We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Log Cabin”
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Log Cabin”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Old Faithful Inn for 3 nights in September, 2013. Room was small but quaint and very clean! It was a little warm in the room but we were able to open the window. Because we had a ground floor room the window only opened about 6 inches. If going earlier like July request a room higher up. For us it was Ok because it got cool in the evenings. Don't go to National Parks expecting AC, TV, WiFi, etc... You go to these parks to enjoy nature! The entire hotel was so charming and amazing. Take time to walk around and look at all the details of the lobby. It was neat to see and imagine how it was built without any modern tools. We ate dinner in the dinning room once. We both had pop, steak and mashed potatoes. It was so gooood! But very pricey it was around $75.00 plus tip. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We will stay here again. Hopefully very soon!!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor in the summer. The windows only go up about 6 inches and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    802
    410
    188
    99
See reviews for
835
1,100
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

In the heart of Yellowstone, with outside deck views of "Old Faithful", stands this beautiful, 100 year old, western style hotel that looks like a giant log cabin, but in the grandest of style. An enormous lobby with high wooden ceiling beams, covers this courtyard style space. You can look down from the second level walk, onto the lobby and the entire area. There are comfortable western style leather sofas to sit and enjoy a coffee from the coffee kiosk and a beautiful restaurant, with high, wood beamed, ceiling, entering a second space.

Open, friendly and casual, this is indeed a special place to stay. Bestowed as a National Landmark Destination in 1987.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
410 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed staying in the world's largest log cabin. Our room was booked 10 months in advance so we could have a private bathroom. We found most of the negative comments about noise, poor service and plain moderate rooms to be true, but you really pay for the architecture and access to the geysers 24 hours a day. Watching Old Faithful from the upper porch with beverage and snack service was delightful. We also recommend the historical tour of the Inn for maximum appreciation.

Our best find was the original diner counter in the General Store. Great place for breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The main public rooms are amazing. Take the tour and get the history behind the building. The sleeping rooms are extremely basic. They don't put the heat on til the temperature is below 55 degrees. We requested rooms close to the elevator because of walking issues. Our rooms were the farthest of any. The desk said that was the best they could do. The dining staff was nice. The rest of the staff had attitudes. What a shame. They book up a year in advance, so they know they have you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have seen pictures and film clips of the Old Faithful Inn and Geyser for many years and always wanted to go. This year we finally made it. There was little space available when I made the reservations 10 mo. prior, so we took a room in the old part of the Inn with shared bath. It was small but quaint. I just drank in th atmosphere of the whole building. Our rm was #49 and I found that later in the day it sounded like a waterfalls was overhead. This turned out to be a tub room over ours. The front desk assured me that it could not be used after 10pm. Problem solved. > Next problem> the walls are made of logs, which I thought would be quiet, but when our neighbors arrived ( AT least 3) you could hear every work and every time 1 would leave the room to showed the door slamming was very loud as well. Fortunately things quieted down and we were only there for 1 night. In the main area I had looked forward to sitting in front of the fireplace in the evening , but NO FIRE> It has not been working for almost 1 year. Another disgrace for xanterra which manages the place. Sitting outside on the 2nd floor deck to watch old faithful go off was a GREAT experience.. We saw it a total of 4 times from different places and I never grew tired of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ct782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
177 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very old hotel but don't let that stop you from staying there. It is convenient, clean, and meets basic necessities (no phone, cell service, wii-fi, or tv). Very nice bath products and every day you will have a bear shaped bar of soap. Ask for a room with a private bath as one wing of the hotel you share bathroom. Inside the hotel is a lovely gift shop, restaurant, grill, and bar. We had dinner at the restaurant. It was expensive and not very good. Very convenient to "Old Faithful" with walking paths that you can take to see other geysers and phenomenal. I was told that you should book a room at least 18 months ahead. A block away is a General Store. While we were there a buffalo came right up to the end of the building to graze for about an hour. Don't get too close. They can run fast and they can jump 6 feet high (according to our guide). There is a visitor's center and another hotel in the buildings behind the Inn. No reservations are needed in those restaurants but I would suggest you get to the restaurant early to get your name on a waiting list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruiserMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Old Faithful Inn I guess is a 'must stay' place if you are visiting YNP, classic and historical with unique timber construction architecture.
However it is VERY touristy by definition, but it's got to be done, great to see Old Faithful Geyser with views from some of the rooms.

The bedrooms are really cosy and very romantic, only about 10 rooms are N Suite so book really early if you really can't do without your ow bathroom.
We had a shared facilities room, absolutely no problem in fact there was no one in the bathroom or toilet when I used the facility, same in the ladies when my wife was in there so pick your time and no crush or rush.
One night is probably enough unless you want to walk around a lot more seeing Gysers on the second day, personally I would see the Geysers on the route down from Mammoth and call it a day at Old Faithful and just do one night.
Restaurant Pre booking is essential and you must request a table in the main 'Oldest part' dining room, so much more atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try and secure an en suite or get a room on the end facing Old Faithful for the best views from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing