We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but busy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice but busy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in room 147 in the old part of lodge facing the front geyser trail (2nd floor). Room met our needs and was close to large porch for watching Old Faithful, breezeway to new section (also w/ view of OF) and espresso stand. We used the shared bath which wasn't an issue (except when you need the bathroom in the middle of the night and had to walk down the hall). The shower stalls were pretty small. The only downside would be the curtains are thin so the room was bright very early. Also, the tour buses parked right outside our room. One spent several minutes backing up, pulling forward & backing up again - which made that beeping noise with each reverse. My husband snores so I travel with ear plugs & was glad I had them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jsskstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    794
    406
    184
    95
See reviews for
827
1,081
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife, two daughters, and I spent our first of three nights at the Old Faithful Inn. I paid extra for a geyser-view room as a surprise for my daughters. You are paying for location, no doubt. Although the view was partially obstructed by a pine tree, we could still watch Old Faithful from our window. The girls really enjoyed that experience. And, it was a quick 30-second walk outside to Old Faithful!
The room was small by modern standards, but nice - comfortable bed, and the bathroom was updated with period-appropriate style. Beds were comfortable queens. You might miss modern conveniences such as a fridge or microwave, but we got by using ice for our cooler. There is also no air conditioning, but it's cool enough at night so that was not an issue, either.
The rest of the historic inn is absolutely beautiful, of course, and we enjoyed a great first night in Yellowstone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at the lodge. We had managed to get the last available room for each night which meant we had to change rooms but we just left our luggage in the room and went out for the day and when we returned it had been moved to the new room. Both rooms were good and we didn't experience any problems. The room was clean and we slept well. We ate in the dining room and this was also good. Staff were friendly. We enjoyed the free tour of the building. The shared ladies bathrooms were clean although apparently the mens was not as pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Bookling a hotel in Yellowstone NP is like a lottery,trying to book a room 10-12 months before travelling,you never get a room except the lower price rooms and those are not really comfortable.They are really outdated for the prices Xanterra is asking for.
I have this experience now already for the sixth time
The impression exist that the single traveler must deal with the remainder,after allocated the best rooms to large travel organizations
Dining reservations is the same as they give you upon the reservation request first and second option dining time,sometimes very early and inpropiated.
The hotel style and location is obviously outstanding and attract certainly many visitors,but as said rooms are below qualified standards

Room Tip: This standard question cannot be answered,as you have to take what they are offering you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

You are definitely paying for the prime location here. The lodge is beautiful and makes you feel nostalgic the first time you visit. Staying there was sort of a once in a lifetime deal for me because of the price and I don't live that far away that I need to stay in the park. The room was not as rustic as I expected and the bathroom was very modern. We had plenty of hot water and the bear-shaped soap is really cute. Our room was not loud. We were on the third floor and had a decent view of the back of the property. It was very clean and check-in and out were fast despite the long lines.
My biggest issue was the radiator in the room was broken. In the "off" position it still spewed out hot air and it was late June and very warm outside. Maintenance came quickly to look at it while we were at dinner but I returned to a fan propped up in an open window and took that as a sign they couldn't do anything. In the night the radiator got very loud and would only stop making noise if I turned it up high, to release the pressure. So that made for a hot, loud night and a terrible sleep. I was also traveling with a toddler so the very hot radiator in the room was a constant worry for me that she would touch it. I did not call the front desk in the night because of my sleeping child but did mention the problem again at check-out and was given an apology. I did ask to move rooms at check-in around 5pm and was told no because they were booked solid.
Others have mentioned the stuffed animal buffalo in the room on the bed. If you take it you are charged (around $18) and it goes to a charity. It is tough to keep a toddler's hands off it and I could only think of all the other children who had man-handled it then left it as we did. I hid it in the closet but with the norovirus outbreak at the time of our visit I was surprised this little fundraiser wasn't put on the back burner for a while.
There are a lot of complaints about the lighting on here. It was definitely dim but wasn't an issue for me in the room but the hallways were quite dark.
The restaurant was good but not great. The service was very good and the convenience of dining in the hotel was excellent. We made dinner reservations many months in advance, at least 6 months. The General Store next door is a hidden gem where you should go to buy your souvenirs and meals. The prices and selection are better than the Inn's gift shop and restaurant. You can also buy beer, wine, liquor, snacks, and ice cream over there.
I did not eat at the snack bar at the Inn.
We were in the park for 2 days and my toddler became extremely sick on the drive home on day 2 with a lot of vomiting. It could have been many things but we are pretty sure it was the norovirus so make sure everyone washes their hands, don't let little ones touch everything in the gift shops and put that darn buffalo up as soon as you check in!

Room Tip: Make dinner reservations as soon as you book your room. Shop (and eat) next door at the General Stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an opportunity to say in room 8, a 2 bedroom suite with a private bath. It was noisy, a little chilly, and basically no amenities afforded those of us that live in the 21st century. Each room had a water heater that was noisy as well. I could not have had any more fun. The architecture was amazing. We didn't have much of a view, but that was OK. After a long day of hiking and a nice dinner in the dining room, we were able to spend some time together as a family. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a rustic experience on their trip to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: Room 8-2 bedrooms, private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sje7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thief River Falls
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Book early for a room with a bathroom in this historic landmark. I researched rooms 6 months prior to my family vacation in June and no room with a bathroom was available. I booked a queen bed with sink and was placed in a 1st floor room--avoid this & ask for a 2nd floor room. The bathrooms for these rooms, located down the hall, are also used by the gazillion or so tourists visiting this grand building each day. Although well maintained, these are not the bathrooms I would have preferred to freshen-up in after a long day of travel. Granted, overpriced for what you get, staying in this historic lodge is something you MUST do--book at least one year out for rooms with bathrooms. The small rooms are clean, the water hot and the ambiance incredible. My son and I liked putting the white robes on and then walking to the showers! This building is a national treasure & we were able to explore it in the evening, have a drink and people watch from the 2nd floor balcony. Our beds weren't the most comfortable but after hiking the geyser basins most of the afternoon, sleep was easy until awaken by coyotes calling! Remember, this building was built in 1904. Keep that in mind and and you will truly appreciated what this beautiful lodge has to offer. After all, this is Yellowstone, you are not suppose to be in the rooms!

Room Tip: Spend a touch more and get a room here with a bathroom. All rooms in the Park are expensive so splu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2017bigshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
19.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing