We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from the "pioneer cabins"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Lodge Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay away from the "pioneer cabins"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We reserved a pioneer cabin for a night while on a motorcyle tour and were told that there would be two twin beds. When we checked in we were told that there was only one oversize twin bed (really??) available. When I pointed out that we were on motorcyles and could not take camping gear and two large guys did not want to share a twin bed they put us in a recently remodeled, and much nicer, cabin. This was greatly appreciated and the room was great. However, as it has been pointed out in prior review, the pioneer cabins are very old and dilapidated. They should be torn down and rebuild to better standards for the price you pay for a bed and toilet.

Room Tip: Avoid the basic pioneer cabins. If you only want a small basic cabin to crash in rent next door at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    299
    171
    55
    44
See reviews for
270
330
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Our family of five stayed in the Lake Lodge Cabins the summer of 2011. What a wonderful location to be right inside the park. We had friends who stayed in West yellowstone and complained about the hour drive just to get to the park. Lake Lodge Cabins are a great central location. We stayed in the J cabins at the top of the hill farthest away from the main log. The first morning we woke up to have a deer feeding behind the cabin. There are some varmits that live under the decks, but they are probably more afraid of you than you are of them. The bison are all over the place and they are huge animals. Got to see one up close and personal from the front seat of our car on the first day! I could see the veins in his eyeball- I froze and didn't even get a picture, it was all I could do to reach over and hit the window button without peeing in my pants - it was THAT close. The cabin did not have bedding for five people there were two queen beds and we brought along an air matress and sleeping bag for the kids to take turns on the floor. The kids loved the little bear shaped soap in the bathroom, cute touch! The cabins fill up fast so book early and we would definitely stay there again. Nothing glamorous, but works for the adventrue area of Yellowstone! Be aware that the food choices inside the park are very limited, so it will help to bring in some snacks or PB and J.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fred4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in one of the refitted cabins, which although a little basic, was comfortable and clean - ideal as a base for exploring the Lake area either on foot or by car. Plenty of change to see wildlife of all sizes (from marmots to bison!) wandering through the site which added a few surprises to our stay.
The cafeteria was the big let down, serving basic food which varied in quality from just above average to very poor - reminded me a little of school dinners as times during our 4 day stay!

The fundamental problem with Yellowstone as a whole is that just about all of the lodging, restaurants, and shops are run by the same company (Xanterra). This monopoly only serves to reduce choice across the park and drive down quality. By the end of our 3 week tour of Yellowstone, eating had become a chore as the food became predictable, boring and was usually overcooked, over-salted and so strongly flavoured it was almost impossible to taste the main meat/fish ingredient. The serving staff had obviously been given the same script, word for word, which we had ingrained on our memories by the end of the trip - it came as a welcome change to find a few staff who injected some of their own personalities in the service and diverted from the script!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Manager at Lake Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay at the Lake Lodge Cabins at Yellowstone National Park. Feedback like yours is used to enhance the level of service we offer here.

Your comments have provided good insight into the current conditions of our Yellowstone operations. Clearly more effort is needed on our part. Please, rest assured that your feedback will not be taken lightly or disregarded as I begin to find ways to improve quality at the Lake Lodge Cabins and other in-park facilities.

I hope you will consider returning to Yellowstone and trying some of our other amenities. I am confident that your next experience will be far more enjoyable.

Mike Keller, C. H. A.
Executive Director, Operations
Xanterra Parks & Resorts
PO BOX 165
Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
(307)-344-5206
mkeller@xanterra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you simply want a warm, clean place to lay your head at night after a day in the park this place is perfect. If you want anything else I think you may be disappointed. Our room was small but clean and had plenty of hot water and heat. We were there the first day the cabins were open for the season so our room had a but musty smell at first but we opened the windows and it quickly left. The lodge is beautiful and has an amazing view of Lake Yellowstone and the mountains. The staff was also friendly.

Note: We stayed in May of 2010 but trip advisor would not let me select that date

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Traveling_Bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

From my point of view, this is the best place to stay in Yellowstone. The cabins are nothing special, although they are clean and comfortable. What's special is the location, and the wonderful old lodge. You can sit on the front porch and look out over a meadow, likely full of bison, with the lake just beyond. Or you can spend and evening (or even a rainy day) sitting in the comfortable furniture in the rustic but spacious lodge in front of a fireplace. The dining room, although it is cafeteria style, has very good food, including delicious prime rib. And all this is located right in the middle of the park. Love it there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in a medium sized "Western" cabin at Lake Lodge. We stayed in room H14 at the top of the hill. I liked the H and J sections which are furtherest from the main lodge, The buildings in these sections seem to be surrounded by more trees than those toward the bottom of the hill. Some rooms in these two sections look out at the convenient parking spots, and some rooms look out at trees.

Our cabin was newly refurbished in a western style. (See the photo from Sander9t's review on September 8, 2011) Our room had two attractive and comfortable queen beds, a wood table and two chairs, and two benches. The sink was outside the bath and toilet area.

We ate in the cafeteria for breakfasts and dinners. The food choices were limited, but fine. We also had burgers from the General store diner. When we were there, it closed at 5:00.

The drive around the Yellowstone loops are lengthy, but rewarding. It took almost two hours to get to Old Faithful from here and about 45 minutes to get to Canyon.

We have stayed in Canyon, Grant's Village, and Lake Lodge. All three places are similar in quality, depending on the category you choose. Grant's Village is nice, because the motel rooms are standard and functional. The Canyon area is central and close to Hayden Valley. And, the Lake Lodge area is wonderful, mainly because it is in a less populated area. I have never stayed in the Old Faithful area, but I would not hesitate to stay there. It is crowded, but close to so many natural wonders.

We prefer Lake Lodge and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the H or J sections. It was cold and rainy in June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Freetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our stay at the Lake Lodge Pioneer Cabins was so peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. The cabin is definately not pretty on the outside and was very basic inside with a double bed, small table, 2 chairs, one small end table and closet. The bathroom also was small with a portable shower.
Overall, the room was very clean, the heater worked well, the soaps, shampoo and moisturizing lotion was all natural and smelled nice, and the shower had plenty of pressure. There is a laundry room that is very inexpensive. I would suggest to bring less clothes and just do a wash midweek. You can sit in the rocking chairs on the porch while your waiting with no bugs to bother you. Often times the buffalo and mule deer arrive during the day and roam all around the lodge, in the street, or in the field across the street. We had a beautiful full moon over the lake in the evenings. The day temps ranged on the average from 50 - 68 and the nights 30 - 38. We brought a power strip to charge our video camera and digital camera batteries as there isn't many available outlets in the cabin. No TV, no cell phones, no hair dryer, no AC but it was great. Our bed was a little uncomfortable so we flipped the mattress and after that it was good. Food in the lodge was decent in taste, cafeteria style with free refills on coffee and soda, a little expensive but only about $10 more than usual. Consider it a donation to Yellowstone Park. The location was perfect for getting around in the park. Most days we left at 9 AM and returned by 5 PM. We saw the elk at Mammoth Springs. The buffalo were in many places. We hung out at the turn off in Hayden Valley after 5 pm and was able to see wolves and a bald eagles when the kind and knowledgable people there shared the use of their scope. We stopped at every spot except Lamar Valley. It was a vacation of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatRick5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
7.3 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
27.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
14.9 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
18.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
8.9 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Cabins

Property: Lake Lodge Cabins
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, PO Box 165, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Lodge Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Yellowstone Lake Lodge
Lake Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing