We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Better Place to View the Geyser Basin”
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is not about the rooms. It is location and the ability to see the many geysers in the area of Old Faithful. Most people just arrive and leave the area but you should spend a day and see Grand, Riverside and some of the other bigger geysers within a short walk. The lodge is still a wonderful place to relax, have a drink and eat dinner. Stay two nights at least once in your lifetime.

Room Tip: The old interior rooms share bathrooms in the hall just like the good ol' days! But you can als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,390 - 1,396 of 2,717 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent two nights in September. The lobby is absolutely breathtaking and you could spend hours just staring at the incredible woodwork and the masonry in the fireplace. Our room was in the west wing; the room itself was small with a tiny, but workable bathroom. The sink is actually in the bedroom, not the bath. The bed was advertised as a queen but it was probably closer to a double in size, so all you tall and bigger people be ware. The mattress and pillows were worn out and quite awful, definitely time to change them out. We heard the people above us move around, not much in the way of soundproofing. Yes, there are no amenities, no TV in the room or wi-fi, however, there is a nice Keurig coffee maker. We didn't miss the TV, didn't come to Yellowstone to watch mindless entertainment. We had made advance dinner reservations in the dining room and were seated within five minutes. Folks without a reservation were out of luck. The dining room was packed, yet our waiter was prompt and attentive. Because it was filled to capacity it was a little too noisy for my taste. Chose the buffet; the trout and prime rib were excellent. The second floor of the Inn has a great partially covered balcony which is a wonderful spot to watch Old Faithful. Try and get up there about 10-15 minutes before the predicted eruption time (posted in the lobby) to get a seat in the front row. Grab a glass of wine at one of the bars, sit back and enjoy nature's spectacle.

Our room rate was $159 per night, which would be steep if you only consider the quality of the room, but worth it because of the location of the Inn and wonderful ambiance of the entire property. You are not staying at a Marriott, but at a 100+ year old log structure in the middle of a National Park surrounded by natures great wonders. That's priceless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the regular room w/ shared bath. The room is neat and well decorated. I love the food and the grand hall in the hotel. They also play music in the common area at night. Will stay here again on our next visit!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KKF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Step back in time as you enter Old Faithful Inn, no amenities, no tv, no air condition, no heat, no Wi-fi; give yourself a day to adjust to the silence and revel in it. I set in the lobby for 4 hours one day people watching and talking with staff. You are spoiled by the genuine desire of the staff to make this a wonderful vacation. The hotel is the central point in the park, people come in and out of the hotel all day. The bedroom looks like what you expected in the 1940's very bare; we paid extra to have a bathroom instead of sharing a dorm style bathroom. When you turn the light out at night the room is so dark you can't see the person next to you, what a peaceful sleep. I look forward to going back again so that my senses can rest and enjoy the peace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stay at the inn for four nights at the beginning of September. What an amazing place!
Although we had looked at the building on the internet it still blows you away when you enter the lobby.
My only complaint, and the reason why I haven't rated it as excellent is that our room (in the old part of the hotel) was above the delivery area and one morning we were woken at 6am by the delivery lorry!!
The room it's self was fine, not big but perfectly adequate when you bear in mind that it's just for sleeping in. We had to share a bathroom, which again wasn't a problem we never had to wait for the shower and they were always kept very clean.
The staff were all really good and helpful.
We had breakfast every morning at the inn, a good selection and very filling so this would see us through most of the day until evening. We ate in the restaurant once but it's very difficult to get a booking so probably best to book before you go.
The bar next to the restaurant is well worth trying, loved their bison burgers.
If you decide to go ask for a room in the old part and make sure it's away from the delivery area.
Also drinks,etc are quite pricey so we bought beer, wine and snacks at a store on our way into the park and they didn't seem bother about us taking these out onto the balcony to watch Old Faithful erupting.
Finally make sure you go on the free tour of the inn, run daily, about three or four times, it's well worth it.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front of the old part of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliveGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its reputation and location in Yellowstone as we only had 2 days in the Park. The exterior and lobby are impressive. Our room not so much. We had the least expensive (about $200) handicapped accessible room in the west wing and it was very tight. Hard to move the wheelchair around both bedroom and bathroom. We made the best of it as we were not in the room all day. Dinner and breakfast were very good and we had great and friendly staff for all meals for our group of 10. The menu does not change so it was the same each day. Bed and pillows were just ok for comfort. Despite all this we would stay here again if going to the Park. It is pretty special to walk out of the hotel and watch Old Faithful erupt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovebeingretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the Yellowstone Inn on September 25 and 26. We booked rooms on the geyser side because the telephone person said we would have a view of Old Faithful. Since there are a number of trees grown up between, we were not able to see the geyser.
Our room should not have been advertised as a geyser-view room.

Our room had two queen-size beds with one little night stand. The night stand was more than four feet from my bed, so I had to get up during the night to get a drink of water. We were told there were no other pieces of furniture available but we could move the beds, but my bed was too heavy for me to move.

Even worse was the beds. Although the mattress and springs were of good quality, there were no fitted sheets. The bottom sheet was not big enough. It barely covered the mattress from top to bottom, so it was not tucked in tightly. We did try remaking the beds and at least were able to get the sheet taut from side to side, but it did not last all night. The mattress pads were not fitted either, and there were several folded layers. These layers did not remain flat. They lumped up and were very uncomfortable to sleep on.

When I tried to take a bath, I discovered that the shower would not turn off. When we asked to have it fixed the next morning, we were told the part was on order. If they knew the mixer valve was faulty, I would suggest that they advertise the room as a shower only room.

In order to change rooms, we were required to return our room key in the morning and wait until afternoon to get another room. The new room had even less view.

The reason that we booked two nights was so that we would have a room available in the park during the day since I have been having health issues. If I just had to stay in the car all day and did not get a view, I could have gotten rooms for a lot less than $280 a night just outside the park.

The Inn is beautiful and the staff is pleasant, but we did not receive good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janlee711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
19 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
751 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,075 reviews
19 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,214 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,009 reviews
19.1 mi away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Address: Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: $543 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Faithful Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing