We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is delightful”
Review of Dunraven Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunraven Lodge
Titusville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This place is delightful”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After spending 3 noisy nights at The Old Faithful Inn, we visited the Yellowstone Canyon area and had a room at the Dunraven Inn. The place is newer, the rooms quite attractive, and the location was great

There was a lot of construction going on, and some of the parking lots by the main Canyon Lodge area were closed. Apart from the inconvenience caused by the construction, we loved this place

Room Tip: upper floor on the side facing the wooded area (rear of the building?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KayakCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    30
    5
    0
See reviews for
70
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Keeping in mind where you are,this is probably the nicest and most peaceful place in the park to room. There is nothing near the two lodges for services unless you want a ten to fifteen minute walk or short drive to the restaurant,post office,etc. The bright.well windowed , top floor room was large enough for the two comfortable double beds and a nice table and chairs, and a big enough bathroom. You live out of your suitcase,but it was worth it to us.The staff was typical Xanterra--pleasant and accomodating. We stayed at least two nights in four places and this was a favorite for relaxation.Nice and clean! The only disruption was a bison outside the entrance one morning.

Room Tip: Top floor in back of building would be my choice, but I'll take anything if I go again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When booking our two-night reservation at Canyon Lodge for early September, I specified Dunraven, since the building has an elevator, but there is no guarantee. Fortunately our room was in Dunraven on the 3rd floor. It was driving distance from the Canyon Lodge facilities over a road that has lots of potholes. The room had two double beds, a table with two straight chairs, and a Keurig coffee maker which I used each evening. Housekeeping was lacking since there was dirt/dust/hair on the bathroom floor which I wiped up rather than look at. My used K-cup was replaced, but not the creamer/stirrer packet--fortunately we only needed one each night and we started with two. We liked the easy-to-open windows, since the room was warm when we arrived.

As others have mentioned, dining was a challenge at Canyon, since their cafeteria closes after Labor Day even though I was told they kept a section of their cabins open later than usual which meant more diners. The general store closed at 5 pm, so their main dining room was the only option. We found if we arrived before 6 pm, the wait wasn't too bad to be seated, but then there was the wait to be served. We didn't mind too much, since there wasn't anything else to do in the evening. We had two dinners and two breakfasts in the dining room, and each time the waiters were friendly and apologized for the slow service. The Deli offered pre-made sandwiches which we picked up in the morning for lunch.

The two-story Canyon Visitor Center is very well done and definitely worth visiting. The exhibits are informative, and ranger assistance is provided. Two interesting shows can be viewed in a comfortable air conditioned theater.

The location of the Canyon Lodge is central making this facility particularly attractive, and I would recommend Dunraven as a building of choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GardenGirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Dunraven Lodge for 4 nights just a few weeks ago and it was great. Although the room was rather small it was comfortable, quiet and well appointed. From Dunraven Lodge It is only a short walk to Canyon Village. In Canyon Village there is a post office, general store, gift shops, ranger station, and very good dining facilities. The lodge is right adjacent to the forest so it is very easy to spot wildlife. On our first night a large mule deer was grazing right outside our window. On our third night we returned to our parking lot to find a huge buffalo grazing just like the mule deer. The check in and check out was a breeze with agreat staff to answer any questions. After staying at some of the other less attractive lodges in the National Park System the Dunraven was fantastic. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room facing the woods when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JackJackCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

First of all, there are a few things I knew about the Dunraven lodge before our trip. Two full size beds instead of a queen. No phone. No chest of drawers. A ways from the dining room and other servies. So, I can't really knock the place for any of those. But I can't say I liked any of them either. I found out I also didn't like the pod coffee maker, which produced luckwarm, yukky coffee. Nor the broken towel rod, which I reported but was never fixed during the week we stayed there. I also didn't like the fact that, not only is there no phone in the room, there isn't even a phone in the building. But, the room was clean and quiet and Canyon is located in the middle of the park, so putting up with a few things we didn't like wasn't that big of a deal.

What was a big deal was trying to eat at Canyon. Somebody thought it would be a good idea to close the cafeteria on the first week of our stay, even though it appeared the place was booked. We got back from a day of photography at 9:00 pm and tried to eat at the much more expensive dining room (the only place open after about 6:00 PM) and found out there would be an hour and a half wait for a table) Deciding that we didn't want to eat at 11:00 or so, we tried to get some food from the bar, and even that took an hour.

There was lots of construction going on a Canyon during our stay as well. Understood, because they have very little time for construction during the year. But I can't say it made the stay any better.

Next time I'd probably stay at the Lake Hotel, or maybe the Snow Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sonoraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a long day before arriving at Dunraven Lodge. Up early in Lamar Valley, then hiked to top of Mt. Washburn, before taking in some of the sights at the Canyon. Thank goodness for our nice, clean, relatively spacious room at Dunraven. I was concerned pulling into the Canyon area as there was a ton of construction going on at the Lodge. Not to worry, we could access everything fairly easily. Room was well appointed and comfortable. General store at the complex, of course, but also an outdoor shop. We enjoyed the room at Dunraven. But we didn't make the sort of emotional connection we made at the cabins at Roosevelt. And the Canyon area in general (the facilities, not the Canyon itself), just had a sort of generic feel to it - nothing particularly memorable or special about it. We ended up eating both dinner and breakfast in the 50's style diner at the general store, which turned out to be a good choice and seemed a better value than the restaurant at the Canyon Lodge. All in all, Dunraven is the best choice in this centrally located stop in YNP, just prepared not to be "wowed" by the complex overall.

Room Tip: Check out the 50s diner at the general store for meals. Very casual, but pretty good food and proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NotMarcoPoloMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dunraven is one of the many options in Canyon Village but certainly the most up to date.

Our arrival into Canyon Village was easy but finding registration wasn't due to the renovations to the main parking lots and buildings in the village (should be done by end of this season). Although there were quite a few people waiting in line, it moved quickly. Check-in was easy. We had reserved 2 queen beds in one of the lodges for four nights and were given a room in Dunraven. We were given a map and our keys. A short drive later, we arrived at a very modern looking building (relative to what else was in Canyon).

Plenty of parking and a short walk into the building. We had a room on the ground floor so no need to use the elevator or stairs. Our room was huge compared to our room in Mammoth with plenty of space to unpack, dresser and a small round table with chairs. There was a Keurig coffee machine with 2 coffees, 2 decafs and 2 teas. Ice machine down the hall with some vending machines. Plenty of lighting to read. Beds were quite comfy except one of the beds had a sheet that looked like it had mold on it, yuck. Turned out to be just some kind of stain so we just asked housekeeping to change our sheets the next day.

As for dining, we tried both the restaurant and the diner inside the general store for our meals. The diner was good for burgers, hotdogs and a milkshake. The buffet breakfast at the restaurant was worth it.

Otherwise, there is a sporting good store (binoculars, hats, etc), the general store (where you could pick up snacks, refill your water bottles, fruits, etc) and the Visitor center in the Village. The Canyon campsite has a laundry place (closed at 9pm if I recall) and there is a gas station. If you really need to check email, there is wifi in the dining room area for a price.

Overall, Canyon Village is a good place to situate yourself to see Yellowstone. The Canyon is amazing and there is plenty of hiking. We hiked Mt Washburn one day. We also drove up to Lamar (lucky to see a Grizzly although from far far away), drove down to Yellowstone lake and saw Wolves (also far far away) in Haydn Valley. Dunraven, itself, was very comfortable and a relaxing place to stay. Plenty of Elk and deer in front of the building and in the parking lot either late at night or early in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,102 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
975 reviews
24.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
24.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
25.4 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunraven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Lodge

Property: Dunraven Lodge
Address: North Rim Drive, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Dunraven Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Dunraven Motel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing