We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serves the purpose...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Lodge Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Serves the purpose...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the Pioneer Cabins at the end of July and found these to be adequate. Sure, they are dated and not in the best condition, but they are in the middle of the park and close to everything. Unless the weather is not cooperating, you shouldn't be using the place for much more than a place to sleep and wash up anyway.

The cabin itself was rather small, with two full beds (sleeps 4) and a small bathroom. There is heat, but no air conditioning. Screened in windows could open to provide ventilation. The cabins are a short walk up to the lodge and down to the lake itself. There's always a good chance you will see some wildlife out and about on the property too. Many of the trees along the parking lots had fresh antler rubbings on them. We could also hear some animals roaming around at night outside the cabin. In the crisp morning air (yes, even in late July) you could always see the thermal activity going on around the lake as the plumes of steam were enhanced in the cool air.

Sure, you can always stay somewhere else in the park and pay more money if you really need all of the ammenities, but if you are there to just enjoy the park itself and prefer a roof over your head with a bed and shower instead of camping, this serves that purpose.

Room Tip: If you are travelling to Yellowstone in the summer, it will be a good idea to book early as on-site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PRNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    299
    171
    55
    44
See reviews for
271
330
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorokan, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Was originally staying two nights left after one and went to Jackson.

We choose to stay with Xanterra as the experience at Furnace Creek Death Valley last time in USA was great. We stayed in the Western Cabins (Premium Price) but we may as well been in the RV parking area as our cabin was located well away from all the facilities.

After a long day driving, walking etc it is nice to arrive at accommodation, put some ice in an ice bucket, chill some beers and relax. Well not here in these cabins have no fridge , Ice machine located in reception and yes you do get a small plastic bag for ice but by the time you get back to cabin it has melted.

Defeated by this we drove back to reception on a pot hole infested road to have a drink at the bar. Well one bar person serving wait time up to 10 minutes. Gave up, skipped dinner and went to bed.

You would think that when you pay a considerable tariff for the better accommodation you would be a bit closer to the facilities or have some extra facilities in the room.

Tip Xanterra (Ice Machines near cabins, fridge or advertise BYO cooler), better roads, better service.

Room Tip: Best value are the cheaper cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redexcels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, General Manager at Lake Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments advising us of your visit to the Lake Lodge Cabins. Comments from visitors assist us in monitoring the levels of service we provide here in Yellowstone.

I was disappointed to learn about your experience. Please accept my apologies for any problems this caused, and be assured I have shared your observations with our management staff for their review.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope you will visit us again in Yellowstone. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me via the information provided below.

Sincerely,

Mike Keller, C. H. A.
Executive Director, Operations
Xanterra Parks & Resorts
PO BOX 165
Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
(307)-344-5206
mkeller@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My family recently stayed for 4 nights in the Yellowstone Lake Cabins. Here is a quick review:
We enjoyed:

Wildlife roaming right outside your door.

We really enjoyed hanging out at the lodge in the evenings

There were much less people at the lake lodge then in other parts of the park

Very quiet

Comfortable and clean rooms, very basic, but you will not be spending much time in your room.

No phone or internet service - it was nice to get off the grid for a week.

Walking distance to general store that has just about anything you need. We bought groceries there everyday for picnic lunches and icecream after dinner.

Free soda and coffee refills in the lodge cafeteria.

Found a table to play cards in the lodge everynight

Great little bar in the lodge with fun bartenders.

No bugs

What could be better:
Prices are high for groceries, you would be better off stopping at a grocery store before going into the park, don't wait until you hit the town of West Yellowstone - the prices are also very high there.

We wanted to have our sheets changed, but it never happened.

Too far from any good fly fishing spots. We did not have much luck fishing in the lake. Bring along your spinning rod if you want to fish from the shore of lake Yellowstone.

You will need to buy a phone card and use the pay phone in the lodge if you have to call anyone.

Overall:
Loved staying here and would highly recommed it for a family vacation to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dato1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A must stay for people who love the great outdoors - The lodge and cabins are full of charm and character and were originally set up as an affordable alternative to Yellowstone’s hotels and date back to the 1920’s. The resort is a series of rustic styled cabins some very old and some new set in a quiet location on the shores of Lake Yellowstone. It’s a very good location to explore from as most of the attractions are fairly well spaced around the two loop roads. What the national park has tried to do is in keeping with the historic lodge is to recreate and capture that spirit of the early tourist pioneers and this it has done well. Its not luxurious but it does give you the feel of an outdoor adventure. We stayed for 3 nights in a Weston Style cabin, these are the newest of the cabins and there rather good. The cabin was spacious, quiet, very comfortable and clean with cool quirky décor and consisted of 2 queen beds and a modern separate bathroom. The lodge itself is quite stunning with its historic wood style construction. The main lobby is a great place to visit in the evening to sit back and relax by the fire, read a book or enjoy a beer! There’s a well-run canteen styled restaurant on site serving a variety of food, its simple but well-priced a good alternative to the hotel restaurants if all you want is relaxing hot meal after a hard day in the park. The main advantage of Yellowstone Lake Lodge is that it has a more intimate feel where you become part of the national park and offers a different experience and outlook compared with the sprawling grandeur of Old faithful. Your never tire of the lake and mountain views with the faint steam of geysers rising in the morning on the walk down to breakfast.

Room Tip: Western Cabins are probably the best option, book at least 6 months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DES32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in one of the Western Cabins for two nights while visiting Yellowstone at the end of September. (They were closing a few days after we left.) The room was spacious with very comfortable beds. Everything was very clean. We were just up the hill from the main lodge...some of the cabins are quite a ways back.
One "quirk" that the desk clerk forgot to tell us: Your key card goes in a slot by the door. This connection keeps the lights on. If you take it out the lights won't work. We had to make a trip back to the front desk to learn this...couldn't figure out why the sockets worked but the lights didn't!
The only place to eat in the immediate area was the buffet at the Lodge. We ate breakfast and dinner there and found the food to be fine. It's cafeteria-style, served by the staff. Nothing fancy, but good wholesome food.
The lodge and cabins overlook the lake and are convenient to the attractions on the eastern side of the park. We've stayed in the Lake Yellowstone Hotel...and actually liked this better. More low key, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B-RTravelers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Lake Lodge during our Yellowstone trip. We were lucky to get reservations as we booked just about 1 month before our trip.

The best part is the location - beautiful views of the lake which you can enjoy while sitting on rocking chairs on the huge porch. Wildlife all around at all times. Unforgettable sunrise - you just wake up and walk outside to enjoy. Convenient to drive to other parts of the park.

Rooms - we stayed in a newly renovated room and it was perfect. Clean room, Nice beds, very nice bathroom. Basically staying in a hotel, but w/ the cabin feeling from the outside! We had no issues w/ noise. The main lodge has a very nice, large seating area with fireplaces and tables to play games, have a drink, just sit and chat.

Connectivity - this lodge did not have Wi-fi (others do). Gave us a perfect opportunity to unplug completely though. Cell phone didn't work very well either - kids used a pay phone for the first time to call their grandparents!

My only complaint is the cafeteria. The food is not very good and is pretty high priced. Ok for breakfast but would suggest you get out to a restaurant if you want better options. We ate at a restaurant on the Roosevelt side that had excellent food.

Highly suggest staying in the park and specifically at this lodge for the great views and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodeled room
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank chicago009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The cabins at Lake Yellowstone Lodge are in serious need of repair. The furniture and beds are awful and the heater didn't work and neither did the hot water. At only $75 per night, it's a bargain, but you better be tolerant. The location is pretty isolated, I wouldn't want to stay very long. The Lake is nice, plenty of walking paths. If you like quiet, you'll find it here. The lodge is really nice, rustic, but the cabins are over the top "rustic".... I wouldn't stay there again. Best cabins are at Old Faithful and Mammoth.

Room Tip: Stay a Old Faithful cabins or Mammoth cabins in Yellowstone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbird1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Lake Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lake Lodge Cabins at Yellowstone National Park.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the condition of your accommodations. The cabins are certainly in need of some updating, which is scheduled for the very near future. After the renovations, I am sure you will be delighted with the improvements. And I hope you will consider returning to Yellowstone and staying at this location.

Thank you again for your comments. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me via the information provided below.

Mike Keller, C. H. A.
Executive Director, Operations
Xanterra Parks & Resorts
PO BOX 165
Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
(307)-344-5206
mkeller@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
25.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Cabins

Property: Lake Lodge Cabins
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, PO Box 165, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Lodge Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Yellowstone Lake Lodge
Lake Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing