We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Yellowstone National Park Tour from Jackson Hole
214

Book in advance
from
$379.50
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Hayden Valley
from $379.50
More Info
from $2,250.00
More Info
from $345.00
More Info
from $300.00
More Info
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveler rating
875
207
45
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
875
207
45
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bison grizzly bears beautiful area beautiful drive black beans wildlife road traffic park yellowstone dusk coyote ducks bulls cars viewing hundreds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

I drove through this valley several times. There are a lot of buffalo. I was trapped in the herd once in my car which is a real highlight. I had the window down and could hear all their noises as they moved along. I also saw elk once and a coyote. It’s crowded when the buffalo are near the road and also a lot of fun.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

We entered the park at the East Entrance on route to Gardiner for an over-night stop. Buffalo herds prevented any thoughts of a relatively quick journey north with time to stop at Mammoth! Rangers were present directing traffic but buffalo have right of way and despite all the warnings about keeping your distance from wildlife allowing young children out of the car when a herd is clearly in the process of crossing is the height of stupidity. Even if they are not that near to your car it is suprising how the odd stray can suddenly appear leaving you in no doubt how big they are and how quickly they can move. It is wonderful to see them and better still if you can get out early before the crowds when you may have the opportunity to pull over and watch and better still photograph them from a safe distance.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank gillkaribu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Hayden Valley is amazing. It has gorgeous meadows with the river running through it. It has a geyser area that is very interesting, And lots of wildlife. We experienced two "buffalo jams" here. They were right by the road.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Hayden and Lamar valleys are renowned for watching buffalos, deers and other animals roaming freely in the wild at the park. I have been told that they usually come out at dawn and dusk. Although we have not had the chance to visit Lamar valley, we had a chance to see wildlife while driving close to Hayden valley. People seem to slow down and take lots of pictures. The buffalos seemed quiet and sleepy, but the park rangers strongly forbid the visitors to approach them. They can jump six feet high and run 35 miles an hour. Actually I saw a painting in Buffalo Bill museum depicting how an Indian hunter became hunted by a large buffalo.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Cssserious I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

Lots of Bison, Elk, and other wildlife visible from the road. Make sure you keep a camera handy! Critter can appear at anytime.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Kam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews