We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“for me the most beautiful place in all yellowstone park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamar Valley

Lamar Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$500.00*
and up
Private Yellowstone Wildlife Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“for me the most beautiful place in all yellowstone park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Lamar is for me the most beautiful place in all yellowstone park. Full of bulls, you have view of wide place with pronghorns and deers. I went in summer. There where colorful scenes everywhere. You cant lost it, please!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,629
    262
    44
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Wolf Viewing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We saw three packs of wolves and lots of other wildlife against a beautiful scenic backdrop. Cooke City is like an original Wild West town and has a range of simple accommodation. Visit Dan Hartmann's photo gallery.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Neat drive through... one word.. TATONKA!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Neat place to drive through and checkout... lot's of BISON to see. Nice stop while driving from Yellowstone lake out to the East end of the park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VATravel5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“In winter fantastic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We did 7 hour drive in the Valley . The mountains, valleys,are ever changing as drive . We saw wolf pack (sorta 2 miles away) ,hundreds bison ,elks, dipping birds, ducks, longhorn sheep, coyotes,moose, ravens,horned larks ,etc.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best wildlife viewing in America!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Wolves, grizzlies, buffalo, elk, coyote, moose, bald eagle and much more. If wildlife is your thing this is the place to be. Located in the north eastern section of Yellowstone Park you need to plan accordingly to be there in the early morning or evening hours as this is the best time to view all the wildlife. The valley itself is huge. I prefer the eastern edge of the valley although you can see wildlife throughout the valley. A quality spotting scope is essential. Scanning the hillsides across the valley is a great way to spot both black and grizzly bears. This area is quite popular so if all else fails find the crowds, park your car completely off the road ( there are many pullouts to park) and check out what everybody is looking at. Good luck!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Savageslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamar Valley also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Lamar Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing