We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded”
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came to the Old Faithful Inn from Canyon where we stayed at the Dunraven Lodge. We stayed one night in the newer part of the Inn. We had some family members traveling with us that stayed in the old part.

We found that the Old Faithful area was much more crowded than other parts of the park. The parking lots were tricky to navigate and ripe for accidents. The signage wasn't great and it made it tough to find our way around. Once we found the Inn we had to park a good distance away.

The room wasn't as nice as the one we had at Dunraven, but worked fine. The rooms in the old part of the Inn were pretty cool to check out, but not big enough for us with 2 kids.

The overall atmosphere was OK once the crowds died down in the evening. We enjoyed sitting on the second floor balcony watching Old Faithful with a cup of Huckleberry Ice Cream. We ate at the Inn's dinning room. The food wasn't memorable, but was better than the food at Canyon. Overall, I'd say the stay at the Inn was average. It was just to crowded for me. I think that we'd try the snow lodge next time or just day trip into the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,659)
There are newer reviews for Old Faithful Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,330 - 1,336 of 2,659 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner, mother and I stayed in the old part of the lodge above the magnificent lobby. The bath was down the hall, but it was the sense of history and charm I was looking for, not to be pampered. My 78 year old mother had worked in Yellowstone as a maid when she was a teenager and was never allowed to go in the grand old lodge back in the day.

That night we sat on the benches looking down on the lobby and listened to the piano player around 9 at night when most of the crowds were gone. The following morning my mother and I sipped hot chocolate on the porch above the entrance listening to classical music together on my I-Pod and watched Old Faithful spray into the sky in front of the rising sun. So the experience was wonderful for her, a chance to experience the beautiful old lodge as a guest.

I booked 10 months in advance and asked specifically to stay in the old part of the lodge. When you travel to an historic location like this you must do your research and honestly stop complaining about minor problems. I've read so many of the reviews that make clear people were more focused on the linen in their room than on what was possible in the lodge as I've just pointed out. Those two experiences were priceless memories, not the details of the silly bedsheets.

As to price, the lodge is not nearly as expensive as other grand park lodges like the Ahwanee in Yosemite. If you're interest is a five star resort then honestly why are you in Yellowstone? Go somewhere else where you'll be waited on hand and foot. You come here to enjoy the amazing building, the setting and the sense that you just arrived by carriage and are inside one of the most amazing wilderness areas on Earth.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room in the old lodge. You'll have to go down the room to the restroom, but you...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelBakerSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This really a wonderful trip down memory lane. An amazing hotel build in the days of yesteryear but with all the comforts of a modern hotel. The hotel is also in very close proximity to Old Faithful Geyser in Yellowstone National Park (2 minutes walk).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinmU4050CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed one night at the Old Faithful Inn. Despite booking months in advance, we were unable to book two consecutive nights. This lodging relies very much on its prime location and historic significance, but is too expensive, nonetheless, for the privilege of staying there (the most expensive lodgings in the entire Park).

Our room was in a "newer" wing. Down the hall, up some stairs, down some stairs and down another long hall. Good thing we discovered another entrance/exit as this made it less of a journey with our luggage. The room was quite nice with the sink situated old-school fashion outside the bathroom. We were surprised to encounter a cute little stuffed bison on the bed (these are for sale, proceeds to an environmental charity). He is now a treasured travelling companion!

We opted to have dinner at the nearby Snow Lodge as the Old Faithful dining room was very busy and quite expensive. Breakfast the next morning, however, was not so busy and was reasonably priced comparable to other locations in the Park. The Inn itself is grand, an architectural marvel and well worth exploring. At certain times of the day, however, (i.e. check-in and check-out times) the lobby is reminiscent of Grand Central Station.

Old Faithful is very faithful and erupted every 90 minutes (plus or minus) like "clockwork". The staff very religiously post the next Old Faithful viewing time on a clock-face at the main desk. We did the loop of all the other geysers in the Upper Geyser Basin and each erupted in turn, just for us!

We would come to this location again on at later trip to YNP, but would not likely stay in the Inn again because it is so expensive.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here book WELL (at least a year) in advance.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Inn is truly beautiful and pretty impressive. Reception was busy when we arrived but check in was speedy and efficient. We had booked a room in the old house with private bathroom. The room itself was pretty good, very cosy and rustic although quite dark because of its location practically facing a wall. For some reason I really liked the bathroom with its old style tub and big cast iron radiator.

Unfortunately, it was a long and noisy night. Perhaps it isn't always as bad but during the night we were there it seemed like every couple of minutes someone was moving around, banging the doors or talking loudly outside. These rooms seem to have zero soundproofing. Bring ear plugs!

I think it was cool to stay here for one night in the old part of the hotel purely for the experience, and of course the location can't be beaten, but I doubt we'd stay here again.

One big disappointment was that due to refurbishment the fire in the lobby wasn't lit. The second disappointment was the sandwich we bought from the deli; it tasted like it had been sitting there for at least 2 days and it wasn't cheap. The canteen over at the nearby Old Faithful Lodge however was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old house are cool but noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful old hotel with lots of character. Foyer is stunning, and the architecture of the place is lovely. The rooms are basic and aged but that's what you expect from a building with age. The shared bathrooms were clean and large, very well maintained. Rooms were small but not an issue because we were not in them for long. Only issue may have been the loud noises of the pipes when others were using the taps etc.
Dining room experience was uneventful....slow service and food unimpressive. We had to send our back to be reheated, and we waited a long time to be served our meal.
Enjoyed the location because there was plenty to see and explore in the area were in. Lots of boardwalks and walking trails. Not to mention Old Faithful herself right outside the hotel.
Word of advice....book early because the rooms don't last long!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Boy were we lucky! We did not make our reservations for The Park until late July (for a September trip). This meant very few choices - but it also turned out great as we had a suite on the 3rd floor facing Old Faithful ! A beautiful marble bathroom, spacious sitting and sleeping areas, and lots of time to get some interesting shots of Old Faithful erupting -without all the crowds!
The service and food in the dining room were superb.

Room Tip: If you really want to treat yourself, try to get the 3rd floor outer corner suite facing Old Faithfu...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliverandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,168 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,032 reviews
19.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
789 reviews
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,001 reviews
19.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $415 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing