We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Old Faithful”
Review of Fountain Paint Pot

Fountain Paint Pot
Book In Advance
More Info
$260.00*
and up
Yellowstone Lower Loop Full-Day Tour
More Info
$265.00*
and up
Yellowstone National Park Tour from Jackson
More Info
$305.00*
and up
Full-Day Yellowstone Wildlife Safari Tour From Jackson Hole
Severn, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Close to Old Faithful”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is near Old Faithful, so if you have time, it's worth the stop. Colors, steam, geothermal activity - overall another interesting sight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    73
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Everything in One Place”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

In a relatively short walk, you can see small geysers, fumaroles (loud steam vents), mud pots, and boiling springs. There is plenty of parking. We saw a bison walking down the street next to the parking lot which made it extra fun.

This is not far from the star attraction: Old Faithful, so it is easy to get to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cool to visit if in the area.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a lengthier walk than advertised. It was a nice walk but kind of hot. Also, I didn't think that we saw anything special that we couldn't see in another thermal basin in the park. I would only stop here if I was in the area and had plenty of time to kill.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RileyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Surprising Gem Among Gems in Yellowstone Park”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited the Fountain Paint Pot Location in Yellowstone Park as part of a 13-night Globus bus tour from Rapid City to Las Vegas. With Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, and hundreds of wildlife viewed from afar and close-up, our visit was already a smashing success. This turned out to be our last major stop before heading south toward the Tetons, and what a surprise -- it was really worth the time to see it!

Located in the lower Geyser Basin on the west side of the Grand Loop, at first blush the site looked very much like so many other places we had seen in the park -- open spaces with steam rising out. But as you follow the boardwalk loop around the half-mile track, you are treated to examples of every type of thermal activity found in Yellowstone. The 90 minutes or so we spend there turned out to be among the most interesting we encountered anywhere in Yellowstone Park.

If you are in Yellowstone and find yourself pressed for time (which I hope would not be the case), do yourself a favor and visit the Fountain Paint Pot site to see pretty much everything the park has to offer in terms of thermal activity in microcosm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sailawaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,671 reviews
1,104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,333 helpful votes
“Beautiful colors and active geyser”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fountain Paint Pots is located just above Firehole Lake Drive going toward West Yellowstone. It is a very busy area and parking can be a challenge. The pools are blue and the geyser was shooting spray when we were there. easy access from the parking lot via a boardwalk. A very nice basin without a long walk. There are three areas to visit...don't miss Biscuit; one of the best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain Paint Pot also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Fountain Paint Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing