We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cascade Lodge A Good Place To Land” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cascade Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascade Lodge
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Cascade Lodge A Good Place To Land”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

On our two-day drive through Yellowstone in July, we spent one night at Canyon Lodge in the Cascade Lodge building. We paid a premium price for this very basic room, but the location is well worth that price. If you really want to see all the highlights of Yellowstone, you should allow a minimum of one full day for the upper loop drive and a second full day for the lower loop. The location of Canyon Lodge enables you to drive these routes see the major sights without a lot of backtracking and extra driving.

Check in was quick and friendly. Note....The registration office and dining areas are being reroofed, and the construction barricades and equipment are not pleasant. This is only a problem outside the buildings...parking, walking around. Once inside, everything is as usual. We enjoyed a great meal at the Canyon Lodge Restaurant as well as a quick breakfast the next morning in the adjacent cafeteria.

As mentioned, the rooms in Cascade Lodge are very basic...no phone, television or elevator. They do, however, provide a hair dryer, coffee maker and the cutest bear shaped soap! We would definitely recommend staying here if you want a clean, convenient place in the park to spend a night or two.

Room Tip: The third floor might be quieter, but keep in mind that there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Onthelake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Rooms were ready when we arrived (early). However we were delayed getting into them (actually the whole lodge) as we had to wait for the bison to move away from the front door before we could go in! It was a great welcome and the kids loved it! The room was others as described and was very clean. Our room was on the first floor looking into the woods with a stream. We were also near the ice machine but we never heard any noise from there or any other rooms around or above us. Was a great night sleep on very comfortable beds and with the stream outside. Wished we had spent more than one night-well worth every penny! Everyone at the Canyon Lodge was also great and very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for two mights in Cascade Lodge on the 3rd floor (room 307). This room had two double beds, a small round table, nightstand, and dresser with a coffee maching. We overlooked the woods which made for a very quiet stay. We didn't hear any noises from adjoining rooms, even though the lodge was full. As others have noted, the check in is in the village and in the lodge there are only rooms and a vending maching. Dunraven is right next door and has additional vending machines (according to my 11 year old). We went to the ampithether for a talk on Bison, a national treasure and there was no electricity when we retured that night, although the lights in the hallways were well lit. Our clue was that the emergency exit doors were all closed (and there were no lights in the room). They provide coffee and tea for the coffee maker and shampoo, soap and moisturizer (but no conditioer) for your shower. In summary, there was nothing dothing dramatic but it was a nice place to stay that is centrally located, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank jjdm922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The amazing Old Faithful Inn was a hard act to follow, but the Cascade Lodge was a suitable second act for us in Yellowstone during our June 2011 trip. You just can’t beat the Canyon area’s central location in regards to the entire park.

Right off the bat, you’re happy to be assigned to Cascade/Dunraven once you realize you’re not staying in those rustic (decrepit looking) cabins. The check-in process over at the main complex was relatively painless (be prepared for a line and know the check-in clerks, mostly college-age kids from all over the U.S., are cranking as fast as possible).

Standard clean motel/hotel room, roomy enough, well-lit hallways. Affordable. Tucked just behind the convenient Canyon Village complex and Visitor Center. This is where we slept for 3 nights and one afternoon nap (after we got back from a 6 a.m. Wake Up to Wildlife bus tour). … That’s all we needed – a clean, quiet room, no TV, nothing fancy at all. We got what we paid for. Cascade Lodge served its purpose.

Room Tip: You do not get a choice between Cascade and Dunraven when you make your reservation. You get assigne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MinivanMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Opting to stay in one place for all 10 days of our Yellowstone trip was a considered decision....we wanted centrality of location, comfort, atmosphere, and the usual cleanliness, quiet, and efficiency. Though price was of some concern, we chose a Canyon Village lodge (instead of the cheaper cabins) to find all of the above, and we weren't disappointed. Room #109's windows opened onto a truly babbling brook, (frequented by the above-noted bison), and offered the most privacy with its end-of-hall location. Certainly not luxurious, but solidly furnished in "pioneer modern" woods with rustic woolen blankets, it featured a perfectly adequate bathroom and passable beds. The lack of good indoor light could have been a problem had the weather throughout our September stay not been more conducive to hiking than reading. In any place other than the national park system, I might have labelled the room "overpriced", but here, apparently it's a seller's world.

Room Tip: Definitely room #109, for the above-noted reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed in the Cascade lodge for three nights from sept 6th through the 8th and found it to be a very pleasant surprise given all the old cabins we had to pass to get there. This is the ideal accommodation for folks who want to see a lot of Yellowstone without the need to rough it. Consider it to be the quality of a 4star motel with a 6star access to one of the country's greatest national parks.

Room Tip: Since there are no views from the Cascade Lodge to speak of go ahead and book a first floor room (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank On_the_G0_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Very friendly and professional check in. As others have said, you check in at a building in the main village area, and have to drive back to the lodges. Our check in clerk enjoyed bantering with my husband, and his relentless requests to see Yogi, Mr. Ranger and BooBoo. "This is Yellowstone, not Jellystone." "Yogi's union and off duty now" "He just left at 4:00 and it's 4:20, you just missed him" It was fun and she was a good sport.

We were given room 222 in Cascade Lodge, which overlooked the parking area in front of the lodge. Our room had double beds, they were plenty comfortable after a long day in the park. There are cabins right across the road from you. No tv or telephone, and we knew to expect that. No A/C, but not needed when we were there. Just crank open a window and within minutes the room was plenty cool. Heat worked nicely as well as we needed it later that evening. Stand up shower, no tub in our room. Separate sink area so one can be in the shower while someone else is using the sink/mirror. Very modern furnishings, everything very clean and neat.

There is a large porch area with a bench on the ground floor south side of the lodge, as well as a smaller public balcony over that porch area which you can access from the second floor. No wildlife to see from there when we were there, but I imagine it's a great viewing place when they are out. And it appeared there had been wildlife in the area very near the lodge in the recent past: they left behind their used meals as proof! LOL

We lucked out and booked our room just a few weeks before we arrived, but we had to diligently check the website to watch for a cancellation. Most people we talked to booked their rooms months ago, and some more than a year out. The more people we talked to, the more we realized how lucky we were to get the reservation there in the park period in the timeline we booked, let alone at this nice little lodge. It was a bit expensive considering very few amenities, but I guess this place is all about location, location, location. Speaking of which....

LOCATION HINT: Being so close to the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, we toured all the canyon sites in the evening, and then checked them out all again the next morning - and I highly recommened anyone staying in Canyon Village do this if they can. The waterfalls and Canyon look so different in the light of the evening vs. the morning light. It was so stunning both ways, felt like we got double the beauty and amazement by doing this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank racegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
12.5 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
24.4 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
24.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Property: Cascade Lodge
Address: North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing