We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Mammoth Hot Springs Dining Room
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I only had the buffet breakfast at Mammoth Hotel Dining Room. We really should know to check out buffets before choosing the buffet over ordering from a menu but I guess we forgot and we paid the price.

Considering the lousy selection and poor quality of buffet items, it was overpriced at $11.95 per person. We've had much better breakfast buffets at chain motels and paid nothing.

Service was OK. Atmosphere was fine but nothing special. There wasn't a view from where we were sitting.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    358
    140
    44
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
319 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Not Very Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Limited choices, not well presented not good value for money

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes
Level Contributor
413 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Perfection in food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our only adress while sleeping at mammoth hotels.
The only adress in yellowstone without complains :
- about food : all was delicious and choice is large;
- about service : attentive, with smiles, not too fast and no waiting time...
Perhaps the "key" is the presence of the manager during the meals, manager who helped his staff if necessary...
Even the breakfast are nice here...
Highly recommanded...

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

No breakfast at our motel in Gardiner, so we thought we'd try the dining room in the park. The pancakes with pecans was enjoyable and filling. I had the short stack and probably could not have finished a tall stack order. Good coffee too! Good service from a young girl working the summer in the park. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AirchairExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
383 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“good creative food, family friendly, quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our extended family of 13 enjoyed a very nice dinner at Mammoth Hot springs. Reservations are not accepted, so arrive before 630pm to avoid a wait. We arrived at 530 and were quickly seated, with two adjoining tables and the same server (who was knowledgeable, efficient, and friendly). The dinner entrees are different at the Yellowstone restaurants even though Xanterra runs them all (kids & dessert menus are the same). One nice thing about Mammoth is that small plate dinners are offered, and the portions are fine for most people (but not my teenage son or husband after a busy day of hiking). My father-in-law enjoyed bison tacos and my mother-in-law enjoyed her fish tacos-both had nice soft tortillas & tasty fillings. My daughters split the vegetarian lasagna roll-ups off the adult dinner menu and LOVED them-not a bite was left. My preteen & teenage sons scarfed down their bison burgers. I liked my chicken with brie & huckleberry sauce-I usually do not order chicken when I eat out, but I love brie--it was very tasty. My husband & brother-in-law enjoyed their elk steaks, and my dad & sister-in-law liked their nut-crusted fish. The desserts are good-the same as other places, although each restaurant offers one unique dessert-we tried the housemade truffles-one slice of huckleberry chocolate truffle & one peppermint with a scoop of chocolate ice cream...yummy!
We did not have a window view of the terraces, but in the parking lot we saw many elk and drove closer to watch their antics. We will definitely return here the next time we visit Yellowstone.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Hot Springs Dining Room also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing