We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hayden Valley - wildlife viewing”
Review of Hayden Valley

Hayden Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$260.00*
and up
Yellowstone Lower Loop Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pearl, MS
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hayden Valley - wildlife viewing”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Hayden Valley is worth your time to view wildlife, this was the only place we spotted a bear during our time in Aug 2013. However Do Not Miss the Lamar Valley as this will be your best bet to see the vast variety of wildlife roaming the park. Remember to go early 6:00am-8:00am for best viewing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    131
    30
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great wildlife”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We got to see numerous bisons, large number of deers, birds and two grizzly bears. The valley itself was also beautiful. I heard that the best times to visit were dawn and late afternoon. We went there late afternoon and saw great wildlife. You don't get to see as many animals in the noon however.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AniG8613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Stunning.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hayden valley is home to Bison herds and other wildlife and offers stunning views across the valley as the Yellowstone River meanders through. We drove through at sunset and the early evening light turned the valley golden while Bison drank from the blue waters. Enjoy !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gomms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Go Early”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hayden Valley is best at sunrise, it is truly spectacular especially with the Yellowstone River wending its way lazily through the country side the steam drifting off and up causing misty morning sunrises.Hayden Valley can feast of famnin for wild life finding. A great place to see Bison and if your lucky River Otters, Grey Wolves and bears. LeHardy Rapids are wonderful, scenic, photogenic and a great area for birds. We had a pinic lunch packed for us by the dining room at the Mammoth HotSprings Hotel we had a pinic lunch at Le Hardy Rapids. Just as we were settling in for a peaceful lunch a heard of bison about 300 yards from us decided to take a swim across the stream it was a beautiful site all 30 entered the water two at a time in a straight line and swam to the other side. A very memoriable that will never be forgotten.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank starsweptsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great viewing”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Travelled this road a number of times during our 4 night stay in YNP, made a special effort on the 2nd September to get up early and get out and about for wildlife spotting.

We were rewarded with;
Several small herds of Bison
Grizzly bear wandering along the other side of the Yellowstone River
Couple of female Elk
Mule Deer
Swans
Two Wolves, who jumped out into the road in front of us before jumping straight into the woods at the other side of the road as we were southbound and nearly at Fishing Bridge :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AHWBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hayden Valley also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Hayden Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing