We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Lodge Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The cabins are basic with just a bed, bathroom and coffee making and were clean. We really liked them and thay were perfect for are stay in Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gary7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    299
    171
    55
    44
See reviews for
271
330
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vannes
Level Contributor
413 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Back to the cabins this year, same block than last year : always calm, some wildlife in the early morning(deers), and during the day(bison, ground squirrel).
Certainly one of the best spot of Yellowstone...
large rooms, clean bathroom(don'tforget the "bear's soap....).
wake up early and do the "promebnade" to the lakeshore : That's morning you will never forget.
(We were in the more graded rooms).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. we stayed in a Western cabin our first 2 nights at YNP. they don't look like much on the outside, but inside they are fully modern. you can park your car right outside the door. we were in the F loop, and walked to the Lodge cafeteria for meals. the room had a queen bed, and a twin trundle. no a/c, but there is a wall heater that puts out all the heat you need. we used it our first night, but didn't need it the 2nd night. the sink is in the bedroom area, giving the bathroom more privacy. plenty of wall outlets. nice big window that slides open for nice breezes. one evening we had bison grazing right outside our window! free ice at the small building on the cabin road, near F loop. the main lodge is rustic and beautiful. be sure to sit on the big front porch overlooking the Lake, and watch the bison wander by. very nice gift shop.

while the western cabins are nice, I would say they are priced a bit too high.

we planned this trip only 6 weeks out, and the park hotels/cabins were fully booked. I was able to get a campsite for all the nights we were going to be there. then, I kept calling the reservations desk, and was able to book the cabin due to a cancellation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We read the reviews on these cabins before booking so knew we were in for a rustic experience. Check in was average, the property is beautiful, the cabins are rustic, and we mainly just wanted to stay in Yellowstone to cut down on travel time since we would only have a few days in the park. We booked two cabins. These were side by side, dated, roomy, thin walls, nice windows, and, comfortable even though rustic. The cabin we stayed in had a toilet that was running a bit but we just closed the bathroom door. The water coming out of the tap was so cold and fantastic tasting that we filled all of our water bottles on our last day for the trip home. This property is very quiet too. The Lake Lodge was right down the road so easy to access for snacks, tourist shopping, nightly ranger talks, sitting on the Lake Lodge deck and watching the sunset from rocking chairs, and for meals. We could also easily walk to the Lake Yellowstone Hotel for additional eating options. There isn't much light outside of the cabins in the evenings so if you are out at night, you will want to bring a flashlight or your led headlamps. There were a couple of bison wandering around and hanging around the lodge, hotel and lake shoreline area the three days we visited so that was fun too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed in one of the pioneer cabin. Yes, it does look like a motor inn from the 50's, but its the cheapest accomodation in the park if you are not camping. I was not sure what to expect before we got here. I thought it would be camping without needing to set up your tent, but its a little nicer than that. Do not expect extras or luxury if you are paying $70/night in the park. We loved going down to the lodge at night, watching the lake, playing games near the fireplace. You can eat at the cafeteria in the lodge or if you have your camping gear with you, you can cook outside of your cabin. Only a few people did that. There are no picnic tables to sit outside on, you have to have your own chairs. There are no fire rings for a campfire like you would do when camping. Overall, it is a nice setting with many options for viewing wildlife near the cabins and on your drive through the nearby Hayden Valley.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were in section H of the cabins. New and nice. Our beds were comfy, the whole room had nice decor, and the bathroom and room were clean as can be. No bugs. There were bison outside in the evenings which was hilarious to enjoy with the other guests. They provide a little tea maker with some coffee packets and some lemon tea stuff (yuck) as well as shampoo and soap. Short walk to the cafeteria. We had no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holyguac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Do not stay here. Cheap rates, but for a reason. The Frontier cabins need painting on the outside desperately, & the insides have not been changed since the 1950's. Stay at the Lake Lodge itself instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tightwadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
25.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Cabins

Property: Lake Lodge Cabins
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, PO Box 165, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Lodge Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Yellowstone Lake Lodge
Lake Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing