We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in an historic hotel”
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
806 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Great stay in an historic hotel”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

You must stay at least one night in the Old Faithful Inn. What an historic place to hang out. Great location for watching Old Faithful geyser. We watched it at least six times. A really neat inn with some really good shops. The room we had was pricey and very average because we were there in peak season. Even though we would have liked a nicer room the experience was well worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the geysers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    858
    443
    211
    110
See reviews for
905
1,177
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Chute, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you plan ahead to stay in Yellowstone then take advance of booking s room at the Inn. We had at the perfect room with a view of the geysers in the park for two nights. Nervous about the shared bathrooms and showers in the building, it worked out well. Didn't have to wait at all for shower. Bathrooms were clean rooms were spacious.

I recommend taking advantage of the parks programs and tours. They have an all day "circle of Fire " tour and it was fantastic. Ask for Thomas from Tennessee

We ate at dinning room one night and the food was fantastic.

We would go back and even ask for our same room. Everyone is so friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The only regret I have staying here is that we only stayed one night! We stayed in the original portion of the lodge. The rooms were smaller and the lights were dim like other travelers mentioned, but that was no issue! It was awesome to stay in a piece of our nations history! It is a beautiful log structure. Lots of open beams on the inside. I think to modernize it is to ruin it! Awesome, awesome, awesome! Can't beat the location either. You go out the front door and old faithful is to your right. They have seating so you can watch. Great view of a bunch of other geysers too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmari535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Reserved our room almost 1 year in advance. Arrived at the Inn almost 3 hours before checkin and had to wait until the required time. This was the only negative about our stay. We were put in room 148 and ir was great. Although it came with no toliet or shower, it was one of the original rooms and has a view of old fairhful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed in two different rooms in the "Old House" (the original part of the Inn that was built in 1904). One room had one queen bed with a shared bath, the other had two queen beds with a shared bath. Both rooms had a sink with soap and lotion in large pump bottles, white bathrobes for us to use when we used the shared bathrooms and showers, thirsy towels and washcloths, comfortable beds, and a fan to use on hot nights. Both rooms cost $103.00 per night. During the day, when hundreds of tour bus guests and daytime tourists are in the building, it is a busy, often noisy place. In the evenings and at night, the large Inn becomes a quiet, magical place. The balcony off the second floor of the lobby is a great place to relax and watch Old Faithful erupt, especially in the evenings when the crowds of the day have moved on. Since the Old House is a 100+ year old rustic log cabin building, it is not for those who desire a "modern, light, air-conditioned building". However, if you want to sleep in a spectacular original room, I recommend you request a room with a shared bath in the "Old House".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxandtravel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in room number 229- a corner unit. This is an excellent room right above the front balcony on one side and you can see Old Faithful on the other side right out the window! This is a room with a shared bathroom. What does that mean? Well you have a sink area in your room and have to walk down the hall to go to the washroom which also has two shower areas in it as well. The entire bathroom area is very clean. I was a little hesitant at first to do the shared bathroom, but LOVED the room and really wanted to enjoy being in such a historical inn and loved seeing Old Faithful go off right from my room. The room was inexpensive too- only about $100.00 a night. The room had two Queen sized comfy beds. I stayed at many of the hotels in the park- Mammoth, Canyon village, Old Faithful, and Lake. Lake is nice- But can be very expensive. It has more of the uptight rich feeling- not very Yellowstone. Mammoth was nice- try to get a room on the first floor facing the Elk Deer and the cute ground Hog animals. Canyon Village was disgusting!!! I hated it and the rooms were gross- don't stay there. we were told that they are going to redo it- but it was something to forget- we stayed in a cabin. Overall next time I go, I will stay in Old Faithful- hopefully in the same room.

Room Tip: If you stay in room #229 on a Saturday- just a tip- they have Sunday morning church right below you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in the old rooms with a shared bath for about 110 a night. The room is quaint and historical and it is well worth it to be in the building after hours(when the tourists are gone)The hotel is incredible in terms of its interest and history. Extremely clean and the employees are so helpful and happy. I suggest taking advantage of ( and tipping) the bellhops as they open a lot of doors for cool things to experience. Take the tour of the hotel and go on the hikes around the area and up to mystic falls.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the old section , but away from the main entrance- very noisy with buses coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfteacher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,097 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
973 reviews
19.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
19.3 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Location: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing