beautiful! Wish we could have see one of the hotel rooms. Loved walking around the lobby and the upper levels, and watching people. The balcony viewing area is nice! Missed having a drink or an ice cream treat!

1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Lodge itself was full but we managed to reserve one of the Lodge's cabins at old faithful. The cabin was very small, they were divided into 4 guest accommodations with paper thin walls. Each did have their own bathroom, but the sink was outside the bathroom. One could literally brush ones teeth from the bed. It was clean but for $180/ night not a bargain for a bed with a roof.

Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This historic lodge is a must see. It is built entirely from huge logs. The craftsmanship is incredible and you can see the entire place without paying to stay there.

Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are going to Yellowstone - stay in the park if you can. You will save so much driving time and get to see so much more. The OFI is wonderful. A historical place and absolutely beautiful. Remember there is no AC or TV's in any of the park lodges. They do have fans for the rooms if you need one.

1  Thank PTOGreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

My husband and I fell in love with the wooden architectural details of this 1903 building. We did not stay in the Inn overnight, therefore did not see the individual rooms, but the open "atrium" area was incredible.

1  Thank kppeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Beautiful both inside and out is is beautiful with lots of wood used in its construction. Facilities are first class you can get a snack here or dinner.

1  Thank maureenlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Yes it is expensive for what it is and the room you get but wow what an amazing hotel to stay in. Easy access to the geyser and can go out 8n evening and get a great view of the stars. Room itself was basic but very nice.

Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

This is an Historic Inn and as such when they renovated certain compromises had to be made. I get that. That did a good job of keeping with the historic appearance of the Inn but whoever laid out the rooms in the West Wing had absolutely no clue what they were doing. They put a HUGE oversized Bathroom Vanity in the middle of the room so there was only about a foot of space between the foot of the bed and the Vanity. You literally have to turn sideways to squeeze past. And we are not Large people so I can't imagine what anyone of any size or overweight would have to do. Plenty of space in the corners or over by the door to put it but nope, we are putting right here! The room cleaning staff is absolutely worthless. Some days (we were there for 6 nights) we would have Coffee but no Tea, sometimes no Coffee or Tea. Sometimes they would leave the dirty glasses and Mugs and not leave clean ones and sometimes they would leave both the dirty ones and clean ones and sometimes take the dirty ones and not leave clean ones. One day I know I closed my laptop before I left but it was open and my mouse was on the opposite side of the table. Wanted to love this place due to its Historic Nature but just could't do it. If it weren't for it being historic my rating would have been a 1.

Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We stopped there on our visit to Old Faithful and was very impressed. The restaurants offered great variety of food and open hospitality excellent. We didn't stay there but enjoyed the building and its amenities very much. It would be a great place to stay and use as a travel base for a few days.

Thank Sharlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Only took about an hour for our host to whisk us through the mammoth structure, inside and out, but every minute was as revelation even though we thought we knew the place. Made our stay memorable in another way.. Free, and offered several times each day. Not much walking if that is a concern. As Nike says, just do it. You will appreciate this treasure een more.

Thank 599tomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews