We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, amazing staff”

Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
243 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing staff”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Since we stayed at the cabins just a few steps down, naturally, we had our meals at the lodge. I am very pleased with the diverse offerings of this restaurant as well as the prices. I thought we would have been gouged with prices, but to my surprise (and delight), they're price very well. What's more, you get plenty for your money, very hearty proportions.

If dining here, definitely try the bison burger...juicy, slightly pink with caramelized mushrooms and onions on top. Apparently, bison meat is also healthier than beef (who knew). I found the staff to be quite professional and ready to attend to your needs. What's even more neat is most of them come from different parts of the States as well as the world. They do a really amazing job.

Afterwards, have a glass of port and sit on the rocking chairs as you watch the stars pop out one by one in the big open sky.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    188
    75
    26
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Yellowstone”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Our first night in Yellowstone was spent at Roosevelt and the restaurant certainly did not disappoint in terms of both food and service. Nice atmosphere with friendly staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickinblackUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rustic place”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very nice place with a cabin/lodge charm about it. It's far from most other touristy scenes which is nice and the food is very good. The bison burger was slightly under cooked, but when cooked through, it tasted great. The fish was also great tasting and all the portions are large. The cost starts at $15 and a typical dinner is about $25. Very good service and we highly recommend this place. We saw a black bear and her two cubs just past the parking lot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 767flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Much enjoyed”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is a throwback to the old tourism days of Yellowstone. It has a great feel to it, the food is hot and tasty and the students, most of whom seem to be American, unlike other places in Yellowstone, were quick on their feet and helpful. But the best part is the rocking chairs on the deck outside. Could have sat there and rocked that view for hours.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RTovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“horseback riding to cookout”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It was a fun way to spend an evening. Nothing too exciting at the cook out but the ride was fun and scenery nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pgalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room also viewed

 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing