We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lake view”
Review of Lake Lodge Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice lake view”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Basic cabin: double bed (which is pretty small for 2 people), basin, shower and toilet. The shower looked dodgy but was actually quite nice. Laundry facilities are in the main lodge so you can do your washing while eating dinner at the cafeteria. Cabins were quite far away from the general store.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EchidnandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    299
    173
    56
    44
See reviews for
272
332
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As part of our Mommy/daughter Summer road trip to Yellowstone, my 9yo daughter and I stayed a day/night at the Lake Lodge Cabins. We booked last minute so they only had a Western Cabin available, which was a bit over-priced ($206.54/night) even for Yellowstone's busy season. However, they proved to be the most comfortable and safe accommodations for us.

The exterior of the cabin is not inviting by any means; however, the interior was clean and rustic with two comfortable pine wood, pole beds, dresser, bench, table/chairs and wainscoting. The bathroom was updated with a nice tube/shower combo. In addition, there was a Krups instant coffee/tea maker in the room, which was nice in the morning.

The lodge provided us with a good central location as we spent the day explored the Lake region...driving up through the Shoshone National Forest and out the East Gate to historic Cody, WY, making our way to the local Harley shop (approx. 2 hr drive each way).

Grab some huckleberry ice cream from the gas station / store down the street and watch the sunset at the lake...it's a very peaceful way to end your adventurous day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skydive14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Bucks
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here at the end of September just before it closed for the winter. We stayed in a pioneer cabin which was small, cramped but comfortable enough and warm enough - the overnight temperature outside dropped below freezing. The lodge building was welcoming with fires and some big comfortable chairs, so no need to stay in the cabin. The bar was well stocked and the staff very helpful and friendly. The laundry facility was well-equipped and very efficient. he restaurant was really more of a canteen so, as long as you don't have any hopes of fine dining, it's more than adequate. We were a little disappointed to find some of the facilities in the park closed for the winter - worth checking out before you book near the ends of the season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BucksWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The cabin was very "antique", but cozy. The bathroom is tiny and the sink was outside the bathroom adjacent in the bedroom. It felt like a Boy Scout outing. The location and the lodge are beautiful and we had a good time spending our evenings at the restaurant und the inviting lodge. The food was decent and you do have a choice for another restaurant about another 1/2 mile down the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcegap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in a Western-Style room.These motel style rooms are clustered in groups on the campus. They are not located on the lake, but the lodge does have a view of the lake which is beautiful during sunrise.

The downside of staying here is that it is a drive to the major parts of the park. This goes from inconvenience to impacting your vacation if you want to have dinner out and come back after dark, where driving is slow due to the wildlife, especially the bisons which are virtually invisible in the dark (we saw one that got hit on our way back one night...very sad and damaging to the car).

With that proviso.

* The room was great, clean spacious, and had a bath tub.
* The staff was amazing - friendly, accommodating and helpful (The property is run by Xanterra who always do a first class job)
* The lodge features wifi (yeah) but it is pay per hour/day/3 day (boo) but the wifi support, located in Australia was great at resolving problems (yeah).
* Washing machines and dryers are located in the lodge, plenty of them and no lines early in the morning.
* I would also avoid the cafeteria, it is dark and the food we had while not overpriced was not good.


Good accommodations inside the park but not located near major parts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
629 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

As with everything in Yellowstone, it is expensive, but in general, everything is clean & cozy. Do not expect luxury. You get hot water & decent bedding. The location is good. Service was never a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed one night in one of the Lake Lodge Cabins. We found it to be a perfectly cozy cabin. Obviously it's very old, but that's part of the charm. Our cabin was clean and that's all I care about. We loved staying in a cabin that has so much history instead of another one of those bland motel rooms. I don't understand people being surprised that these cabins are a little worn out, they're pioneer cabins! And it's the cheapest place to stay (besides campgrounds) in the park, so don't expect anything remotely luxurious. The only thing that was truly disappointing was the bed, it was not good. Fine for one night, but my back was a little sore. I also have to say that the employees at the lodge were very friendly and check-in was smooth. Avoid having dinner at the cafe though, it was not good at all. Luke-warm, over-cooked grub. Go to the (pricier) hotel for dinner instead. The location was great, a minute from the lake, which was beautiful and a great base for exploring the rest of the park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,962 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
19.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Cabins

Property: Lake Lodge Cabins
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, PO Box 165, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Lodge Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Yellowstone Lake Lodge
Lake Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing