We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible place, the Frontier cabins”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Lodge Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible place, the Frontier cabins”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Do not stay here. Cheap rates, but for a reason. The Frontier cabins need painting on the outside desperately, & the insides have not been changed since the 1950's. Stay at the Lake Lodge itself instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tightwadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    299
    171
    55
    44
See reviews for
271
330
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed 7/21 in (H section) towards rear. When checking in, inquired if cabins were better than Canyon's, since we were not impressed at that location. Desk clerk said that the cabins we'd be in were newly remodeled. The room (not free standing cabin as implied) was nicely decorated, had table & chairs, coffee maker and good size bathroom. While this location was exactly twice Canyon Village cabins rate, you get what you pay for in YNP. Downfall-room walls are thin !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in the Western Cabins for 2 nights and loved it. We had 3 adults and a 2 year old. They do provide pack and plays. The cabins look a little rustic from the outside but they were like a standard motel room on the inside.

The main lodge was within walking distance and had a nice big porch to sit on with a great view of the lake. The lodge also had lots of tables and sitting areas with 2 separate fireplaces. Inside the lodge was also a cafeteria that was open for all 3 meals and had a good variety of food. There also was a small bar in the lodge.

Several different times we saw bison in the cabin areas. I was never worried about this but definitely something to keep an eye out for as they could be right outside your door. If you want to see a lot of bison, head north on the main road that is where we saw tons of bison.

Overall a great place to stay and I would definitely recommend it. Lake Hotel and Fishing Bridge are close by and also had restaurants to eat at though make sure to make reservations ahead of time if you want to eat at Lake Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amymn43286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here on our third night in Yellowstone. Our first two nights were at the Old Faithful Snow Lodge but they didn't have a room on our third night so we stayed here. It was nice to be on the other side of the park out of the business of the Old Faithful area. The lake is beautiful. We stayed in a Western Cabin with two beds. It was nice a clean and seemed not too old. Comforatble beds and a nice bath. What I liked about this was the location. We were closer to the upper and lower Yellowstone Falls and also to the northern Roosevelt area so we toured that section which was very different than everything else we saw. Please make time to see as much of the park as possible as there is such diversity!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinTexans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We loved our cabin and considered it "motel camping". It was much less expensive than I expected for staying in such a wonderful location. We did not have a coffee maker, but it was an easy walk from our cabin (B18) to the lodge where we ate most of our meals. We loved the cafeteria, especially the young, enthusiastic staff. On the inside, the cabin reminded us of a small trailer. The bathroom was tiny, but I was happy to have it indoors. One night there was an amazing thunder/hail storm, which we watched from the rockers on the lodge front porch. When it came time to get back to our cabin, though, we had our own little Lake Yellowstone at our front door. My husband had to jump to the top step, then pull me up. We just laughed and were grateful that we had our cabin instead of being in a tent like so many other people in Yellowstone.
We especially loved seeing the bison just around the corner from our cabin. We did give him a wide berth, though. Those things can hustle when they want to!

Room Tip: Please observe the rules about wildlife and the hyrdothermal features. We saw many people doing dang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwheatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was a great place to stay and you can't beat the location. It was a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. We stayed in the "P - Beaver Pond" section of the Western Cabins. It was nice to be able to drive right up to the room (no stairs or elevators). Pretty quiet area too. There are four units all together. This was a very nice room and it seemed like it was just remodeled. It had new, matching log furniture throughout, new single cup Keurig coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tee, free ice, and a nice bathroom stocked with bath towels. I am not sure there was air, but we were never in the room during the day and the evenings are cool in the mountains even in July. The room does have a powerful heater. I really enjoyed staying in this room. Easy access to several main areas in the park such as Lake Village, Hayden Valley, Yellowstone Lake, West Thumb, Old Faithful etc. The lodge lobby is a really nice place with huge vaulted ceilings, laundry (about $1.50/load), a big fireplace, comfortable seating, a big number of tables, a bar/lounge area. It is real comfortable and quaint there. I was not impressed with the cafeteria there or the cafeteria staff, but it was ok and there are several other places to eat in the park any way.

Room Tip: Get one of the Western Cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAExplorer_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, FL
Level Contributor
223 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Thanks to Tripadvisor, we knew exactly how the cabin would look. The reviews were spot on and the cabin was just what we wanted. It was old but super clean, the bedding was great and all the linens fresh and fluffy. We have learned to travel with a multi-plug outlet to accommodate all of our electronics re-charging needs, so the lack of electrical outlets was not a problem. This area of Yellowstone was less crowded and bison roamed the lake shore right in front of the Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogators52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
25.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Cabins

Property: Lake Lodge Cabins
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, PO Box 165, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Lodge Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Yellowstone Lake Lodge
Lake Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing