We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay here for its rich history in the old wings' rooms”
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“stay here for its rich history in the old wings' rooms”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Stayed here for one night in room 228 with one queen bed. Was impressed by the size of the room and we only realized the next day that our room with a bath is only one of the ten rooms in this historical place that comes with en-suite bathrooms!

We were also extremely lucky to be given a room in the oldest part of the hotel in its original wings built in the 1900's. During the tour of the inn the next day, we were surprised by how vastly different the hallways for the old wings and the new additional wings built in 1920's were.

the best part of the hotel is the first floor porch that overlooks Old Faithful which meant that you literally can just sit at one of the many chairs and wait for the geyser to erupt. I actually woke up at 7am the next day just to get a quint photos of the eruption before the many tourists starts pouring in at mid-day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    802
    410
    188
    99
See reviews for
835
1,100
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
252 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed in the East Wing. Our room was larger than expected and decorated with rustic charm. There was a great coffee maker in the room. The bathroom was so cute with wildlife decor. Of course there is no TV, etc. but Old Faithful geyser is enough entertainment. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The lodge is amazing. We also took a tour and were able to see one of the rooms in the old section. We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was good. I thought this was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

What a wonderful historical inn to stay at! The construction and massive size is spectacular - it is like stepping back in time. The location is one of the best in the park, central to everything and of course you can watch the old faithful geyser every 90 minutes. The inn's staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The inn is rustic and fits into the atmosphere of Yellowstone - just wonderfully natural!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I heard some elderly people complain that the rooms were small and the beds uncomfortable. Some rooms have to share a bathroom. No TV or room service. Other then that I thought the place was magnificent. More a lodge then a hotel. The lobby will get your gaze on. Meet people from all around the world. Food is good. Nice bar. Truly a memorable place. A treat for the senses. Is the tourist center of Yellowstone surrounded by geysers with the big fellow Old Faithful right outside the door. Other national parks have their lodges but this one feels special. An American gem worth preserving. Just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnnyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Wow, we loved this place. It's very magical, like a giant treehouse. It's very romantic and right next to the most amazing landscape of geysers and bubbling pools. If you're a runner/walker, bring your sneaks. There's a good few miles of trails to take advantage of right out the door. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are shared. The restaurant is very cool, with really nice staff. The food was decent (dinner) to not-so-great (breakfast). Overall, we highly recommend a stay here. Make reservations early though!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zizU_s_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I read through many, many reviews of this hotel, and hesitated about staying here. Wanted to share our experience if it helps others make a decision about this hotel.

Pros: First, the structure is impressive. Definitely feel excited when you walk in the lobby and see the scale of everything. Public spaces are beautiful, with many rockers, couches, and tables and chairs to enjoy in the lobby. A coffee and espresso cart is open all day, so I enjoyed coffee and a biscotti in the lobby in the morning. Our family loved to get drinks and sit in the lobby or on the outside deck in the evening. Can watch Old Faithful from the deck of the hotel. Had dinner in the dining room of the Inn -- we all ordered off the menu (vs. having the buffet) and all enjoyed the meal. Good service, nice kids menu, my husband had a swordfish that he said was good, and I had a great beef filet. One tip eating in the dining room would be to request the front section of the room; the back of the room is a more modern addition and overlooks a parking lot. Rooms and bathrooms very clean. We stayed in the old section with the bathrooms down the hall, and never had to wait long for either a toilet stall or a shower. Terry cloth robes provided in rooms to wear to the shower. No noise in the evening - slept well (I read some reviews about thin walls, noise, etc.). Our kids' room was right off the lobby, and they didn't hear any noise after around 10:00, either -- I think people go to bed pretty early here. Rooms were a nice size -- not huge, but decent and not tiny.
Cons: Old-fashioned "keys" didn't work that well -- lock would stick, couldn't get key to turn, etc. Always got in the room, but reminded me of my first apartment and not in a good way. Lots of people tromping through the hotel during the day -- not guests, just folks wanting to get a look at the Inn. Nothing wrong with that, but just something to note if you're hoping for a quiet corner away from the crowds-- this isn't your spot. Men's shower on our wing "broken" and couldn't be used. And we only knew this from hearing a housekeeper telling another guest. DH had to put on the aforementioned robe and go up the stairs to use another floor's shower. Public spaces were very popular, so sometimes had to wait for a couch and grab it when you saw someone stand up. All of the staff seemed to be quite new and just arrived for the summer -- so not always the most informed or helpful. Very polite and willing, but just not well-trained or experienced enough to always do a good job.

Hope that helps. One other thing I didn't realize is that the Inn is surrounded by lots of other buildings as well. It's not just the Inn surrounded by wilderness and geysers. There's tons of parking lots, restaurants, 3 or 4 gift shops, a couple other hotels (the Old Faithful Lodge and another hotel whose name I forget) and their restaurants and gift shops, a big construction project going on with the new Visitors' Center, etc. The other hotel areas seemed to have this same feel -- Mammoth, Canyon Village, etc. The hotel areas have a lot of hustle-bustle, traffic, people coming to see the hotel or eat in the restaurant, etc. Just something to be aware of -- they're not quiet little spots in the park.

Bottom line -- I'm glad I stayed here once, and gave my children the experience of staying in such a historic place. The kids didn't get much of a kick out of it at all. I enjoyed it once, but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelplannermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed in the Eastside "premium" room for two nights during our Yellowstone trip (next three nights were spent in Canyons area). Yes the view of Old Faithful was a little blocked by trees from our 3rd floor room but it was great staying at the Inn. Cannot beat hanging out in the gorgeous main area - both on the deck - having a drink from the bar waiting for Old Faithful to blow or inside. Yes the room was expensive ... big room with 2 beds and nice bathroom (seemed newish). Staying at the Inn - definitely worth it. One of the more expensive rooms ... probably not worth it. It was just the novel idea that we could see Old Faithful from our room - wasn't like we sat around in the room waiting to see it erupt.
We did eat in the main dining room while we were here (breakfast and dinner). Food and service were ok - a little hit or miss.
Great location to see the geysers. We even traveled to Mammoth from here - not a bad trip either. Easy to get to Norris and Lake/West Thumb too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing