We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly very good.”

Mammoth Hot Springs Dining Room
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
966 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 745 helpful votes
“Mostly very good.”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The food and service are very good, and that's the most important thing. I have only small suggestions regarding service. One regards the fact that servers seem to have spread-out, non contiguous stations. The server we had twice was remarkably good, but obviously harried as he hurried to service tables in two distinct areas, overlapped by two other servers. The other suggestion concerns the role of floor managers. You are there to oversee the dining room to assure that issues are quickly resolved by appropriate personnel, and to supervise subordinates. Unless Xanterra has peculiar job descriptions, you are not there to bus and serve. Why bring this up? Managers bussing and serving does not speed things up. It contributes to more issues requiring resolution and slowed service.
Anyway, my only real ongoing issue with this place is that the Art Deco decor is a little disconcerting and seems out of place. However, I've never noticed that it impacted my appetite. We hope to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    383
    153
    55
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mammoth dining”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My visit was with a Yellowstone Association winter package--and several times I dined with other members of my group. The bison burger was nicely presented and good. Also I enjoyed the tomato asiago cheese soup. For breakfast, the egg white omelet was good. Others in my
group had similar comments, they did say that the breakfast buffet needed some variation
instead of the identical offerings every day. The servers I dealt with were very good--cheerful,
pleasant, and prompt. Our group dined there for breakfast and dinner. Menu items were a little pricey, in the summer there is a less expensive alternative in the same building as the dining
room.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A little expensive, but decent meals”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The chef really tries with the menu. I enjoyed the Bison sirloin. Only one dish disappointing. Breakfast is standard if you do the buffet, but I had the package that included breakfast and tried different dishes. The huevos rancheros were well done as was the bison hash.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“When there is no other choice”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Food was lousy. They were out of most menu items and what they did have wasn't good. Clerks could care less. Place was packed with people and tables weren't cleared. Best advice bring a sandwich of your own.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florabunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

When staying in the winter at mammoth, this is really your only choice if you don't have a car.

The majority of the staff was kind and friendly. The gentleman that filled our water for most mornings and evenings was so nice and prompt the entire dinner/breakfast. We also had a waiter that looked like he had either been up all night, or was on drugs. He messed up our orders, his hands shook when he placed our plates and he was unable to make eye contact.

Highlights: New Year's Day breakfast buffet was wonderful! They should have this buffet at all times! The fruit/granola parfaits, omelet station, assorted fruit, chocolate bread pudding, eggs, meats, and more! Nicely done.

We also enjoyed items for dinner. The meat/cheese platter was good, goat cheese salad, bison burgers, bison tacos, and fish were all good.

The prime rib lacked flavor, meats were undercooked, most of the food was just average.

I think part of the higher prices are due to the organic, grass-fed produce/meat. However, the flavors should be much improved!

So... Eat here a few times, and take the car (if you have one) into Gardiner for some cheaper prices and decent food. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cvkevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Hot Springs Dining Room also viewed

 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing