We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a look at the cabins verses the hotel.”
Review of Lake Lodge Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed for a night at the hotel while visiting Yellowstone Lake. The staff was great as was the restaurant. The hotel was a bit pricey, and we would consider the cabins if we stay at the lake again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Over65Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Lake Lodge Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 767 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed in one of the rustic cabin rooms and they are very basic but clean and comfortable. A great value in Yellowstone! I recommend you grab a bottle of wine and sit on the covered pation of the Lodge in the evening. The scenery is amazing and we met some great people - and when it gets a bit cold, move inside by the fireplace!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bathos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We had a basic unrenovated cabin with one double bed in row C. I knew what we were getting, but my husband is always surprised by my choices. As we pulled up to the wooden buildings with peeling paint and barely gravel worn paths to shaky wooden staircases, he asked "How old are these?" and likened them to shacks he'd seen abandoned on farms.

Inside, the floor creaked like it would give way at any minute, the shower stall was chipped, the pipes ran up in the room beside the toilet, and the heat clunked on like it was going to explode. Just what I was expecting. One step above camping.

The double bed was just OK. Two chairs, lights, a small table, and a sink in the room. Electricity and an alarm clock. Towels were clean and fluffy. Previous resident's dirty towel was overlooked.

Ice machine had been turned off for the season, so we had to use the machine in the lodge lobby. Drive to the general store. Turkey dinner in the cafeteria was fine--offers a child's size that was sufficient at $6. Lots of rocking chairs on the porch and limited seating in the lovely lobby that does get noisy. Bison wandered through the area for our evening entertainment.

Quiet once the neighbors in attached units got settled for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The cabins are small and basic but that's how they are advertised. Our cabin was comfortable and equiped with extra blankets and pillows (it was cold at night even in August). We had requested a quiet cabin and so were located away from the main area which was nice. The toilet cistern filled constantly which kept us awake the first night but could be turned off at the valve for the following nights (stayed 3 nights). Ensuite was very compact but served it's purpose; a large person might find it a squeeze. Basin hot tap dripped constantly but could be turned off at it's valve.
The Lake Lodge cafeteria was nearby and served a good range of food and had a bar serving good beer. The prices were on the high side however (to be expected). Staff very helpful and friendly.
The location can't be beat; lake, mountains and wildlife outside the front door.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WestUSATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Stayed in a renovated (Western) cabin at Lake. Very sad that it was only for one night, when I had the opportunity to stay for 3 nights at one point. Cabins are clean, comfortable, and extremely convienent, for the same price as a motel in West Yellowstone. The wall can be a bit thin, but likely your neighbors will be sleeping as well. Very comfortable bed, and a great shower! Cancellation policy in generous, so if you are even thinking about it and see an opening, book first and cancel later. Lake Lodge also has a good cafeteria. Not 4 star cusine, but good food, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seat_4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Two couples stayed four nights in recently remodeled Western cabins near the Lake Lodge. Room had two queen size beds with adequate space in the room for four. The bath/shower was new and the beds were in good condition. Location was quiet and secluded with walking access to reasonably priced food at the Lake Lodge cafeteria. Lodging with amenities within park is expensive, but the higher price was worth the location to view wildlife early in morning and late in evening. Highly recommend this location for lodging within the park.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dirt-devil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Although nothing in Yellowstone is well-priced, we were very pleased with our choice of Lake Lodge Cabins. We stayed in the recently renovated "Western Cabins" which comfortable fit two adults and a teen.
The room was more modern and spacious than we anticipated, with a decidedly Western/log-cabin'ish theme. In addition to colorful quilts on each bed, each of the two Queen beds had a handy bench at its end. The dresser was adequate for 3 people, with a separate open-to-the-room hanging area, and a table had a couple of chairs for eating or preparing lunch sandwiches. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room, nor was there phone, internet or television, supposedly consistent with the "authentic" old-fashioned feel throughout much of Yellowstone. An ice machine was within reasonable walking distance, as was the adequate cafeteria service. (A longer walk or very short drive away, you will find the upscale Yellowstone Hotel's dining area or a grocery store with simple counter service.) There was a powerful and noisy room heater, which we really didn't need in mid-August. Lighting was not great, but adequate. Best: Everything felt new, fresh and clean.
One of the key decisions in planning for Yellowstone is whether to hop around different regions of this vast and incredible park, packing and unpacking each night, or stay in a central location. We chose the latter, even though it meant inevitably longer drives. Our reasoning was that --with our major interest in wildlife-- even driving back through the so-called same route might yield different glimpses of wildlife. We were glad with our decision and didn't find any of the driving times exhausting or prohibitive. Remember that getting there is half the fun in Yellowstone, since you must be prepared for cars blocking traffic as they peer at bears or elk or are stopped by herds of Bison crossing the road.
Bottom line: Great location, nice but pricey accommodations, and a memorable vacation in Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rap_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,168 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,032 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
717 reviews
19.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
789 reviews
19.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Cabins

Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, PO Box 165, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $354 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Lodge Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Yellowstone Lake Lodge
Lake Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing