We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Prismatic Spring and Hiking!”

Midway Geyser Basin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Grand Prismatic Spring and Hiking!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This area affords gorgeous thermal features like Grand Prismatic Spring and Excelsior Geyser. If you want an flat hike Fairy Falls is worth the time. Great views of thermal areas!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    89
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Dramatic”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The runoff from the geysers and pools streaming into the Firehole River is beautifully dramatic! It was somewhat crowded the day we visited, maybe because it was mid-afternoon and the sunlight enhances the experience, as the colors are more vivid. One hour was more than enough time to see it all.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank maryf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of our favorite basins”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved this one and the Black Sand the most! The colors from the pools are just gorgeous! The shape is quite interesting too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HC0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Essential Stop, only wish it was "wild"”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Busloads of people even on a not-so-busy day. Hit the visitors center first to check the geyser forecasts and plan your day around that. The view of Old Faithful is much better from the overlook trail, or the second story terrace at the Old Faithful Inn than it is at the benches right next to the geyser. Castle is much more impressive so be sure to check out that on. Beehive is probably my best so be sure to check that one out if you are lucky enough to see it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Midway Geyser Basin”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This we drove past and I had no idea it was even there...except that, out of the corner of my eye, I saw all this water rushing down into the river. I had to turn around and see what this was all about. OMG, I am so glad I did. Absolutely beautiful!!! I forget now how many thousands of gallons of boiling water rushes out of this Geyser and into the river but it's enough to change the temperature of the river. It's a must see!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midway Geyser Basin also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Midway Geyser Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing